Reporting Hepatitis B Surface Antigen-Positive (HBsAg-positive) Pregnant Persons to the Local Health Department (LHD)

The primary goal of the Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program (PHBPP) is to identify all pregnant persons who test positive for HBsAg prenatally so their newborns can receive the appropriate prophylaxis.

It is very important for health care providers who test pregnant persons to report all HBsAgpositive test results (for every pregnancy) within 24 hours of discovery or diagnosis to the LHD in the county where the patient resides. (Even if they were reported for a previous pregnancy).

To ensure all HBsAg-positive pregnant persons are identified and their lab results are reported in a timely manner, do one of the following:

- **SEND** a copy of the pregnant person's HBsAg test results to LHD/Communicable Disease Unit in the county where patient resides **along with pregnancy status**.
- REPORT all HBsAg-positive results electronically into "Enter Lab Data" option on New Case Entry screen in the Michigan Disease Surveillance System (MDSS). Include pregnancy status.
- CALL your LHD directly with HBsAg-positive lab results and pregnancy status.
 (Directory of Michigan Health Departments by County, see page 2)
- Other considerations:
- **IDENTIFY** who is responsible and accountable for communicable disease reporting in your practice. Make sure they aware of this reporting requirement.
- **REVIEW** Reportable Diseases in Michigan with all staff and post Hepatitis B Testing in Pregnant Women as a quick reference tool.

If you have questions, please call the PHBPP at 517-388-4815, 517-897-3236, or 517-242-8319. Or to report an HBsAg-positive pregnant person to the PHBPP, send via **electronic fax 517-763-0470.**

Communicable Disease Rules, Section 333.5111, Act No. 368, Public Acts of 1978, as amended in R325.171, R325.172, and R325.173. In R325.173, Rule 3 (1), a physician shall report each case of a serious communicable disease specified in R325.172, except for human immunodeficiency virus infection and acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, which is governed by MCL 333.5114, within 24 hours of diagnosis or discovery, to the appropriate health department.

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA): Sharing of public health information (PHI) with public health authorities is addressed in §164.512(b): (1) Permitted disclosures: A covered entity may disclose protected health information for the public health activities and purposes to: (i) A public health authority that is authorized by law to collect or receive such information for the purpose of preventing or controlling disease, injury, or disability, including but not limited to, the reporting of disease, injury, vital events such as birth or death, and the conduct of public health surveillance, public health investigations, and public health interventions.