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MEMORANDUM 
 
 
DATE:  July 14, 2022  
 
TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents 
 Public School Academy Directors   
 
FROM:  Delsa D. Chapman, Ed.D., Deputy Superintendent 
 Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports  
    
SUBJECTS:  Legal Obligations of Educational Personnel Related to  
 Student Abuse and Neglect   

The federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), as 
reauthorized in 2015, includes Section 8546—a provision to help protect students 
from sexual abuse and misconduct in schools. Section 8546 requires states to have in 
place laws or policies that prohibit K-12 employers from assisting or aiding and 
abetting school employees and contractors in obtaining a new job if they are known, 
or believed based on probable cause, to have engaged in sexual misconduct with a 
student or minor.  

Recently, the U.S. Department of Education (USED) published a study concerning the 
requirements of Section 8546. USED’s study and a fact sheet providing an overview 
of state laws and policies relevant to Section 8546 are available on the federal Office 
of Elementary and Secondary Education web page under “Publications.”  

The purposes of this memorandum are: 1) to describe Michigan’s statutory 
requirements related to Section 8546; 2) to describe requirements of Michigan’s 
Child Protection Law and to share relevant training resources; and 3) to make a 
recommendation for fully informed hiring decisions. The identified purposes are 
detailed on the pages that follow. 

On behalf of the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Elementary and Secondary 
Education’s Office of Safe and Supportive Schools, the National Center on Safe 
Supportive Learning Environments (NCSSLE) is offering a “Lessons from the Field” 
webinar, Protecting Students by Preventing Aiding and Abetting Adult Sexual 
Misconduct from 3-4 p.m. Wednesday, July 20. Register here to participate.  
  

https://www2.ed.gov/documents/essa-act-of-1965.pdf
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Foese.ed.gov%2Foffices%2Foffice-of-formula-grants%2Fsafe-supportive-schools%2F&data=05%7C01%7CBreenL1%40michigan.gov%7Cce25b5e25f2041ff28ed08da4ba59975%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637905471858020924%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=XhKFiWZoIsVDp0TBToQLLnISTNKlqDz8Tj794z9O9vE%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Foese.ed.gov%2Foffices%2Foffice-of-formula-grants%2Fsafe-supportive-schools%2F&data=05%7C01%7CBreenL1%40michigan.gov%7Cce25b5e25f2041ff28ed08da4ba59975%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637905471858020924%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=XhKFiWZoIsVDp0TBToQLLnISTNKlqDz8Tj794z9O9vE%3D&reserved=0
https://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov/events/webinar/lessons-field-protecting-students-preventing-aiding-and-abetting-adult-sexual
https://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov/events/webinar/lessons-field-protecting-students-preventing-aiding-and-abetting-adult-sexual
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fr20.rs6.net%2Ftn.jsp%3Ff%3D001Nv4Pj3eGDtf5WGMdkEloi1JsW3Nbx1On_03pwzUCyzwpOkRfwmSBb5JXmV7MKI3lbwL81Yk-nKRqtsNmR5qXbFXgnzw5MrvUtV7TK6N4CBpvUErcxQ4vbK8GpsRagzvgI0lpR8dswX-T93shCRIzi8ycroPPu8aJk8cCwaBs_bDUhifzMREXwoD5Lc_QfP8SyVwFNAx2iGs%3D%26c%3Ds9SPlt1dy8vH2O-MUkletIRf4_F7KEAfuQTtzUHNM02Iag0buKaQYw%3D%3D%26ch%3DFUJTc_BYsZAYnGTVOuB2Q8rCbWxi1QXNvMikcQyLHRLIbGuBw3AJFA%3D%3D&data=05%7C01%7CAckleyM%40michigan.gov%7Cc38b011f1f394cffaf9508da6535291b%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637933576235568699%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=umQLk8hQcA%2F4RbvUvWvFPGTcIx077ASCt%2FlzIsGXIJA%3D&reserved=0
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1) MICHIGAN STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS RELATED TO SECTION 8546 

Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) 18.1287, 380.1230, 380.1230a, 380.1230b, 
380.1532, 380.1535a, 380.1539b, 388.1763, 399.811, and 750.491 impose the 
following obligations related to Section 8546. 

 
As prospective employers, local and intermediate school districts and 
public school academies shall: 
• Conduct criminal background checks with fingerprinting on, at a minimum, all 

job applicants to whom a district desires to offer employment.  
• Check state certification and licensure status of applicants and employ only 

individuals who are eligible. 
• Require that an applicant authorize current and former employers to disclose 

any unprofessional conduct1 of the applicant and to make available copies of 
personnel record documents related to that conduct. 

• Require that an applicant release current and former employers from liability 
for providing information about unprofessional conduct. 

• Request an applicant’s current or previous employer to provide information 
about the applicant’s unprofessional conduct. 

• Request an applicant’s current or previous employer to provide results of a 
criminal history check. 

• Decline to hire an applicant who does not provide the required authorization 
and release about unprofessional conduct. 

• Within 60 days after receiving a criminal history report that discloses a felony 
conviction, notify the Michigan Department of Education (MDE).  

Job applicants shall: 
 
• Provide written authorization for current and former employers to disclose 

employment information and records. 
• Provide a written release of current and former employers from liability for 

providing information about unprofessional conduct.  
• Provide a written statement disclosing any criminal convictions and 

unprofessional conduct. 
• Provide contact information for all current and former employers. 
• Provide written consent for a criminal history check. 

 
 

1 MCL 380.1230b(8)(b) provides: 

“Unprofessional conduct” means 1 or more acts of misconduct; 1 or more acts 
of immorality, moral turpitude, or inappropriate behavior involving a minor; 
or commission of a crime involving a minor. A criminal conviction is not an 
essential element of determining whether or not a particular act 
constitutes unprofessional conduct. 

 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(r5t1vbwtckgk2fnn3xntmgdr))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1230
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(4ugr4c5ksusgkj3zlj4ergd4))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1230a
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(q1dntc1znfveyyiuofglscpl))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-380-1230b&query=on&highlight=disclose
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(bdgcfa5ra5gr0q3ldu1kfwnl))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1532
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(mswzzf3n1nobb0pmyap05sih))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1535a
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(yeygozuivsyxcrh0v5ltg4d4))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1539b
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(zwewovxtoaefcsdso3prmts4))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-388-1763
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1mkzwzyegoo05gm4yg1h2zqu))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-399-811
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1zhccsnd1qtihjsjsm32pnes))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-750-491
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(4ugr4c5ksusgkj3zlj4ergd4))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-380-1230b&query=on&highlight=unprofessional%20AND%20conduct#top
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As current and former employers, local and intermediate school districts 
and public school academies shall:  

• Retain personnel files for employees cited for unprofessional conduct for not 
less than 50 years after the individuals are no longer employed by the district.  

• Retain all other personnel files for not less than 6 years after the individuals 
are no longer employed by the district.  

• Respond to prospective employers’ requests for information about 
unprofessional conduct within 20 business days. 

• Respond to prospective employer requests for results of criminal history 
checks. 

• Retain criminal history reports in employees’ personnel records. 
• Not enter into a collective bargaining agreement, employment contract, 

resignation or severance agreement, or any other contract or agreement that 
has the effect of suppressing information about unprofessional conduct of an 
employee or former employee. 

• Not enter into a collective bargaining agreement, employment contract, 
resignation or severance agreement, or any other contract or agreement that 
has the effect of expunging information about substantiated unprofessional 
conduct from personnel records. 

• Within 15 days after being notified or learning from an authoritative source 
that an employee who holds an educator credential has been convicted of 
criminal sexual conduct or another crime described in MCL 380.1535a or 
380.1539b, notify the superintendent of public instruction.  
 

2) MICHIGAN’S CHILD PROTECTION LAW 

Section 3(1)(a) of Michigan’s Child Protection Law, MCL 722.623, requires teachers, 
school counselors, and school administrators to make an immediate verbal report to 
the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) of suspected child 
abuse or neglect. The report shall be made by telephone (855-444-3911) or online 
through the Michigan Online Reporting System (MORS). If the report is by telephone, 
the reporting person shall also file a written report within 72 hours.  

If the reporting person is a school employee, the person shall notify the person in 
charge of the school of the suspected abuse or neglect and of the report to MDHHS 
and shall make the report available to the person in charge. The mandatory reporter 
is not expected to investigate the matter, know the legal definitions of child abuse 
and neglect, or know the name of the perpetrator. Reports are confidential, and 
mandatory reporters should err on the side of children’s safety. The Child 
Protection Law, which is intended to simplify the reporting process, places 
responsibility for determining appropriate action with the Children’s Protective 
Services (CPS) program of MDHHS. 

Notifying parents, guardians, school administrators, or other individuals, but not 
notifying MDHHS, does not satisfy mandatory reporting requirements and is a breach 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(ywjj411po1u2sawfckcpg0r3))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-722-623
https://newmibridges.michigan.gov/s/isd-landing-page?language=en_US
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdhhs.michigan.gov%2FChildSupport%2Fpolicy%2FDocuments%2FDHS-3200.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
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of the Michigan Code of Educational Ethics. MDE has developed training resources to 
ensure educators are equipped to identify signs of abuse and neglect, understand the 
requirements of mandatory reporting, and respond appropriately when students 
disclose information to them. 

3) MDE’S ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION 

Local and intermediate school districts and public school academies are strongly 
encouraged to take advantage of the National Association of State Directors of 
Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Educator Identification Clearinghouse 
(clearinghouse). The clearinghouse is a database that monitors and tracks adverse 
actions taken against an educator’s credential. Many of these actions are not related 
to criminal prosecutions and do not show up in traditional criminal background 
checks. By including the clearinghouse in the screening of certified and non-certified 
applicants, a school district can make more fully informed hiring decisions. More 
information about the NASDTEC clearinghouse can be found at its website.  

Questions related to the school safety elements addressed in this memorandum may 
be directed to Leah Breen, director of the Office of Educator Excellence, at 
BreenL1@Michigan.gov.  
 
 
cc: Michigan Education Alliance  
 Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Departments               

https://www.michigan.gov/mde/-/media/Project/Websites/mde/educator_services/prof_practices/code_of_ethics.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/educator-conduct/michigan-code-of-educational-ethics
https://www.nasdtec.net/page/ASSOC_CH_REG
mailto:BreenL1@Michigan.gov
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