Michigan Pesticide Application Business License Details & FAQ
- Expires: December 31
- Fee: $100
- Contact: Central Licensing Unit, 517-284-5771 or MDARD, 1-800-292-3939
- Forms: General Information
This web page sets forth some of the requirements of the Natural Resources & Environmental Protection Act (Act No. 451, Part 83) and Regulation No. 636, (Pesticide Applicator's), promulgated for its administration, as they pertain to a Pesticide Application Business License.
Any commercial applicator who holds him/herself out to the public as being in the business of applying pesticides within this state for compensation, EXCEPT:
- Any person who applies pesticides onto premises he/she owns, leases, or operates, without compensation.
- Veterinarians or physicians in their professional services.
- Persons applying pesticides for private agricultural purposes, on property owned or rented by that person or his or her employer applied without compensation other than trading of personal services between producers of agricultural commodities.
To qualify for a license, the following requirements must be met (Please allow enough time for MDARD to process both the certification credential(s) plus four to six weeks to process your business license.):
- Submit a signed application on the Department's form.
- Submit a certificate of liability insurance. (See Insurance Liability Requirements)
- Submit the $100 application fee by check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan.
- The applicant must be a certified applicator or have a certified applicator in their employ. The certified applicator's credentials must cover the category(s) of licensing applied for.
Note: If all categories indicated on certification application(s) have not been completed, a business license will not be issued for any category. If you or your employees have recently taken certification exams, please attach copies of your receipt(s) that show the exam scores and dates.
Any employee of a licensed commercial pesticide application firm that applies pesticides must be a certified applicator or registered technician. For all pesticide applications other than sanitizers, germicides, disinfectants or anti-microbial agents made in schools, public buildings and health care facilities, the pesticide applicator shall have participated in a verifiable Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Training Program approved by the director and a verifiable IPM program shall be in place for the building where the application is to occur.
- Any new, previously unlicensed firm, and any firms adding new license categories, must complete the Notarized Letter of Experience Form (PI-217). This form must be Notarized by a Notary Public.
- For sole proprietorships or partnerships,submit a copy of each DBA Certificate issued from county clerk offices. A DBA Certificate is required in each county where the firm operates. See MDARD's Guidance for Registering Your Company Name When Applying for a Pesticide Application Business License.
- For corporations and limited liability companies, submit a Corporation ID number and any associated Certificates of Assumed Names filed with LARA. Contact LARA, Corporations Division, Phone: 517-241-6470, Fax: 517-334-8329. For more information,visit LARA’s website at www.michigan.gov/corporations or see MDARD's Guidance for Registering Your Company Name When Applying for a Pesticide Application Business License.
- For out-of-state firms (also known as “foreign corporations”), submit Certificate of Authority to do business in the State of Michigan. Apply for this authorization at LARA, Corporations Division, Phone: 517-241-6470, Fax: 517-334-8329. For more information, visit LARA’s website at www.michigan.gov/corporations or see MDARD's Guidance for Registering Your Company Name When Applying for a Pesticide Application Business License.
III. EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS (Only for NEW firms, or firms adding new license categories)
1. All firms
Commercial applicator's required to be licensed by Sec. 8313(1) shall be certified under section 8312 and shall have at least 1 of the following in order to qualify for a license under this section:
a. Service for not less than 2 application seasons as an employee of a commercial applicator, or comparable education and experience as determined by the director.
b. A baccalaureate degree from a recognized college or university in a discipline that provides education regarding pests and the control of pests, and 1 application season of service as an employee of a commercial applicator.
As a new applicant, prior to consideration of a commercial pesticide applicator's license you may call or submit your experience requirements for tentative approval.
This information must be supplied at the time of application, on the Notarized Letter of Experience Form, signed by the person with the qualifying experience, and NOTARIZED by a Notary Public.
2. Additional requirements for Aerial Applicators
Commercial applicator, in addition to complying with the other requirements of Act451, shall meet 1 or more of the following requirements per sec.8315(1) before engaging in the aerial application of pesticides:
a. Attainment of at least 3 years of experience with not fewer than 200 hours of agricultural aerial application under the supervision of a commercial aerial applicator.
b. Be previously licensed as a commercial aerial applicator before December 27, 1988.
c. Successfully complete an aerial applicator training program recognized by the director as sufficient to assure the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare, and the environment.
Proof of financial responsibility must be submitted in the form of a certificate of comprehensive general liability insurance.
- Certificate of insurance must show the current legal name and address of the licensee as the insured.
- Certificate of insurance must show the effective date and expiration date.
- Certificate of insurance must show the limits of liability. Insurance liability requirements are:
A. For Aerial Application, Fumigation and Right-of-Way Pest Control:
- Not less than $100,000 for bodily injury for each occurrence.
- Not less than $25, 000 for property damage for each occurrence.
- A combined single limit of $300,000 for bodily injury and property damage.
B. All other license categories:
- Not less than $100,000 for bodily injury for each occurrence.
- Not less than $25,000 for property damage for each occurrence
4. If a licensee is qualified in 2 or more license categories with different minimum liability requirements, the greater requirement shall apply.
5. A single comprehensive liability insurance policy may be written to provide financial responsibility coverage for more than one licensed place of business owned and operated by the same person.
- The licensee is required to notify the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development of any change in status of a certified applicator named on a license application. The licensee must notify the Department of any change in business name or address.
- The licensee must maintain insurance during the licensing period, or during the period of time necessary to span a seasonal operation.
- The licensee is responsible for seeing that a current certificate of insurance is sent to the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development when the previous certificate has expired.
Forms & Applications
- PI-079: Pesticide Application Business License
- PI-079c: Pesticide Application Business License Renewal
- PI-217: Notarized experience form
Completing the Application
Please do download and use the MDARD Checklist for Submitting Your Pesticide Application Business License (PABL) Application Form
- Fill in all parts of the application form. (Indicate "N/A" if not applicable.)
- Print or type where requested to do so.
- Indicate categories in which you are applying for a license.
- Complete signature portion.
- Submit appropriate fee with the application. (Make checks payable to "State of Michigan.")
- Submit certificate of current liability insurance for bodily injury, property damage, including effective and expiration dates.
- Each license expires annually on December 31.
- The license may be renewed by meeting the same requirements as for a new license.
- Please allow enough time for MDARD to process both the certification credential(s) plus four to six weeks to process your business license.
Each license expires annually on December 31st. The license may be renewed by meeting the same requirements as for a new license.
Cost: A $100 license fee submitted to the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development along with:
- A Pesticide Application Business License renewal form.
- Proof of required insurance coverage.
- A notarized letter verifying pesticide application experience (only for businesses adding new license categories).
- A copy of the business' Assumed Name Certificate(s) (DBA) or, the date of incorporation
For additional information or to have forms mailed to you, please contact:
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development
Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division
P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Central Licensing Unit
Click here for information regarding Pesticide Application Certification, or call Lisa Graves at 517-284-5653.