SCECH Program Overview


SCECH Program Overview
State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECH) are earned by attending professional development activities approved by the Michigan Department of Education (MDE).  These hours can be used for renewal of certificates and licenses issued by the MDE, Office of Professional Preparation Services.

Only approved Sponsors may award SCECHs for participation in their SCECH approved programs.  Those Sponsors submit their programs to MDE for SCECH approval.

SCECHs are earned by educators attending SCECH approved programs by Sponsors that follow MDE's quality professional development criteria.  SCECHs reflect the total number of instructional hours provided in a program.  Please review the SCECH Program Overview for more information.


There are two categories of SCECH programs: Traditional and Non-Traditional programs.

  1. Traditional Professional Development: 
  • Conferences
  • Meetings and workshops
  1. Non-Traditional Professional Development:

You must contact your local SCECH sponsor to obtain complete description, qualification requirements, instructions, and rules prior to starting the following assignments to receive SCECHs. Credit can only be earned by filing the appropriate documentation with your local SCECH sponsor within 30 days after the assignment is complete.  

  • Mentoring a new teacher or administrator in your school
  • Supervising a college student during their student teaching or pre-teaching experience
  • Serving on a P.A. 25 School Improvement Team or School Committee

The complete list of SCECH programs available in the SCECH Catalog

Contact the Sponsor of the program or Program Facilitator for registration and specific program information.

The complete list of approved sponsors is located at:

What are SCECHs?

Where are my SCECHs?

If you have questions, contact the State Continuing Education Clock Hours Coordinator at


Updated 06/16/2017.