ANIMALS

IN FOOD
ESTABLISHMENTS
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Service Animals
are Welcome
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Understanding What is Allowed

Service animals are not required to wear identification or a vest and food
establishments may not request documentation showing they are a service
animal. Service animals are required to be housebroken and under their
handler’s control. Animals that fail to meet these behavioral requirements

may be removed from a business at any time. In these instances, their

handler must be granted an opportunity to receive goods or services

without the animal present. In addition, service animals must be on a y

harness or leash unless this would interfere with the animal’s task, or the ' A ';? b
handler’s disability prevents the use of these devices. b

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) has also indicated that food

e;tablishments are not requirefd t?j allodw sirvice z;ni;nfals to be placed in | seI‘Vice Animals
shopping carts or use seating, food or drink provided for customer use only.
are Welcome

Penalties for False Representation

MCL 752.61 - MCL 752.64

Those who represent an unqualified animal as a service animal or service
animal in-training in Michigan are guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by
one or more of the following:

e Imprisonment for not more than 90 days.
* A fine of not more than $500.00.

e C it ice f t than 30 days.
ommunity service tor not more an ays If the handler.
Contact local law enforcement to report service animal fraud at: u
1. Does NOT identify the animal as a service animal
required because of a disability,

The Michigan The Michigan 2. Does NOT indicate what work or task the animal has
Department of Department of been trained to perform,
Agriculture & Rural Civil Rights for 3. Identifies the animal as an emotional support,

Development for companion, or therapy animal,

grocery store food
safety questions at
800-292-3939

service animal
information at

800-482-3604

then the food establishment should not allow the animal in the
store, indicating that the store would be in violation of MDARD’s
Michigan Modified Food Code section 6-501.115.

Local Public Health Departments for restaurant food
safety questions based on the county at
https://www.malph.org/resources/directory
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