Commission Members

The Michigan Commission of Agriculture and Rural Development has the responsibility to recommend, and in some cases determine, policy on food, agricultural, and rural development issues. The Commission is a bipartisan body of five citizens appointed by the Governor.

State law dictates that no more than three Commission members may be from the same political party. The Commission holds monthly meetings, with the exception of May and October, or as it deems necessary, and meetings are open to the public. Citizens and organizations wishing to observe or discuss matters under the Commission's jurisdiction are encouraged to attend.

Contact Information

Michigan Commission of Agriculture & Rural Development
PO Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909

517-284-5718 or 800-292-3939

Commission Members

Commissioner Montri

Chair, Dru Montri, Bath, Michigan

Dru Montri was appointed to the Commission by Governor Rick Snyder on January 30, 2014.

Montri and her husband, Adam, own and operate Ten Hens Farm, a year-round vegetable farm in Bath, Michigan. She also works as Director of Governmental Affairs and Stakeholder Relations for the MSU Colleges of Agriculture and Natural Resources and Veterinary Medicine. Montri has a bachelor's degree in horticulture from Michigan State University and a master's degree in horticulture from Penn State University. She also holds a Ph.D. in horticulture and community, agriculture, recreation and resource studies from Michigan State.

Her term expires December 31, 2021.

Contact Information:
7539 Clark Road
Bath, MI 48808
Mobile: 517-599-0036


Commissioner Meintz

Vice Chair, Charlie Meintz, Stephenson, Michigan

Charlie Meintz was appointed to the Commission by Governor Rick Snyder for a term that commenced January 1, 2019.

Meintz is owner of Pleasant View Dairy Farm in Stephenson, a centennial farm in Stephenson, Michigan. The farm also grows grain and hay for its own cows, as well as for sale. He is a Menominee County Board Commissioner and previously served as its Chair, is a member of the Farm First Board, and currently is working with Michigan State University on a corn trial plot on his farm.

His term expires December 31, 2022.

Contact Information:
W 4060 Wery Road
Stephenson, MI 49887
Office: 906-753-6987


Commissioner Bergdahl

Member, Patti Bergdahl, Skandia, Michigan

Patti Bergdahl was appointed to the Commission by Governor Rick Snyder for a term that commenced January 1, 2019.

Bergdahl is the Office Manager of Bergdahl's, Inc., a family-owned outdoor power farm equipment business located in Skandia, Michigan. She and her family also operate a farm where they raise dairy heifers and hay. She is a member of her Farm Bureau Board and Zoning Board of Appeals, as well as Chairman of the Township Planning Commission.

Her term expires December 31, 2022.

Contact Information:
310 Krieger Drive, PO Box 93
Skandia, MI 49885
Office: 906-942-7344


Commissioner Chae

Member, Andy Chae, Detroit, Michigan

Andy Chae was appointed to the Commission by Governor Gretchen Whitmer on July 7, 2021.

Andy attended DePaul University, graduating in 2013 with a double major in Environmental Studies and Political Science. While in Chicago, he became enamored with urban farming and saw it as a way to make a positive impact on the world. Immediately after graduation, Andy was hired by the Gary Comer Youth Center as the Assistant Production Manager for their 1.25 acre urban farm. Andy decided to move back to Detroit, his hometown, to start his own farm with the support of his friends and family.

His term expires December 31, 2024.

Contact Information:
Andy Chae
4418 15th Street
Detroit MI 48208
Mobile: 313-686-3276