Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer Licensing Details & FAQ
- Expires: December 31st
- Fee: $100
- Contact: Antonio Escobar, Phone: 517-284-5659
- Forms: Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Application
Frequently Asked Questions
Who Needs a License?
Any person(s) intending to sell, offer for sale, or otherwise distribute to the ultimate user (certified private or commercial pesticide applicator) a restricted use pesticide (RUP).
What fees or special requirements are required in order to become a licensed Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP) Dealer?
- A $100 license fee is required for all or any part of a calendar year.
- A person designated by the company applying for the license to sell restricted use pesticides (RUP's) shall pass a written examination to determine his or her knowledge of the laws and rules governing the use and sale of pesticides and his or her responsibility in carrying on the business of a restricted use pesticides (RUP) dealer. This person is referred to as the "Person In Charge."
- The licensed dealer must notify the department of the departure of the designated person in charge and make arrangements to have another individual take and pass the required examination to maintain the RUP Dealer License. The license becomes invalid if the person in charge leaves and is not replaced. There is no charge for another person(s) to take the RUP Dealer Exam during the course of the license year. The fee licenses the location not the individual.
A study guide, license application and copies of the laws and rules are provided by the department to the individuals designated to take the examination. The RUP Dealer Examination is a one-time exam required for any individual acting as the person in charge for a licensed RUP Dealer. A score of 70% or above is required for a passing score. A score of less than 70% will result in denial of a license. An applicant may be granted a reexamination after an interview with a person or persons delegated by the director.
Monthly RUP Sales Reporting
- Sales of RUP's must be reported monthly to the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (MDARD).
- Regulation 633, Rule 7 states: A licensed dealer shall keep a record, on forms supplied by the director, of each sale of restricted used pesticides. Such record shall be transmitted to the director monthly and shall be due in the office of the director not later than the fifteenth day of the month following the month of sale.
- Michigan law (Act 451, Part 83 Section 8307) requires that every pesticide that is distributed, sold, exposed, or offered for sale to be registered with the director of the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development. NOTE: The requirement for registration applies to all pesticides, including any sold over the Internet.
- Persons purchasing RUP products must be appropriately certified. It is the dealer's responsibility to ensure that sales are made only to currently certified applicators.
- Out of State applicants must contact the department at 517-284-5659, or email Antonio Escobar at EscobarA@Michigan.gov to become licensed to distribute RUP Products in Michigan.
- Registering with the State of Michigan to do business, if the business is a Michigan Corporation (including limited liability corporation), fill in your current incorporation ID# in the Corporate/Assumed Name ID# box.
NOTE: Out of State companies must be authorized to conduct business in the State of Michigan. A copy of that authorization must be on file with MDARD. You can apply for this authorization at the Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Corporations Division, at 517-241-6470, or for more information go to LARA's website at Michigan.gov/Corporations.
How do I apply for a new RUP Dealer License?
Please contact the RUP Licensing Desk at 517-284-5659, or email Antonio Escobar at EscobarA@Michigan.gov. Due to the specific exam requirements for this license, simply completing the application and submitting both the application and license fee will not be sufficient.
If we have sent in an application, when can we begin selling restricted use pesticide (RUP) products?
You may only begin once MDARD has issued your license. Because applications that we receive may be incomplete or contain errors, it is not appropriate for MDARD to issue a license until the deficiencies have been corrected.
In addition, please be advised that your firm cannot legally sell, offer to sell, or otherwise distribute restricted use pesticides to the ultimate applicator until the person-in-charge has successfully passed the dealer exam.
When does the RUP Dealer License expire?
Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP) Dealer Licenses expire on December 31st and must be renewed on a yearly basis.
How do I renew my Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP) Dealer License?
A renewal application will be mailed to all licensed firms by the beginning of November. Complete the Renewal Application that was sent to you and enclose it along with the $100.00 application fee by check or money order payable to the STATE OF MICHIGAN. MDARD requests that you use the renewal application sent to you in the mail because it will contain your license number and specific company information such as company name and address as previously submitted to MDARD. If any of that information has changed since the previous license, indicating the changes on this form will help us to update our records.
Changes can be made directly on the application by crossing out the incorrect information and writing in the corrected information. Licensees who have not received their application by December 15th should immediately contact MDARD at 517-284-5659, or send an email to EscobarA@Michigan.gov.
The person in charge must sign the license application. If the previous "person in charge" has left the licensed sales location, a new owner or manager who has not previously taken the RUP dealer exam must do so before the firm can be licensed. (Please note: A person who has previously taken and passed the dealer examination is not required to take the exam again.) Contact Stephanie Baughan at 517-284-5749 to verify status.
If the business is a Michigan Corporation (including limited liability corporation), fill in your current incorporation ID# in the Corporate/Assumed Name ID# box.
NOTE: Out of state companies must be authorized to conduct business in the State of Michigan. A copy of that authorization must be on file with MDARD. You can apply for this authorization at the Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Corporations Division at 517-241-6470, or for more information go to LARA's website at Michigan.gov/Corporations.
You must submit sales registers before your renewal license can be issued. You may include the missing sales registers with the renewal application.
What should I do if there is a change in the Company ownership, name or address?
Please contact MDARD at 517-284-5659, or email Antonio Escobar at EscobarA@Michigan.gov regarding changes to the company name, address or a change of ownership. Depending on the circumstances, a new license may be required before the company may continue to sell, offer for sale, or otherwise distribute RUP products.