

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

## MEMORANDUM

- DATE: September 15, 2022
- **TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors
- **FROM:** Delsa D. Chapman, Ed.D., Deputy Superintendent Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports
- **SUBJECT:** Michigan Department of Education Accepting Nominations for 2023-24 Michigan Teacher of the Year

Teacher recognition is an important component of teacher retention, and studies show that increased retention results in higher student achievement. The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is opening the nomination process for 2023-24 Michigan Teacher of the Year (MTOY), an annual program that recognizes outstanding teachers in our state. Each year, 10 Regional Teachers of the Year (RTOYs) are selected through a competitive application process, with one of the RTOYs named Michigan Teacher of the Year. Please make nominations using the online form, which is available until Monday, October 24, 2022, at 11:59 p.m.

The MTOY program aims to recognize outstanding teachers from across Michigan. These teachers have an opportunity to learn more about educational initiatives and policies at the state level and provide input on how to better serve Michigan's teachers and students.

To be eligible, a nominee must have a valid Michigan teaching certificate and at least five years of educational experience in Michigan and be in good standing with their school or district. Once the nomination window closes, all eligible nominees will be considered for the MTOY selection process.

To learn more about the MTOY program and MDE's other educator recognition programs, please visit the <u>program webpage</u>. Please contact Jennifer Robel at <u>RobelJ@Michigan.gov</u> with questions regarding the program or nomination process.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Departments

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT TIFFANY D. TILLEY – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER JUDITH PRITCHETT – NASBE DELEGATE ELLEN COGEN LIPTON • NIKKI SNYDER