Retail propane marketers to vote on implementation of the Michigan Propane Commission

Ballots must be postmarked no later than 5 p.m. Feb. 26

For immediate release: February 9, 2021
Program contact: Heather Throne, 517-712-0841
Media contact: Jennifer Holton, 517-284-5724

LANSING, MI – Today, the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development launched a statewide referendum to determine whether the Michigan Propane Commission is supported by the propane industry. The referendum of Michigan retail propane marketers was authorized by MDARD Director Gary McDowell after the Propane Commission Act was signed by Governor Gretchen Whitmer on December 29, 2020. The referendum is being conducted from February 15 to February 26, 2021.

As part of the Act, there is a framework that creates the Michigan Propane Commission and requires a vote of the state’s retail propane marketers to authorize funding the Commission’s work. Passage of the referendum requires more than 50 percent of the votes of all of the retail propane marketers with customers in this state. The referendum will determine if the initial assessment on upon odorized propane sold will be at the rate of 1/10 of 1 cent per gallon.

Official ballots will be mailed to Michigan retail propane marketers of record on February 8, 2021. For the purpose of the referendum, each retail propane marketer with customers in this state is entitled to one vote representing a single firm, individual proprietorship, corporation, company, association, partnership, or spouse- or family-owned business, regardless of the number of bulk plants or retail sales outlets owned. A retail propane marketer is defined as a person engaged in the business of selling odorized propane to consumers in containers larger than 240 pounds water capacity or selling odorized propane to retail propane dispensers.

If approved, the Michigan Propane Commission would use the funds to educate residents, business owners and other users of propane on its safe use, promote the use of high efficiency appliances and equipment as well as other potential outreach activities.

All ballots must be postmarked no later than 5 p.m. February 26, 2021.

Eligible retail propane marketers not receiving a ballot after February 15, 2021 should contact MDARD at P.O. Box 30017, Lansing, MI 48909, or call toll-free 800-292-3939. You may also send a request via e-mail to GuardiolaJ1@michigan.gov.

To review a copy of the Michigan Propane Commission Act, please view PA 332 of 2020 or contact the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development at 800-292-3939.

###

Like us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | Join us on LinkedIn 
Follow us on Instagram | Subscribe to our Youtube Channel