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MEMORANDUM 

 
DATE:  April 21, 2020  
 

TO:  Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents 
  Public School Academy Directors  

 
FROM:  Michael F. Rice, Ph.D., State Superintendent  

  
SUBJECT:  Notification of Waivers Associated with Teacher Certifications and 

Permits 

In support of educators and schools, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is 
providing guidance for implementation of Executive Order 2020-35 (E.O. 2020-35)  
regarding teacher certifications and permits. MDE will share information with 

educators affected by these changes directly via the email addresses that educators 
have provided in the Michigan Online Educator Certification System.   

Action Required: Please encourage educators to keep contact information up-
to-date in the Michigan Online Educator Certification System in order to 

receive critical information. 

E.O. 2020-35 and this memo do not waive future requirements for educator 
credentialing. 

 
Daily Substitute Permits 

Educators teaching with a daily substitute permit may exceed the 90 consecutive 
calendar day limitation in the same classroom or assignment. All daily permit 
extensions will be valid through August 31, 2020. Districts will not need to apply for 

additional extensions.   
 

Action Required: Please share this information with educators working under 
daily substitute permits and staff responsible for placing teachers under 
permits, obtaining permits, and contracting employment of permitted 

individuals for your school(s). 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2019-2020/executiveorder/pdf/2020-EO-35.pdf
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmdoe.state.mi.us%2FMOECS%2FLogin.aspx&data=02%7C01%7CBreenL1%40michigan.gov%7C2dc827d90b9f47a8f7c408d7d7d000ca%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637215160832588835&sdata=C5b%2BV1q475PYhQjlZa70gT8nC9aG0%2FobFYpAPw5ATuQ%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmdoe.state.mi.us%2FMOECS%2FLogin.aspx&data=02%7C01%7CBreenL1%40michigan.gov%7C2dc827d90b9f47a8f7c408d7d7d000ca%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637215160832588835&sdata=C5b%2BV1q475PYhQjlZa70gT8nC9aG0%2FobFYpAPw5ATuQ%3D&reserved=0
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CPR/First Aid Requirements for Certification   
Applications that meet all requirements for initial teacher certification, except for 
CPR/First Aid, will be approved immediately. Affected individuals will be contacted 

directly through the email address included on their application. 
 

Action Required: In support of student safety, districts are  
encouraged to ensure teachers who have not been able to complete the 
CPR/First Aid training receive the certifications as part of their professional 

learning during the first year of employment.  
 

Temporary One-Year Certificates for In-State and Out-of-State Candidates 
MDE will issue temporary employment authorizations for individuals who  

• have completed a traditional Michigan educator preparation program, but have 

been unable to take the Michigan Tests for Teacher Certification (MTTCs); 
• have completed a traditional Michigan educator preparation program, but have 

been unable to complete the required CPR/First Aid courses; or 
• hold an educator certificate or credential from another state, or an education 

degree from an out-of-state educator preparation institution. 
 
This temporary employment authorization allows the holder to receive the same 

employment and benefits as other certified educators. This authorization is not a 
permit. Districts that employ an educator who holds a temporary employment 

authorization should monitor progress to ensure that the educator passes the 
appropriate MTTCs and obtains the appropriate educator credential before the 
authorization’s expiration. Authorizations are non-renewable.  

 
Additionally, MDE has extended currently issued temporary employment 

authorizations through June 30, 2021 to ensure educators’ employment is not 
adversely affected by the inability to meet requirements due to the COVID-19 
pandemic. Educators do not need to do anything to receive this extension.  

 
Action Required: Please share this information with educators working under 

temporary employment authorizations, student teachers, and staff responsible 
for placing teachers under permits, obtaining permits, and contracting 
employment of individuals for your school(s). 

 
Please contact MDE-EducatorHelp@michigan.gov with questions. 

 
cc: Michigan Education Alliance 
 

mailto:MDE-EducatorHelp@michigan.gov

