

CTE Teacher Certification, Authorization and Licensure Requirements

Teacher Certification Michigan law requires that individuals teaching secondary Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs be certified, authorized, and if required, hold a valid state or federal license for the occupational areas in which they will teach. All entry credentials for teaching secondary CTE programs require that the individual seeking the credential have two years (4,000 hours) of <u>recent and relevant work experience</u> in the occupational area. Individuals are authorized to teach CTE under the following three categories:

Michigan Teaching Certificate with CTE Endorsement

A person holding this certification will have completed a program in teacher education through a Michigan approved <u>Educator Preparation Program (EPP)</u> for the preparation of CTE teachers in the occupational area of the endorsement and hold at least a bachelor's degree. Refer to <u>CIP Program Endorsements for CTE Instruction</u> for endorsement areas that can be taught.

The person holding an occupationally endorsed teaching certificate who meets all other requirements of a CTE teaching position, can teach in the occupational area of the endorsement.

Annual Career Authorizations (ACA)

When applying for an ACA, districts must document and verify the recent and relevant work experience specific to the CTE program area. To satisfy the ACA's 4,000-hour work experience requirement, wage-earning employment must be substantiated through completion of the **MDE-OCTE Work Experience Documentation Form (coming soon)**. Authorizations must meet several requirements, including:

- The individual must possess a high school diploma or GED.
- Confirm a properly certified and endorsed candidate is not <u>available for the assignment</u>.
- The district must verify the individual's work experience meets the <u>CTE: Recent and</u> <u>Relevant Experience Requirements</u>.
- The individual must be assigned a mentor teacher.
- For teaching in a subject or field in which a <u>business or industry license or certification</u> is required, hold a professional business license, or held one in the last two years before teacher's initial employment.

For a complete list of the Michigan's ACA law, administrative rules and application requirements, refer to the <u>Annual Career Authorization</u> resource.





Postsecondary Teachers of Secondary Students



College faculty are not required to have a teaching certificate and do not have to go through the annual career authorization (ACA) process if they are teaching the course on the postsecondary campus. If the course is not being taught on the postsecondary campus, then the district will need to apply for an ACA for the college instructor. More detailed information about teacher credentialing options is available in publications offered by the MDE-Office of Educator Excellence (OEE).

Additional Licensure and Teacher Certification Requirements

Individuals who have instructional responsibility in fields for which an industry, state or federal license is required, shall hold the appropriate license before requesting occupational endorsement or authorization. Consult with the appropriate <u>OCTE Educational Consultant</u> for CTE Instructional Program (CIP)-specific information. Teachers in programs that require an additional agency license should be monitored to ensure the license is kept current and is appropriate for the content being taught.

For more information, contact Candace Vinson, OCTE Education Consultant at 517-241-4355 or VinsonC@michigan.gov.



The Michigan Department of Education is an equal opportunity provider. For more information, view the official Notice of Nondiscrimination (michigan.gov) or contact Jim Whittaker at 517-241-2091 or whittakerj@michigan.gov.

