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OF 
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Certification Penalty 

Docket No. CP 17-5 

BACKGROUND FACTS 

 In a letter dated May 22, 2017, Leah Breen, director of the Office of 

Professional Preparation Services (OPPS) of the Michigan Department of Education 

(Department), and Philip L. Boone, interim director of the Department’s Office of 

State Aid and School Finance, informed the Academy for Business and Technology 

(ABT), that the Department had determined that ABT employed Anthony Linares in 

contravention of state law during the 120-day period from December 5, 2016, to 

April 3, 2017.  Pursuant to MCL 388.1763(2), a state aid deduction was assessed 

against ABT in the amount of $11,852.05, the amount of salary paid to Mr. Linares 

during the period of noncompliance.  ABT is a public school academy authorized by 

Eastern Michigan University and managed by The Leona Group, L.L.C. 

On June 1, 2017, ABT filed a first level appeal with Ms. Breen challenging the 

state aid deduction.  In a letter dated June 15, 2017, Ms. Breen affirmed the 

deduction.  ABT filed a second level appeal with the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction on July 11, 2017.   

 Acting as designee of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, Robert J. 

Taylor offered ABT the option to submit its appeal either entirely in writing or at a 

review conference during which it could present its position and the Department 

could respond.  ABT chose to present its position by way of a review conference.  
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The review conference was convened on October 16, 2017.  Participants at the 

conference were Mr. Taylor; Ms. Breen; Diane K. Griggs of The Leona Group, L.L.C., 

human relations director of ABT; Carmen Willingham, school leader of ABT’s 

middle/high school; Mike Atkins, ABT core team member; and Mary Fielding, a 

Department administrative law specialist. 

DISCUSSION 

Unless otherwise provided in the Revised School Code, a teacher must hold a 

teaching certificate that is valid for the position to which the teacher is assigned.  

MCL 380.1231(3); MCL 380.1233(1); MCL 388.1763(1); Mich Admin Code, R 

390.1105.1  Employers are required to be familiar with the details of the validity of 

certificates held by their employees.  Mich Admin Code, R 390.1117(1).  A district 

may employ a noncertificated individual as a substitute teacher under certain 

circumstances and must obtain a substitute permit for that employment.  MCL 

380.1233(6); Mich Admin Code, R 390.1141 et seq.  The application for a permit is 

submitted to the Department by a superintendent or school administrator, who 

holds it on behalf of the individual whose substitute employment it concerns.  Mich 

Admin Code, R 390.1141(2).  The permit process plays an important role in the 

screening of school instructional employees for criminal convictions, a vital function 

of the Department in its efforts to safeguard pupils’ safety.  See Mich Admin Code, 

R 390.1111(5), which provides in pertinent part that conviction of a crime described 

in section 1535a of the Revised School Code, MCL 380.1535a, is considered to be 

                                                           
1 The administrative rules governing certification have the force and effect of law.  Detroit 

Base Coalition for Human Rights of Handicapped v Director, Department of Social Services, 

431 Mich 172, 177 (1988).   
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reasonably and adversely related to the ability to serve in an elementary or 

secondary school and is sufficient grounds for denial of a permit.   

Section 163 of the State School Aid Act, MCL 388.1763, provides in pertinent 

part as follows. 

(1) Except as provided in the revised school code, the 

board of a district or intermediate district shall not permit 
any of the following: 
(a) A noncertificated educator to teach in an elementary 

or secondary school or in an adult basic education or high 
school completion program. 

*** 
(2) Except as provided in the revised school code, a 
district or intermediate district employing educators not 

legally certificated or licensed shall have deducted the 
sum equal to the amount paid the educators for the 

period of noncertificated, unlicensed, or illegal 
employment.  

 

In Grand Rapids Education Association v Grand Rapids Board of Education, 

170 Mich App 644, 648 (1988), the Court of Appeals held that the Department is 

bound by the plain words of MCL 388.1763 to impose a state aid penalty when a 

district employs noncertified teachers. 

Where statutory language is clear and 

unambiguous, judicial interpretation to vary 
the plain meaning of the statute is 
precluded; the Legislature must have 

intended the meaning it plainly expressed, 
and the statute must be enforced as written. 

[Nerat v Swacker, 150 Mich App 61, 64; 388 
N.W.2d 305 (1986), lv den 426 Mich 857 
(1986).] 

MCL 388.1763; MSA 15.1919(1063) clearly and 
unambiguously states that a board of a school district 

shall not permit unqualified teachers to teach and that a 
district employing unqualified teachers shall be penalized. 
Unqualified teachers taught in Grand Rapids public 

schools. Therefore, the Grand Rapids School District must 

https://advance.lexis.com/search/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1ce2005e-421d-41ff-8325-9622b328c67e&pdsearchterms=170+mich+app+644&pdstartin=hlct%3A1%3A1&pdtypeofsearch=searchboxclick&pdsearchtype=SearchBox&pdqttype=and&pdpsf=&ecomp=24bt9kk&earg=pdpsf&prid=f84ba035-f32d-4122-8289-11cfbb8fd8d7
https://advance.lexis.com/search/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1ce2005e-421d-41ff-8325-9622b328c67e&pdsearchterms=170+mich+app+644&pdstartin=hlct%3A1%3A1&pdtypeofsearch=searchboxclick&pdsearchtype=SearchBox&pdqttype=and&pdpsf=&ecomp=24bt9kk&earg=pdpsf&prid=f84ba035-f32d-4122-8289-11cfbb8fd8d7
https://advance.lexis.com/search/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1ce2005e-421d-41ff-8325-9622b328c67e&pdsearchterms=170+mich+app+644&pdstartin=hlct%3A1%3A1&pdtypeofsearch=searchboxclick&pdsearchtype=SearchBox&pdqttype=and&pdpsf=&ecomp=24bt9kk&earg=pdpsf&prid=f84ba035-f32d-4122-8289-11cfbb8fd8d7
https://advance.lexis.com/search/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1ce2005e-421d-41ff-8325-9622b328c67e&pdsearchterms=170+mich+app+644&pdstartin=hlct%3A1%3A1&pdtypeofsearch=searchboxclick&pdsearchtype=SearchBox&pdqttype=and&pdpsf=&ecomp=24bt9kk&earg=pdpsf&prid=f84ba035-f32d-4122-8289-11cfbb8fd8d7
https://advance.lexis.com/search/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1ce2005e-421d-41ff-8325-9622b328c67e&pdsearchterms=170+mich+app+644&pdstartin=hlct%3A1%3A1&pdtypeofsearch=searchboxclick&pdsearchtype=SearchBox&pdqttype=and&pdpsf=&ecomp=24bt9kk&earg=pdpsf&prid=f84ba035-f32d-4122-8289-11cfbb8fd8d7
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be penalized. There is really no need for further analysis 
in view of the clarity of the statutory pronouncements. 

At issue in this case is whether a state aid deduction has been properly 

assessed against ABT based on its employment of Anthony Linares during part of 

the 2016-2017 school year.  The relevant facts are as follows. 

The Department issued to Mr. Linares an elementary provisional teaching 

certificate for kindergarten to grade five (all subjects) and kindergarten through 

grade eight (self-contained classroom2) on May 19, 2011.  On April 4, 2017, an 

endorsement for English (grades six to eight) was added to the certificate.  The 

certificate expired on June 30, 2017.3   

During the 2015-2016 school year, ABT applied for and was issued a full year 

substitute permit to allow its employment of Mr. Linares as a high school English 

teacher.  As noted above, Mr. Linares held a valid Michigan teaching certificate at 

that time but he was not certified to teach high school courses.   

ABT continued to employ Mr. Linares during the entire 2016-2017 school 

year.  His 2016-2017 teaching assignment consisted of one period teaching eighth 

grade English (not in a self-contained classroom), two periods teaching high school 

English, one period proctoring an online elective lab for tenth through twelfth grade 

students, one period teaching eleventh grade test prep/life skills, and a preparation 

period.  Notwithstanding that this teaching assignment was outside the validity of 

                                                           
2 A self-contained classroom is a classroom in which one teacher provides instruction to the 

same pupils for the majority of the pupils’ instructional day.  Mich Admin Code, R 

390.1101(r). 

 
3 On August 29, 2017, the Department issued to Mr. Linares an elementary professional 

education certificate for kindergarten to grade five (all subjects), kindergarten through 

grade eight (self-contained classroom), and English (grades six to eight).  The professional 

education certificate will expire on June 30, 2022.   
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Mr. Linares’ elementary provisional teaching certificate,4 it was not until April 3, 

2017, that ABT applied for a substitute permit to allow his employment.  On April 4, 

2017, the Department issued the requested substitute permit, which expired on 

August 31, 2017.  The state aid deduction at issue in this case is based on the 

salary paid to Mr. Linares from December 5, 2016,5 to April 3, 2017. 

ABT acknowledges that its failure to obtain a substitute permit to allow its 

employment of Mr. Linares at the beginning of the 2016-2017 school year was due 

to an error in its human relations department.  ABT argues, however, that Mr. 

Linares’ provisional teaching certificate, his success on the Michigan Test for 

Teacher Certification (MTTC) for English in November 2015, and the substitute 

permits that were issued by the Department to ABT “should be adequate to keep 

ABT in compliance with state law.”  In support of this argument, ABT argues that 

some of the classes to which Mr. Linares was assigned in 2016-2017 did not require 

a “highly qualified” teacher.  ABT further argues that the state aid assessment, if 

any, should be prorated based on whether Mr. Linares’ classes were “core” classes. 

                                                           
4 As noted above, an endorsement for English (grades six to eight) was not added to Mr. 

Linares’s elementary provisional teaching certificate until April 4, 2017.  He was therefore 

not certified to teach the eighth grade English class during the period in question. 

 
5 Mich Admin Code, R 390.1143(3) provides as follows. 

 

Individuals who hold valid Michigan teaching certificates are not required to 

have a substitute permit for teaching in short term assignments of 90 

calendar days or less outside of the grade level and subject area validity of 

their teaching certificates. 

 

Based on this subrule, OPPS delayed the start of the deduction period until December 5, 

2016, 90 days after the start of the 2016-2017 school year, because Mr. Linares held a valid 

Michigan teaching certificate (although he was teaching outside the certificate’s grade level 

validity) at the time in question. 
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It is not disputed that Mr. Linares was not certified to teach high school 

classes during the 2016-2017 school year and that he was not certified to teach 

eighth grade English until April 4, 2017.   

There is no authority that supports ABT’s argument that certification 

requirements are dependent on whether a class is considered a core or non-core 

class.  However, at the review conference, a question was raised about certification 

requirements for the online “proctoring” role to which Mr. Linares was assigned 

during the 2016-2017 school year.  Based on review of the relevant sections of the 

Pupil Accounting Manual and the relevant OPPS guidance that was in effect at the 

time in question, and because it was not established that Mr. Linares was the 

teacher of record for the online course, I find that OPPS did not establish that he 

was required to hold grade level certification to perform his assigned role in that 

course.  With that exception, I uphold the state aid assessment in this case.  The 

fact that Mr. Linares held a provisional teaching certificate under which he was 

eligible to teach all subjects in kindergarten through fifth grade and to teach in a 

self-contained classroom in kindergarten through eighth grade did not absolve ABT 

of its legal responsibility to obtain a substitute permit to employ him in those 

portions of his 2016-2017 assignment for which he was clearly not certified.  

Contrary to ABT’s argument, an individual’s successful completion of an MTTC test 

does not confer certified status on the individual or otherwise render permit 

requirements inapplicable and substitute permit requirements are not dependent on 

“highly qualified” requirements. 

ABT asserts that the permit that it obtained on April 3, 2017 “was valid for 

the entire 2016/2017 school year.”  As all school districts and public school 
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academies were reminded in a memorandum distributed by the Department on 

October 6, 2016, “It is important to recognize that educator permits are not 

retroactive,” that “schools must ensure that a teacher holds a valid certificate or 

permit at the time that she/he begins a teaching assignment,” and that “MCL 

388.1763 requires a deduction of state aid to the school or district when an 

educator is placed in an assignment without a valid certificate or permit.”  

(Department Memorandum # 2016-093)(emphasis in original).  The permit issued 

to ABT on April 3, 2017, did not operate retroactively to allow ABT to assign Mr. 

Linares to the high school assignment from the beginning of the 2016-2017 school 

year. 

With the exception of my finding regarding Mr. Linares’ role related to the 

online course, I find that the plain words of MCL 388.1763(2) require that I uphold 

the assessment of a state aid deduction based on ABT’s employment of him for the 

period in question.  See Grand Rapids Education Association, supra.  I therefore 

affirm in part and reverse in part the first level appeal decision in this matter.  In 

accord with this final report and decision, the state aid assessment shall be reduced 

by one-sixth, representing the portion of Mr. Linares’ salary attributable to the 

online course. 
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ORDER 

Based on my review of this matter and for the above reasons, I affirm in part 

and reverse in part the first level appeal decision of Leah Breen, director of the 

Office of Professional Preparation Services, to assess a state aid penalty against the 

Academy for Business and Technology based on its employment of Anthony Linares 

during the 2016-2017 school year.  The total state aid assessment based on the 

Academy for Business and Technology’s employment of Mr. Linares during the 

2016-2017 school year shall be in the amount of $9,876.71. 

This final report and decision is being transmitted to the Office of Professional 

Preparation Services and the Office of State Aid and School Finance for 

implementation. 

 

________________ 

Brian Whiston 

Superintendent of Public Instruction 
 

Dated: January 16, 2018 


