Skip to main content

21st Century Community Learning Centers

teenager in classroom making robot

21st Century Community Learning Centers

Michigan 21st Century Community Learning Centers logo Soaring Beyond Expectations

The Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC) Grants are awarded through a competitive process to local and intermediate school districts, universities, and other public or private community-based agencies, organizations, and programs, including faith-based organizations. These grant programs provide comprehensive community learning center services. Currently, there are 68 grants with 259 sites in 20 counties.  Each site serves one or more schools. Grants are targeted at high-priority and low-income schools. Students must be offered after-school and summer programming for a minimum of four days a week, two and a half hours a day, for 32 weeks per school-year during out-of-school time, and six weeks in the summer. More than 320,000 students have been served since the inception of the program in 2001.

Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC Competition

Michigan’s 2022-2023 (Cohort M) competition has ended. Applicants were notified of their status in May of 2022. The 2023-2024 (Cohort N) competition will be held in early 2023. Please check this page for more detailed information regarding the competition in January of 2023.

21st CCLC Information

After-school Websites


Name Email Address

Contact Information

General Inquiries
Andrew Pastoor, Consultant
Stacy Ann Sipes, Specialist
Lorraine Thoreson, Manager