Skip to main content

$5,000 Lifetime MYLSF Scholarship Award Application Deadline for the 2021 Michigan Youth Livestock Scholarship is May 15, 2021

Application details available at

For immediate release: January 20, 2021
Program contact: Jeff Haarer, 517-284-5642
Media contact: Jennifer Holton, 517-284-5724

LANSING, MI - Since 2000, the Michigan Youth Livestock Scholarship Fund (MYLSF) has awarded more than $628,130 in scholarships and educational awards to outstanding youth who have exhibited at the premier livestock events in the state of Michigan. In 2020, there was $28,000 in scholarships awarded.

In 2021, a select number of applicants may be offered an opportunity to be interviewed, at the discretion of the MYLSF, prior to the Sale-Abration event for larger scholarship awards up to $5,000.

To be eligible for either the MYLSF general scholarship or the statewide scholarship, the applicant must be a resident of Michigan and a graduating high school senior or a high school graduate continuing their education at an accredited institution in the year in which they are applying.

For the general MYLSF scholarship, the applicant must be a youth exhibitor at the Michigan Livestock Expo, the Michigan Dairy Expo, or the former Michigan State Fair for a minimum of three calendar years prior to the year of application. For the statewide scholarship, an applicant must be a youth exhibitor at a local, county, or statewide exhibition for a minimum of three years prior to the year of application.

Specific proceeds from the Michigan Livestock Expo Sale-Abration auction as well as charitable donations help fund the scholarships. The fund is governed by an 11-member board comprised of volunteers from Michigan's agricultural community. Also, in 2020, approximately $13,000 was deposited into the Michigan Education Saving Plans for youth exhibitors who compete in judging and showmanship events at the Michigan Livestock Expo.

The 2020 MYLSF scholarship winners:

  • $2,500 scholarship: Alexander Scovill of Laingsburg; and Mariah Jansen of Sturgis
  • $2,000 scholarship: Laken Polega of Unionville; Payton Hines of Quincy; and Victoria Vining of Sault Sainte Marie
  • $1,500 scholarship: Mary Hartman of Flint; Nathan Scovill of Laingsburg; Shelby Souva of Bronson; Katrina Tucker of Hopkins; Kade Shiery of Camden; and Madalyn Stewart of Charlotte
  • $1,000 scholarship: Addy Battel of Cass City; Alexandria Blackmer of Parma; Cailyn Hines of Quincy; and Noah Palmatier of Williamston
  • $500 scholarship: Chase Rievert of Bay Port; Tyler Rozema of Coopersville; Katie Wilson of Blanchard; Kylie Slavik of Ashley; and Cyrus Graham of East Leroy
  • $1,000 statewide scholarship: Brady Zettle of West Branch
  • $500 statewide scholarship: Lauren Wilson of Charlotte

Applications and qualification requirements for the MYLSF and the statewide scholarship can be obtained at Applications must be submitted electronically and postmarked no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, May 15, 2021. If you have any questions, please contact Jeff Haarer, Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development's Producer Security Section Manager, at 517-896-2236 or; or Ernie Birchmeier, Michigan Farm Bureau's Livestock & Dairy Specialist, at 517-679-5335 or


Like us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | Join us on LinkedIn 
Follow us on Instagram | Subscribe to our Youtube Channel