KINDERGARTEN ENROLLMENT and ALTERNATIVE KINDERGARTEN PROGRAMS

The sections of the *Revised School Code* that address this issue are contained in the Michigan Compiled Law under MCL 380.1147 and 388.1606.

Enrollment Age

Michigan law entitles a resident child who is at least five years of age on or before December 1 to enroll in kindergarten until the 2013-2014 school year [MCL 380.1147]. For the 2013-2014 school year, a child who resides in the school district may enroll in kindergarten if the child is at least 5 years of age on November 1, 2013. For the 2014- 2015 school year, a child who resides in the school district may enroll in kindergarten if the child is at least 5 years of age on October 1, 2014. Beginning with the 2015-2016 school year, a child who resides in the school district may enroll in kindergarten if the child is at least 5 years of age on September 1 of the school year of enrollment. For the district to be eligible to count the pupil in membership and receive state aid, the pupil must meet these age requirements [MCL 388.1606(4)].

Note: The ages prescribed above for a child's eligibility for enrollment in a school district also apply to a child's eligibility to enroll in a public school academy.

Exceptions Provided for Enrollment Age

Section 6(4)(I)(iii) of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1606) provides that if a child does not meet the minimum age requirement to be eligible to attend school for that school year under Section 1147, but will be 5 years of age not later than December 1 of that school year, the district may enroll the child for that school year if the parent or legal guardian has notified the district in writing that he or she intends to enroll the child in kindergarten for that school year. A school district that receives this written notification may make a recommendation to the parent or legal guardian that the child is not ready to enroll in kindergarten due to the child's age or other factors. However, regardless of this recommendation, the parent or legal guardian retains the sole discretion to determine whether or not to enroll the child in kindergarten.

Note: Districts are not required to enroll a child in kindergarten until the child meets the age eligibility of the school year of enrollment as described above. If a district did agree to enroll a four-year old who will not be at least 5 years of age by December 1, the district would not be able to claim the child for state school aid purposes.

Alternative Kindergarten Programs

The Michigan Attorney General ruled in an opinion cited as 1987 OAG 6467 that when a child is qualified by residence and age to attend kindergarten, the school district is obligated to accept the child's enrollment in kindergarten despite any recommendation of school district personnel that the child attend an alternative developmental kindergarten program.

This information is provided as a service of the Michigan Department of Education and is distributed with the understanding that the Department is not engaged in rendering legal advice. Those individuals desiring or requiring legal advice should seek the services of an attorney.

June 2014

Michigan Department of Education Frequently Asked Questions About Changes in the Kindergarten Entry Age

June 2014

Number	Question	Answer	Implication for Payment of State School Aid/Counting Child in Membership
1.	What is the age my child must be to enter K in 2013?	5 on or before November 1	Child counts in membership.
2.	What is the age my child must be to enter K in 2014?	5 on or before October 1	Child counts in membership.
3.	What is the age my child must be to enter K in 2015 and in subsequent years?	5 on or before September 1	Child counts in membership.
4.	What must I do if I want to enroll my child whose birthdate is before December 1 but after the enrollment date for the year he/she turns 5?	Inform the resident district in writing of your intent to enroll your child in kindergarten using the exception found in Section 6(4)(I)(iii) of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1606).	Child counts in membership.
5.	What if my child is enrolled in K early and we move to another district or from a state with an earlier entry date? Will he/she be allowed to continue in K?	If the child is a resident of the district, inform the district in writing of your intent to enroll your child in kindergarten using the exception found in Section 6(4)(I)(iii) of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1606). If the child is not a resident of the district, the parent may request continued enrollment of the child, but the district is not required to allow the early enrollment.	Before Count Day: The district could count the child if the parent notified the district of the early enrollment. After Count Day: No membership would be awarded if the child moved to the district from another state. If the child was counted in another district during the Fall Count, and the enrollment in the new district would occur prior to the Spring Count, then it's possible that the district could be awarded membership through Section 25e of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1625e).

6.	What if I want my child to participate in another district through schools of choice (SOC)?	The child must participate in the schools of choice (SOC) selection process; in addition, the parent would need to notify the SOC district of the desire for early enrollment. The district must allow a child eligible for early enrollment to participate in the process if the parent indicates to the district by the early enrollment notification date that s/he intends to have the child participate in the schools of choice selection process.	In order for the student to be eligible for state aid, the parent must notify the SOC district of the desire for early enrollment. Enrollment in the SOC district would then depend on if the application/enrollment window for the district was still open. Additionally, if the district operates a limited SOC program, the district is required to follow the guidelines for enrollment under 388.1705/388.1705c in the event that seats become available.
7.	What about entering a Public School Academy early?	The child must participate in the PSA selection process. The PSA must allow a child eligible for early enrollment to participate in the selection process as an eligible kindergartner if the parent indicates to PSA by the early enrollment notification date that s/he intends to have the child participate in the PSA selection process.	In order for the student to be eligible for state aid, the parent must notify the PSA district of the desire for early enrollment.