Skip to main content

$5,000 Lifetime MYLSF Scholarship Award Application deadline for the 2022 Michigan Youth Livestock Scholarship is May 15, 2022

Application details available at

LANSING, MI - Since 2000, the Michigan Youth Livestock Scholarship Fund (MYLSF) has awarded $675,630 in scholarships and educational awards to outstanding youth who have exhibited at the premier livestock events in the state of Michigan.  In 2021, there was $32,500 in scholarships awarded.

In 2022, a select number of applicants may be offered an opportunity to be interviewed, at the discretion of the MYLSF, prior to the Sale-Abration event for larger scholarship awards up to $5,000.

To be eligible for either the MYLSF general scholarship or the statewide scholarship, the applicant must be a resident of Michigan and a graduating high school senior or a high school graduate continuing their education at an accredited institution in the year in which they are applying.

For the general MYLSF scholarship, the applicant must be a youth exhibitor at the Michigan Livestock Expo, the Michigan Dairy Expo or the former Michigan State Fair, for a minimum of three calendar years prior to the year of application. For the statewide scholarship, an applicant must be a youth exhibitor at a local, county, or statewide exhibition for a minimum of three years prior to the year of application.

Specific proceeds from the Michigan Livestock Expo Sale-Abration auction as well as charitable donations help fund the scholarships. The fund is governed by a 11-member board comprised of volunteers from Michigan’s agricultural community. Also, in 2021 approximately $15,000 was deposited into the Michigan Education Saving Plans for youth exhibitors who compete in judging and showmanship events at the Michigan Livestock Expo on the Michigan State University campus.

The 2021 MYLSF scholarship winners were:

$2,500 scholarship: Emma Barnum of Mason; Mary Hartman of Flint; Stephanie Harvey of Hamilton; and Allison Littlefield of Burr Oak 

$2,000 scholarship: Nathan Scovill of Laingsburg

$1,500 scholarship: Amanda Kosal of Deckerville; Irene Nielsen of Potterville, Shannon Rossman of Litchfield; Tyler Rozema of Coopersville; Alexander Scovill of Laingsburg; Kade Shiery of Camden; and Katrina Tucker of Hopkins

$1,000 scholarship: Alex Albrecht of North Branch; Samantha Armstrong of Gregory; Alexandria Blackmer of Parma; Cami Harris of Ovid; Andrew Littlefield of Burr Oak; and Victoria Vining of Sault Sainte Marie

$500 scholarship: Alissa Boersen of Zeeland; Jena Bradley of Cassopolis; Zach Cline of Allenton; and Mallory Rozema of Coopersville

$1,000 statewide scholarship: Morgan Dykstra of Wayland

$500 statewide scholarship: Lee Blumenauer of Manchester; and Makyla Nelson of Ravenna

Applications and qualification requirements for the MYLSF and the statewide scholarship can be obtained at must be submitted electronically no later than Sunday, May 15, 2022. If you have any questions, please contact Jeff Haarer, Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development’s Producer Security Section Manager, at 517-896-2236 or; or Ernie Birchmeier, Michigan Farm Bureau’s Livestock & Dairy Specialist, at 517-679-5335 or