

## **Industrial Hemp Program Fees**

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development

Phone: 800-292-3939 Online: www.Michigan.gov/HempGrowing

Email: MDARD-IndustrialHemp@Michigan.gov

Registration fees for industrial hemp growers are set forth by Public Act (PA) 220 of 2020, the Industrial Hemp Growers Act, as amended. Hemp sampling and testing fees are set by the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD) and "limited to the reasonable costs of collecting the official hemp sample" or "conducting the testing" for delta-9-THC in accordance with PA 220 of 2020, as amended. Fees are summarized in the table below.

Item	Fee	Basis of Fee/Description
Hemp Grower Registration Application Fee	\$1,250	Established in statute – PA 220 of 2020, as amended. Registration cycle is Feb 1 to Jan 31.
Hemp Grower Registration Application Late Fee	\$250	Established in statute – PA 220 of 2020, as amended, for renewal application submitted after January 31 of each year.
Identity History Summary and fingerprints	Varies	FBI fingerprint-based background check must be submitted with grower application annually and be dated within 60 days of application submittal. FBI fee is currently \$18. See <a href="https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks">https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks</a> for details. Fingerprinting fee varies based on provider; use of FBI approved channelers for this process have additional fees.
USDA Farm Service Agency Crop Acreage Reporting	Varies	Registered hemp growers must report planted crop acreage (indoor and outdoor) to FSA annually by July 15 or within 15 days of planting if after July 15. Late filing will incur a fee. Contact your local service center for details at <a href="https://www.farmers.gov/service-locator">www.farmers.gov/service-locator</a> .
Growing Location Modification Form Fee	\$50	Established in statute – PA 220 of 2020, as amended. Fee charged for each request form submitted.

Hemp Sampling Site Visit Fee	\$150	Established by MDARD Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division for preharvest and remediation sampling. One site visit fee per request.
Hemp Sample Testing Fee	\$125	Established by MDARD Lab Division for hemp sample testing related to preharvest and remediation sampling. One sample per lot (contiguous area with a single variety) is collected.
Inspection fee and associated sampling and testing	\$0	No fee charged at this time. Enforcement action relating to violations identified could include monetary penalty.
Complaint investigation and associated sampling and testing	\$0	No fee. Enforcement action relating to violations identified could include monetary penalty.