REGIONAL DETENTION SUPPORT SERVICES (RDSS)

HANDBOOK

State of Michigan Juvenile Justice Programs



For additional information contact:

235 South Grand Ave, Suite 1315 Lansing, Michigan 48909

Phone: 517-335-6144

8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Fax: 517-241-9773

(Updated November 2, 2023)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Funding	4
Payment Procedures	6
Filling out a Voucher	6
Additional Payment Information	7
Holdover Component	9
Site Selection	10
Court and Law Enforcement	10
Worker Operations Procedure	11
Jail	12
Transportation Component	13
Personal Vehicle and Insurance	14
Rates	15
Security	16
Documentation Required for Payment	17
Pre-Dispositional Home Detention	18
Dispositional Home Detention	20
Flexible Schedule for Pre-Dispositional Home Detention	21
Training Components	23
Pre-Dispositional Electronic Monitoring Component	24
Electronic Monitoring Procedures	25
Flexible Schedule Home Detention/Electronic Monitoring	26
Dispositional Use of Electronic Monitoring	27
Return from Long-Term Placement	28
RDSS Personal Safety	30
Electronic Monitoring Fact Sheet	32
Appendix-Forms	33

SECTION I – FUNDING AND GUIDELINES

A. Purpose

Regional Detention Support Services (RDSS) is a nationally recognized program which provides alternatives to jail and detention for youth who are detained and awaiting a hearing and/or a placement. RDSS includes holdover, home detention, transportation, and electronic monitoring services. RDSS provides a stipend payment for the workers providing these services.

B. Eligible Jurisdictions

RDSS eligible jurisdictions include the 61 rural counties without secure detention facilities in Michigan including Native American tribal Jurisdictions. Local Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) office juvenile justice specialists' may utilize all RDSS program services by establishing a protocol with their local court.

* Please note: the number of eligible jurisdictions may change based on the active/licensed facilities.

Counties eligible for a Basic Grant under Child Care Fund will not have to pay a 50 percent chargeback for the RDSS holdover, home detention, transportation, and electronic monitoring services <u>unless</u> the county operates their program with primarily professional rather than subcontracted workers. RDSS is completely state funded if the county meets identified requirements.

C. Legal Basis

"Counties shall be subject to 50 percent chargeback for the use of alternative Regional Detention Support Services if they do not fall under the Basic Grant provisions of section 117e of the Social Welfare Act 280 of the Public Act of 1939, being section 400.117e of the Michigan Compiled Laws or if the county operates these programs primarily with professional rather than volunteer staff."

MCL 400.117e states, "(1) A county having a population of less than 75,000 is eligible to receive an annual basic grant of state money of \$15,000.00. (2) To be eligible to receive state financial support under subsection (1), a county shall meet the requirements of this act. A county shall not be required to contribute matching funds to receive state financial support under subsection (1). (3) A basic grant may be used only to supplement added juvenile justice service costs and shall not be used to replace county money currently being expended on juvenile justice services. (4) The office shall establish qualifying criteria for awarding the basic grants and may specify conditions for each grant. (5) To provide for early intervention to treat problems of delinquency and neglect within the child's home and to expedite a child's return to his or her home, the office may expend money from the Child Care Fund or from other sources authorized in legislative appropriations for new or expanded programs, if the office determines that the programs are alternatives to out-of-home institutional or foster care. The office shall establish criteria for the approval of expenditures made under this subsection. The office shall submit to the legislature and the governor a report summarizing and evaluating the implementation of this subsection and containing recommendations for its future use."

D. Jail Reduction Commitments Required

Local court jurisdictions utilizing RDSS must commit to eliminating juvenile incarceration, *apart from violent offenders*. The use of jail with an attendant can be funded for youth 15 years of age or older, charged with a Class I Offense

- assault with intent to murder.
- assault with intent to rob.
- attempted murder.
- murder I.
- murder II.
- criminal sexual conduct 1.
- robbery armed.
- manufacturing, possession intent to deliver >650 grams 1 & 2.
- carjacking.

See Section III for guidelines on use of jail.

E. Authorized Court Officer(s)

Local court jurisdictions utilizing RDSS must designate a court officer(s) who is authorized to approve the use of holdover, home detention, transportation, or electronic monitoring.

F. Recruitment of RDSS Workers

Local court jurisdictions utilizing RDSS must recruit their own holdover workers, home detention /electronic monitoring workers and transporter, who must work under an agreement with the court as a subcontracted employee. See Appendix for a sample agreement.

Payment requests (for any component) for court staff who supervise delinquent wards, or their immediate families will not be approved under any circumstance.

Workers recruited and trained can be used interchangeably for any/or all services.

There are no education or experience requirements for RDSS workers. The basic requirements are the individual must be at least 21 years old and have the interest and capacity to work with troubled youth detained who are awaiting hearing and/or placement. Police, background checks are to be completed for all interested RDSS workers at the time of initial application, and every year thereafter. Applicants with **a criminal history** or confirmed finding of child abuse/neglect, identified via central registry clearance check cannot be authorized as an RDSS worker.

Recruitment of RDSS workers may include but is not limited to utilizing existing court volunteers, college students, senior citizens, off-duty human service professionals, off-duty police officers and in general adults interested in community services.

G. Pre-employment/Start-up Requirements for RDSS Workers

RDSS workers may not work with youth until they have successfully completed the new worker training sessions (See Section VIII). Exceptions may be given to individuals with credentials (degrees/pertinent experience) in the child caring field, but these must have prior approval from the RDSS Program Office. New workers will be required to attend the next available RDSS new worker training.

New workers cannot assume responsibility for a youth until they have met with their local court administrator.

H. Payment Procedures for Holdover, Jail, Home Detention and Transportation The case specific documentation required for payment varies for holdover, jail, home detention and transportation as outlined in the separate services and forms section of the RDSS Guidelines.

The MDHHS-1050-RDC, RDSS Voucher is used for RDSS holdover, jail, home detention and transportation payments. For holdover and transportation, this form should be submitted to the court administrator at the conclusion of the service provided. For home detention and electronic monitoring this form must be submitted monthly.

An RDSS worker serving several youths during any given time should submit a separate voucher for each youth (exceptions are allowed for more than one youth held in holdover at the same time, or youth transported at the same time).

An RDSS worker working in holdover and/or jail and/or home detention and/or electronic monitoring and/or transportation during any given time should submit a separate voucher for each service.

All RDSS workers working with a single youth for any given component should submit a separate voucher.

When completing the MDHHS-1050-RDC, RDSS Voucher please write clearly when filling out the form. *SPECIAL ATTENTION* should be given to the following items on the voucher to minimize RDSS corrections and avoid delayed payments:

- #3 Indicate the county you have signed up with for RDSS or in instances where an RDSS worker has signed with more than one county, indicate the county requesting service on that date.
- #9 Provide a brief description of service performed.

- #10 List starting and ending time for holdover, electronic monitoring, and transportation, including actual time (AM/PM) spent with the youth for home detention.
- #11 Mileage should be consistent with existing Michigan maps and be computed at current *state premium or county rates*. No vicinity mileage will be made.
- #13 **RECEIPTS ARE REQUIRED ON ALL MEAL EXPENDITURES OR REIMBURSEMENT WILL NOT BE MADE.** Receipts must include restaurant name and location, as well as the date and time of the meal. The receipts need to be itemized. Please indicate if the meal was for the youth, the transporters, by writing the names on the receipt.
- #14 Identify any miscellaneous expenditures, which must include a receipt.
- #15 Compute hourly rates for holdover and transportation or daily rates for home detention and electronic monitoring.

* Please compute totals for each line as well as totals at the bottom of each column.

The local court should keep **a copy of the MDHHS-1050-RDC, RDSS voucher** after it is approved by the probate judge, juvenile officer, or designee. A copy is to be given to the worker to retain for tax purposes. The original MDHHS-1050-RDC, RDSS Voucher and the casework specific documentation for each service should be submitted to the RDSS mailbox at <u>MDHHS-RDSS@michigan.gov</u> or via US mail at:

> Regional Detention Support Services 235 South Grand Ave, Suite 1315 Lansing, Michigan 48909

I. Additional Payment Information for RDSS Components

1. Jail/Holdover

- RDSS will pay the current rate of \$12.00/hr. for workers to monitor youth while they are being held in the jail or holdover site.
- RDSS will pay for meals up to the state approved meal rate for the youth and workers while the youth is in the holdover site/jail. Receipts **must** be submitted for reimbursement.
- RDSS will not pay mileage or time to and from the holdover site/jail for the worker traveling from his/her own home.
- 2. Home Detention

- RDSS will pay current rate of \$12.00/hr. for the home detention worker to see the youth once a day. A home visit must be one **hour** (unless otherwise specified by the court) as shown on the worker's RDSS voucher. Phone calls to the youth will not be reimbursed. (The time on the voucher should be reflective of time spent with the youth and should not include travel time).
- RDSS will reimburse for snacks and various social events such as sporting events, recreational activities (for example, bowling, mini golf, roller skating) and consumable items (such as small meals, chips, ice cream) only, not exceeding \$10.00 per week. Receipts may not be carried over from week to week. Non-consumable item purchases must be pre-approved by MDHHS prior to the purchase and approval must be attached to billing.
- Receipts are required for all expenditures. Youth may accompany the worker out of the home only with prior consent from the court worker.
- RDSS will pay the worker's mileage at current state premium rate to and from the youth's home.
- RDSS will pay the worker's time (at current RDSS rate of \$12.00/hr.) while the worker attends at a hearing if attendance is requested by the court or MDHHS. This appearance is in lieu of, not in addition to, the daily visit.

3. Detention Transportation

- RDSS will pay the worker the current rate of \$12.00/hr. during detention transportation. (Only approved workers qualify for payment).
- **RDSS will pay mileage at current state premium or county rates** (whichever is less) to transport a youth from court to court ordered secure detention centers.
- RDSS will **not** pay the transporters mileage for time from their home to the court. All mileage will be computed from the court to the designated secure detention center.
- RDSS **will** pay for transporting a youth to a placement interview and/or final placement from a secure detention center.
- If a transporter works for more than one county, the preceding payment schedule still applies (Mileage and time will start and end at the court for which they provide service on that day).
- Transporters **will** be paid map mileage to detention centers from the court of jurisdiction.

4. Electronic Monitoring

• RDSS **will** pay current rate \$12.00/hr. for an electronic monitoring visit (duties, requirements, and guidelines including home detention). RDSS **will** pay current rate \$12.00/hr. for dispositional electronic monitoring visits (for the *first seven days only*). NOTE: If a youth has been on home detention and electronic monitoring prior to disposition, no worker is needed for dispositional electronic monitoring.

- RDSS will reimburse for and various social events such as sporting events, recreational activities (for example, bowling, mini golf, roller skating) and consumable items (such as small meals, chips, ice cream) only, not exceeding \$10.00 per week. *Receipts are required for all expenditures*. Youth may accompany the worker out of the home *only with prior consent from the court worker*.
- RDSS **will** pay the worker's mileage at current state premium rate to and from the youth's home.
- RDSS **will** pay the worker's time (at current rate of \$12.00/hr.) while the worker attends a hearing *if attendance is requested by the court or MDHHS and the worker is not also providing and billing for a home detention visit on that day.*

SECTION II – HOLDOVER COMPONENT

A. Youth Eligible/Holdover Duration

Holdover sites are used in 61 rural counties (counties without a secure juvenile detention center) and in Native American tribal jurisdictions. In general, youth who are detained, and who cannot be returned home, may be held for up to 16 hours in a holdover pending a face-to-face meeting with a court worker, and/or a preliminary hearing. Procedurally, to be eligible, youth must either be charged with a new offense, or be on probation and have a complaint petition filed with the court or Native American tribal court. Youth identified as dual cases which involve adjudicated child abuse/neglect (NA) cases, are not to be held in holdover.

B. Holdover Extension Request

An eight-hour extension from 16 hours to a total of 24 hours in holdover, may be made in unusual situations with advance approval from the RDSS Program Office. During business hours court staff must call RDSS and ask for approval. **After business hours** court staff **must** call RDSS the following business day to obtain approval after the fact for holdover of more than 16 hours. Requests for payment over 24 hours will be approved on a case-by-case basis, primarily because a license is required to hold a youth in care over 24 hours. In the event the court elects to utilize holdover beyond 24 hours without advance approval, the fiscal responsibility may have to be assumed by the county.

C. Assignment of Holdover Worker(s)

Holdover workers normally provides one-on-one supervision. The worker must be of the same sex as the youth being supervised. If additional help might be required during holdover due to intoxication, drugs, incorrigibility, or there is any other reason to believe the youth is a high security risk, the court can use, at its own discretion, two or more workers, to supervise one youth. When more than one worker is utilized, at least one worker must be the same sex as the youth supervised.

RDSS will pay individual workers the current rate \$12.00/hr. for up to a maximum of 16 consecutive hours while in holdover. This 16 consecutive hour maximum also applies to any combination of service performed (including holdover, home detention and transportation).

Cost for meals/snacks for youth and worker will be reimbursed with receipts. Transportation costs for workers are not reimbursed for holdover unless a youth must be moved in an emergency from one location to another location during holdover supervision.

D. Site Selection, Remodeling and Supplies

Holdover sites must be in a non-secure area at a sheriff's office, state police post, county service center, detoxification center, community mental health center, local hospital, or similar facility. A worker provides one-on-one supervision. The county must obtain approval of the holdover site from RDSS staff as well as the administration of the host agency. The holdover site must have a couch or hide-a-bed for sleeping, a nearby bathroom, a nearby phone, and capability to prepare, have catered in or otherwise obtain meals/snacks. The holdover should be in or be adjacent to a 24 hour-a-day staffed agency for backup assistance in the event of an emergency.

E. Court and Law Enforcement

When a youth is taken into custody by law enforcement agency or court officer for a criminal or probation violation, and the youth cannot be returned home, authorization for use of holdover must be obtained from the local juvenile-judge, juvenile officer, or their designee, but not the local sheriff.

If holdover is approved, the juvenile judge, juvenile officer or designee should contact an appropriate holdover worker(s) and direct them to report to the holdover site. The law enforcement or juvenile court officer is to maintain custody of the youth at the holdover site until the holdover worker(s) arrives. Once the holdover worker arrives and assumes responsibility for the youth, **constant**, **direct supervision must** be provided to the youth until relief is authorized by the court. Workers are, under no circumstance, to sleep and/or nap while on duty in the holdover site. The youth should be made as comfortable as possible.

The court official authorizing holdover is responsible to ensure that a face-to-face meeting with the youth is made by a court worker and/or an informal or preliminary hearing is conducted within 24 hours.

RDSS does not support use of mechanical restraints, i.e., handcuffs, leg cuffs, straightjackets, etc., in holdover. Nonetheless, in the event a court elects to utilize mechanical restraints they are to be authorized only on an individual case basis. During business hours, the RDSS program office is to be contacted immediately to make staff aware of this use, or contact is to be made the first business day after if restraints are utilized on weekends or holidays. Written documentation on the need for restraints is to be submitted to the RDSS program office along with the holdover vouchers. No youth is to be handcuffed to a fixed object in the holdover site, as this constitutes a secure holdover/jailing. **Under no circumstances is the decision to utilize**

restraints left to RDSS workers but must be determined by court personnel. In the event the court elects to utilize mechanical restraints without following these guidelines or getting proper approval, the fiscal responsibility may have to be assumed by the court.

F. Worker Operation Procedures

The attendant should also address the following issues:

- Has the juvenile going into the holdover site been searched? (Verify with the deputy in charge or a "pat" search may be conducted, if approved by the juvenile court officer.)
- Has the youth been advised of his/her rights? (Verify with the deputy in charge. Workers should advise youth that anything the youth discloses must be shared with the juvenile court.)
- Have the parents been notified?
- Why is the youth being detained in the holdover site? (The worker should know why the youth is being held for the worker's own protection.)
- Are there any medical problems requiring medication/treatment? (Verify with the deputy in charge or with staff from the court/MDHHS. If medication/treatment is needed, check with court personnel or the deputy on duty for instruction.)
- Is the youth allowed to have visitors? (Verify with the deputy in charge or with staff from the court or MDHHS.)
- Personal effects of youth and worker should be in a safe, secure place. (Place personal effects in a locker, box or give them to the deputy in charge. Make a list of all articles taken from the youth.)
- Should the youth be provided with a meal or snack? When did the youth last eat anything of substance? (Arrange to have food brought to the holdover site, if necessary.)
- Ask the youth if he/she has any bruises or cuts. (Is medical attention required? If so, check with court personnel or the deputy for instructions. Find out how the bruises occurred and make a note of this.)
- Workers may have to sign a form at the holdover site accepting responsibility for the youth. (If worker is relieved by another worker, a new form may have to be signed accepting responsibility for the youth.)
- Any items brought to the youth by outsiders should be searched.
- If the juvenile becomes violent, having a drug reaction, or some other unusual incident occurs, the worker should notify the deputy and court personnel in charge.
- RDSS prefers the workers to be of the same sex as the youth. When two workers are required one of the workers should be of the same sex as the youth.
- The door to the holdover **must always remain unlocked**.
- Workers are responsible for the youth while he/she is in the holdover site. Workers are not allowed to sleep while on duty.
- Workers are not to be on duty for more than a maximum of 16 consecutive hours. This applies not only to consecutive hours in holdover, but includes any combination of on duty hours, including, holdover, home detention and transportation. The

court is fiscally responsible for payment of **any** hours over the 16 consecutive hours per attendant maximum.

SECTION III – JAIL

• Definition of Jail

Jail is defined as a facility that is locked and designed to securely hold a person. This definition has been adopted for Federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) monitoring purposes.

• Youth Eligible/Duration/Reporting

The use of jail with a worker can be funded for youth who are 15 years of age or older and are being charged with Class I Offenses (life felonies) including:

- assault with intent to murder.
- assault with intent to rob.
- attempted murder.
- murder I.
- murder II.
- criminal sexual conduct I.
- robbery armed.
- manuf., poss. intent to or delivery> 650 grams and 1 & 2.
- carjacking.

Alleged violent offenders may be held in jail for up to 16-hours pending a face-to-face meeting with a court worker and/or an informal hearing and/or a preliminary hearing.

NOTE: The basis for this 16-hour jail component is the federal OJJDP Guidelines, which permit a small, number less than 50 per year in Michigan's 61 rural counties without secure juvenile detention centers.

The use of jail for juveniles must be reported on the Monthly Juvenile Summary – County Locked Facility (Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC) reporting form), even in instances when RDSS workers are used. These forms can be found at:

https://michigancommitteeonjuvenilejustice.com/monthly-juvenile-reporting/

• Jail Extension Requests

The procedures for extending beyond 16-hours jail for alleged violent offenders are identical to extension requests for holdover. (See Section II for guidelines on holdover extension requests.)

• Assignment of Worker(s)/Payments

The assignment of workers and payments is identical to the procedures for holdover. Workers should follow the payment process outline in Section II for Guidelines on Assignment of Holdover Worker(s)/Payments.

• Site Selection, Remodeling and Supplies

Holdover sites must be in a non-secure area at a sheriff's office, state police post, county service center, detoxification center, community mental health center, local hospital, or similar facility. A worker must be present and provide one-on-one supervision for the child. The county must obtain approval of the holdover site from RDSS staff as well as the administration of the host agency. The holdover site must have a couch or hide-a-bed for sleeping, a nearby bathroom, a nearby phone, capability to prepare or have available meals/snacks. The holdover should be in or be adjacent to a 24 hour-a-day staffed agency for backup assistance in the event of an emergency.

• Court, Law Enforcement and Attendant Operating Procedures

The operating procedures are identical to holdover (see Section II). In addition, a Jail Monitoring Log **MUST** be maintained by the worker. A log entry should be made every 15 minutes indicating the behavior and/or the attitude of the juvenile in jail.

• Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment

In addition to the RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I for instructions), the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur:

- A copy of the police complaint or petition.
 - Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, a copy of a lien or documentation form the court/ MDHHS of alleged offenses may also be used.
- Jail Monitoring Log (see Appendix).

• Additional Payment Information for working in Jail

- RDSS will pay workers to monitor youth while they are being held in jail.
- RDSS will pay for meals and/or snacks for the youth and worker while the youth is in jail. Receipts must be submitted for reimbursement.
- RDSS will not pay mileage or time to and from the jail for the worker traveling to and from his/her own home.

SECTION IV – TRANSPORTATION COMPONENT

A. Eligible Counties

Eligible jurisdictions include the 61 rural counties in Michigan without a secure juvenile detention center and Native American Tribal jurisdictions.

B. Eligible Youth

Youth are eligible for the transportation component if they meet the requirements of Juvenile Court and if a probate court, Native American Tribal Court, or local MDHHS director is authorizing:

- Placement in one of the secure juvenile detention centers in Michigan.
- A trip to court or a placement interview from one of the secure detention centers.
- A return trip from court or placement interview to one of the secure detention centers.
- A trip from one of the secure detention centers to placement.
- Return of a runaway who has been picked up by authorities in another county.
- A trip from holdover to a doctor or hospital for **emergency** treatment.
- A trip from a detention center to a psychiatric examination or psychological examination.

C. Youth Not Eligible

Transportation costs will not be reimbursed for:

• Returning out-of-state youth arrested in Michigan to their home state. Likewise, transportation costs will not be reimbursed for returning to Michigan a Michigan youth arrested in another state.

NOTE: While local jurisdiction may assist in interstate transportation, the fiscal responsibility will have to be established on an individual basis by the separate jurisdictions via the Interstate Compact Administrator.

EXCEPTION: Counties that border on state lines may travel up to 50 miles into the state to pick up or return a runaway to county of residence.

- Transporting a youth to and from treatment programs at detention centers.
- Transporting youth from residential programs to court hearings.
- Transporting youth from secure detention to routine doctor and/or dental appointments.
- Picking up or dropping a youth off at his/her home.

D. Transporters and Attendants Eligible

The probate courts and Native American tribal Jurisdictions are responsible for recruiting their own transporters. Transporters must have a valid Michigan Driver's license and proper court identification and have contacted their automobile insurance company prior to transporting to insure adequate coverage.

E. Vehicles

It is the transporter's responsibility to assure the vehicle is safe and equipped with appropriate items, for example, spare tire, jack, lug wrench and safety flares. The transporter should have funds or a credit card for procurement of gasoline, motels and meals and start out with a full tank of gas. Seatbelts are to be in working order and always worn per Michigan state law.

F. Insurance

A privately owned vehicle used by a transporter must be insured in accordance with Michigan's no-fault law (Act NO. 294, P.A. 1972). Transporters are required to consult with their insurance agents before transporting youth in privately owned vehicles. Juvenile courts and Native American tribal courts (and MDHHS offices, as applicable) should verify transporters have the referenced car insurance and a valid Michigan operator's license.

If the probate court, Native American tribal court or local MDHHS office furnishes a vehicle for the transporter, the transporter remains personally liable for his/her actions even though the state/county fleet insurance policy provides coverage required under Michigan's no-fault law and/or its financial responsibility law.

G. Alternatives

Each jurisdiction may determine on an individual basis what transportation alternative is in the best interest of the youth and the court involved. In selected counties local MDHHS offices have made state cars available for RDSS transporters to utilize, instead of using personal vehicles.

If there are no local county transporters available, counties may also subcontract with other jurisdictions, to provide transportation. It is expected, however, that counties with trained transporters will make every effort to utilize their own transporters prior to contacting with counties.

H. Rates

Current state approved RDSS rates will be paid to each transporter during their working hours (for example, if an overnight stay is necessary, wages will not be paid when the transporters are not in transit and a youth is not in their custody). Overnights will be approved on an individual basis. Prior approval from RDSS staff is required for reimbursement for overnight lodging. If prior approval is not obtained, counties may have to assume fiscal responsibility for this expense. Mileage should be computed at current *state premium or county rates (whichever is less)*, using map mileage. Reimbursement for meals will be allowed only when following state approved guidelines:

- For each holdover assignment of each four consecutive hours of duration or more (not including travel time) the contractor may be reimbursed to the maximum of the stateapproved rate for meal expenses for the holdover worker(s). Reimbursement WILL NOT occur for meal expenses incurred before four consecutive hours.
- For each transportation assignment of four consecutive hours of duration or more (inclusive of time between youth pick-up and the end of the assignment), the worker may be reimbursed a maximum of the state-approved rate for meal expenses for the transporters. Transporters WILL NOT be reimbursed for meal expenses incurred before four consecutive hours. Itemized receipts must be attached with the worker's names included.
- County may be reimbursed up to the state-approved rate for meals for the youth when they are picked up and for each four consecutive hours thereafter with itemized receipts attached.

** Please see Appendix for detailed current rates. **

I. Security

- 1. Documentation: Transporters must attempt to verify the identification of persons being moved and should make note of what the youth is wearing; if he/she should escape a good description of the youth would be needed. Transporters should ensure that available detention orders, medication, medical release, and social history reports accompany youth to detention or to placement agencies following release from detention.
- **2. Communication:** Transporters should be notified of youth to be transported who may be sick, injured, handicapped, and suicidal or a security hazard and be given special handling instructions if a problem occurs. The following information should be provided to the point of destination prior to a youth being transported:
 - Names of the transporter, attendant and youth being conveyed.
 - Description of the care and the license plate number.
 - Route of travel.
 - Time of departure and estimated time of arrival.
- **3.** Same Sex Safeguard: The transporters must be of the same sex as the youth being conveyed.
- **4. Searches:** Youth should be checked (patted and pocket searched only) each time they come into the transporter's custody, including transport to and from court appearances by a person of the same sex. Vehicles should also be examined prior to transport to assure that potentially harmful or dangerous items are not present.
- 5. Youth Comfort: Youth should be made as comfortable as possible but secured as necessary. Although they should normally be permitted to communicate, transporters are trained not to discuss alleged offenses that are being contested. While care must be taken to allow reasonable opportunities for eating in transit and use of toilet facilities, youth should always remain under observation. Youth must be accompanied to the bathroom by a worker of the same sex.
- **6.** Transporters are not permitted to carry a concealed or open weapon of any kind while doing a transport of a youth.

Transporters should not allow a youth to smoke or provide cigarettes to youth under Michigan law. In consideration of this, transporters cannot smoke while transporting youth, or while a youth is in their care.

7. Need for Restraint Devices: In detention transportation situations, the use of mechanical restraint devices must be determined on an individual basis by court personnel. Under normal circumstances, the following youth should be transported

with a restraint device, unless there are clear indications that a restraint device is not necessary:

- Youth have a history of running away, or for whom their runaway history is unknown.
- Youth who appear anxious about an interview, hearing placement, etc., to which they are being transported.
- 8. Use of Handcuffs: Handcuffs should be double locked, so they do not tighten or loosen. Handcuffs should always be used in front of the body of a youth. While seated in the car, the arms of the youth should not be secured under the lap seat belt. One of the following alternatives should be used to limit the free use of arms in the vehicles:
 - One Youth: The youth to be transported should be placed on the passenger side of the car in the back seat. One transporter should sit in the back seat behind the driver.
 - Two Youth: One youth should be placed on the passenger side of the car in the back seat. The second youth should be placed in the middle seat of the car in the back seat. One transporter should sit in the back seat behind the driver.

J. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment

In addition to the MDHHS RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I for instructions) the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur:

- A court order for secure detention.
- A court order for detention is not required for nonresidents held in detention pending return to their county of residence.
- A copy of the police complaint or petition.

NOTE: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, a copy of a lien or documentation from the court/MDHHS may be used (documentation must include the alleged offense or the specific probation violation as well as the date of birth, sex, and race of the youth if the forms do not so indicate). This demographic data is needed for evaluation purposes.

K. Additional Payment Information for Transporters

- RDSS will pay the transporters current state approved rates during detention transportation. (Only approved transporters qualify for payment).
 RDSS will pay mileage at current state approved RDSS rates to transport a youth from the court to the detention center.
- RDSS will **not** pay the transporter and/or attendant mileage or time to and from his/her own home to and from the court. All mileage will be computed from the court (workstation) to the designated secure detention center.
- RDSS will pay for transporting a youth to a placement interview and/or final placement from a secure detention center.

- If a transporter works for more than one county, the preceding payment schedule still applies; mileage and time will start and end at the court requesting service.
- Transporters will be paid map mileage to secure detention centers from the court requesting service.
- RDSS requires prior approval for overnight lodging expenses. In the event prior approval is not possible, the court should contact RDSS immediately on the next normal working day. If prior approval is not obtained, the court may be fiscally responsible for any expenses occurred.

SECTION V – PRE-DISPOSITIONAL HOME DETENTION COMPONENT

A. Youth Eligible/Home Detention Duration

The RDSS model of home detention is designed for rural counties (counties without a secure juvenile detention center) and Native American tribal jurisdictions. In general, home detention is for youth who are detained and whose parents need additional adult supervisory assistance and/or the court needs additional information on the youth and family for dispositional purposes. In these situations, the youth may be returned to their own homes following a preliminary hearing under the supervision of a home detention worker for up to 90 days pending a formal adjudication and/or disposition hearing. To be eligible youth must be charged with an offense, be on probation and have a complaint/petition filed with the court or be charged with repeatedly running away from home. Youth who have been adjudicated by the court as are abuse/neglect victims must not to be ordered to be on home detention.

B. Home Detention Extension Requests

Home detention is designed to be short term in nature with the expectation that due process and disposition will be expedited – thus the 90-day limits on funding. It is recognized that some individual cases demand more time. Court staff may request extensions, if necessary, with justification. Rationale may include, but is not limited to, the following:

- The court schedules a hearing past the 90-day timeframe.
- More time is required to assess the youth/family to make a disposition.
- More time is required to find a placement.
- The youth is on a waiting list, which is likely to delay placement until a date outside the 90-day timeframe.

Home detention may not be used for any other purpose, including as a form of treatment for the child.

C. Assignment of Home Detention Worker/Payments

One-on-one supervision is normally provided by home detention workers, although occasionally two workers may be assigned to home detention cases, so that daily contacts with youth may be maintained in the absence of one of the workers. Normally, home detention workers are of the same sex as the youth being supervised. This is not a requirement, however, as the case dynamics may indicate, the supervision/case assessment may be enhanced with a

worker of the opposite sex. In this event precautions need to be taken to protect the worker and youth from exploitation or the appearance of the same.

Payment is based upon the current state approved rate plus, daily mileage to and from the worker's home. Out of pocket expenses of up to \$10.00 per week may be reimbursed with receipts for food items or for activities (food items, activities) with a youth during home detention. These expenditures may not be accumulated from week to week. Spending for non-consumable items must be approved by RDSS staff prior to expenditures.

D. Home Detention Operating Procedures

Youth receiving this service are required to have a preliminary hearing and a court order authorizing home detention. The court order should indicate the type of out of home placement, for example, shelter care, secure detention, or jail, would have been used if this service was not available, as well as the date set for the formal adjudication and/or disposition hearing, if known.

A contract should be signed by the youth, parents, and the court at the preliminary hearing, which outlines the conditions that must be followed during the period of home detention. (See Appendix for a sample copy of a contract.)

Home detention workers are expected to make a minimum of a daily face-to-face contact for one hour, with the youth and a nightly phone contact with the youth to ensure that the conditions of the contract, including curfew, are met. Additional contacts may be routinely made with the family, school, and employer, depending on the nature of the contract conditions and adjustment problems being experienced by the youth. A daily contact log is to be maintained by the home detention worker(s) and submitted to the court intermittently and/or at the conclusion of home detention. If a home detention worker is unable to make a daily contact, another home detention worker or court worker should make the face-to-face contact. An explanation of the contact person and circumstances should be noted on the billing or in an attached memorandum. Any exception to the daily face-to-face contact requirement by the worker or substitute worker must be explained to RDSS.

In the event a youth is not at home when the home detention worker makes the daily contact, the worker must notify the court. If the home detention worker makes a second visit and finds the youth, again, not home, the worker is to contact the court and receive new instructions as to whether the home detention will continue or be ended because of this breach of contract. If the court authorizes the worker to continue visits, the court must accept fiscal responsibility for subsequent "no show" contacts as RDSS will only be fiscally responsible for two visits when the youth is not at home. RDSS will pay mileage for subsequent "no show" visits but will not be responsible for the \$12 per day rate.

Prior to the final disposition hearing, or during the hearing, the home detention worker should review with the court the youth's adjustment during home detention, and offer, as appropriate,

recommendations on placement (own home/ probation, foster care, residential care, training school, etc.).

E. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment

In addition to the MDHHS RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I, pages 6-8, for instructions), the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur:

- A copy of the petition. **NOTE**: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, documentation from the court/MDHHS of alleged offenses may be used.
- A court order for home detention and the date of the formal adjudication/disposition hearing, if known.
- F. Additional Payment Information for Home Detention Workers
- RDSS will pay \$12 per day for the home detention worker to see the youth once a day. A home visit should be at least **an hour** (unless otherwise specified by the court) as shown on the worker's voucher (time on the voucher should be reflective of the time spent with the youth and should not include travel time).
- RDSS will pay for only two visits when the youth is not present for a face-to-face contact. After each "no show" visit the home detention worker must notify the court and after the second "no show" visit be advised by the court whether the home detention will continue. If the home detention continues, the court will be fiscally responsible for any subsequent "no show" visits. RDSS will pay mileage for these subsequent visits but will not be responsible for the \$12 per day rate.
- RDSS will reimburse for snacks and various social events not to exceed \$10.00 a week. Itemized receipts are required. The \$10 miscellaneous expenditure may not be accumulated, from week to week.
- RDSS will pay the workers mileage at **state premium or county rates (whichever is less)** to and from the youth's home.
- RDSS will pay the worker's time (at a \$12.00 per day rate) while they attend a hearing if attendance is requested by the court. This payment is in lieu of, not in addition to, the daily visit.

SECTION VI – DISPOSITIONAL USE OF HOME DETENTION COMPONENT LIMITED TO THE FIRST 30 DAYS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING DISPOSITION

A. Eligible Jurisdictions

Eligible jurisdictions include the 61 rural counties in Michigan and Native American tribal jurisdictions currently eligible for the RDSS program.

B. Eligible Youth

To be placed on Dispositional Home Detention a youth must have been adjudicated for a criminal or probation violation.

C. Assignment of Home Detention Worker/Payments

One-on-one supervision is to be provided by home detention workers who are the same gender as the youth being supervised. However, there may be situations when a worker of a different gender is used. In these cases, precautions must be taken to protect the worker and youth from exploitation or the appearance of the same.

Rate of payment is current state approved rate for one contact per day with the youth plus daily mileage to and from the worker's home.

D. Home Detention Operation Procedures

All youth receiving this service are required to have a dispositional hearing and a court order authorizing home detention.

The youth, parents, and the court must sign a contract, which outlines the conditions that are to be followed during the period of home detention. This contract must be signed at the Dispositional Hearing. (See Appendix for a sample copy of a contract.)

The duration of dispositional home detention is limited to the first 30 days following a dispositional hearing. Workers may determine to use the full 30 days or use a more flexible schedule. Flexibility could be, but is not limited to, seeing the youth every day for the first week immediately following the hearing, or seeing the youth every other day, three times a week, or only on weekends throughout the entire 30-day period.

RDSS WILL NOT PAY FOR:

- Multiple visits in one day.
- Visits occurring more often than one in the first 30-days following a Dispositional Hearing.

No exceptions will be granted if these additional visits occur.

Home detention workers are expected to make a minimum of a daily face-to-face contact with the youth. A daily contact log is to be maintained by the home detention worker and be submitted to the court intermittently and/or at the conclusion of the home detention. (See Appendix for a sample copy of the daily contact log.)

In the event a youth is not at home when the home detention worker attempts to make this contact, the home detention worker is to notify the court. If the home detention worker makes another attempt which is not successful, the worker must contact the court and receive new instructions as to whether the home detention will continue, or not as the result of this breach of contract. If the court authorizes the home detention worker to continue visits, the court must accept fiscal responsibility for subsequent "no show" contacts as RDSS will only be fiscally responsible for two visits when the youth is not home. RDSS will pay mileage for subsequent "no show" visits but will not be responsible for the current rate.

The \$10.00 weekly, miscellaneous expenditure for consumable item/activities may NOT be utilized for this component.

E. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment

In addition to the RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I for instructions), the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur:

- A copy of the petition.
 NOTE: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, documentation from the court/MDHHS of alleged offenses may be used with RDSS approval.
- A court order for home detention.
- F. Additional Payment Information for Home Detention Workers
- RDSS will pay the current daily rate for the worker to see the youth daily. A home visit should normally be at least an hour as shown on the worker's voucher. (Time on the voucher should reflect the time spent with the youth and should not include travel time).
- RDSS will only pay for two visits when the youth is not there for a face-to-face contact.
- RDSS will pay the workers mileage at **state premium or county rates (whichever is less)** to and from the youth's home.
- No weekly, miscellaneous expenditures are authorized.
- RDSS will only pay for a worker's attendance at the youth's court hearing if it is in lieu of a daily visit and included as one of the 30 approved visits.

SECTION VII – FLEXIBLE SCHEDULE FOR PRE-DISPOSITIONAL HOME DETENTION VISITS

The existing home detention component may be modified to allow a flexible schedule for visits as opposed to the required daily visits. Court/MDHHS workers have the flexibility to determine if a youth is to be seen daily or on a more flexible schedule between the preliminary hearing and dispositional hearing. Flexibility could be, but is not limited to:

- Seeing the youth every day immediately following the preliminary hearing, then tapering off to only as often as needed.
- Seeing the youth every other day, three times a week.
- Seeing the child only on weekends, throughout the entire period.

In no case will a youth be seen more than once a day.

If a Court/MDHHS worker elects to implement the flexible schedule visits plan, the weekly \$10.00 expenditure for consumable items/activities cannot be used.

All case specific documentation requirements remain in place. All existing rules and requirements of Home Detention are applicable.

SECTION VIII – TRAINING COMPONENT FOR HOLDOVER, HOME DETENTION, TRANSPORTATION AND CPR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

A. RDSS Training Sessions - Dates and Locations Announced Periodically

It is essential that new RDSS workers receive training which will enable them to respond to the youth who are assigned to them through the RDSS program. Training will be available to all new recruited workers. Announcements will be distributed periodically with the dates and locations of orientation and training sessions. Approximately 30-35 people will be trained at one time, and attendance will be determined by allocations and training needs. Training venues will be determined by the areas of need. RDSS Training will be required every five years, regardless of volunteer services provided, for example, holdover attendants, transporters, and home detention workers.

Training content will include:

- Transportation Safety, Rules, and Guidelines.
- Improving communication skills and De-Escalation Techniques.
- Volunteer and Youth Relationships.
- Home Detention Visits and Safety.
- Proper Use of Mechanical Restraints.

Training attendees will be paid for each day of training as well as mileage. Lodging and meals at training will be provided directly without cost to the workers.

B. Regional Ongoing Training with New Workers on an Ongoing Basis

As part of the total training package regional meetings will be held on an intermittent basis with RDSS staff and local court staff responsible for administering the program to gain feedback, to problem-solve and ensure ongoing training. Training attendees can share experiences with workers from other counties.

Training attendees will be paid per day, receive mileage, lodging and meals for their participation-

C. Funding for Ongoing Local Training for RDSS Workers

Workers are also expected to seek out ongoing training based on their needs. These trainings can be purchased from local community colleges, private agencies, the Red Cross, or others. Training may also include online trainings, or utilizing trainings offered through local courts. RDSS staff must approve these training options, and workers must submit requests to conduct training estimating the cost involved.

Prior approval from RDSS staff must, be received for training expenditures to be reimbursed.

RDSS workers will be paid per day plus mileage and meals for each day of approved training attended. Overnight lodging will not be approved.

- D. Obtain a valid certification for cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
- New employees must obtain certification within three months of providing RDSS services.
- Existing employees must obtain certification by March 31, 2024.
- Proof of certification must be provided to the county court office and to the MDHHS-RDSS Program office at <u>MDHHS-RDSS@michigan.gov</u>.
- Certification must be renewed every two years. Proof of updated certification must be provided to the county court office and to the MDHHS-RDSS Program office at <u>MDHHS-RDSS@michigan.gov.</u>

SECTION IX – PRE-DISPOSITIONAL ELECTRONIC MONITORING COMPONENT

A. Eligible Jurisdictions

Eligible jurisdictions include the 61 rural counties in Michigan without a secure juvenile detention center and Native American tribal jurisdictions.

B. Eligible Youth/Duration

This component is an extension of the home detention program, and basic guidelines for home detention apply (see RDSS Guidelines, Home Detention Component – Section V).

Youth **must** be placed on home detention before electronic monitoring can be utilized. Eligibility requires:

- Youth are charged with an offense so serious that release would endanger public safety; or
- Youth targeted for a detention center or a jail and could not be maintained on home detention without this added surveillance.

Electronic monitoring (EM) is designed to be short term in nature, so the same 30-day limit for home detention will apply. Court staff may request two-week extensions with justification, as in home detention. Rationale could be the same as in the home detention component (see Section IV).

C. Continued Use of Home Detention Workers

The Wearable Miniature Tracking Device (WMTD) is an extension of the Home Detention Program. Courts are to continue to utilize home detention workers daily and all requirements of the home detention worker apply. In addition to the normal requirements, workers should evaluate the WMTD for any signs of tampering, which should be reported to the court immediately. The court should then notify RDSS.

D. Electronic Monitoring Procedures

- All youth assigned to the WMTD Component must have a preliminary hearing and a court order ordering home detention and the use of electronic monitoring. The court order should indicate the date set for the formal adjudication and/or dispositional hearing, if known.
- A home detention contract for youth and parents (guardians), an electronic monitoring agreement for parents and the electronic monitoring rules and regulations for youth must be signed by the youth, parents (guardians) and the court at the preliminary hearing that outlines the conditions, which must be followed during the period of home detention and electronic monitoring (see Appendix for samples of these forms).
- The court Juvenile Officer or MDHHS worker will call RDSS at 517-335-6144, with the request for the use of the WMTD, and provide:
 - The youth's name, Social Security number, birth date, sex, race, offense, home telephone number and county, home address, curfew schedule and the date and time requested for the WMTD to commence, and
 - The name and daytime telephone number, email for tether alerts, fax number and the after-hours telephone number of the court Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker authorized to make curfew changes and to be contacted in the event of equipment failure or violations.
 - RDSS will contact the appropriate RDSS technician indicating which county has requested the WMTD and verify the availability of the technician.
 - RDSS will contact the Juvenile Officer/MDHHS worker to verify that a technician will be available to meet with him/her on the date and time requested for installation.
 - The RDSS technician will meet with the Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker and proceed to meet with the youth and family, hook up the WMTD device, explain the rules and procedures and answer any questions.
 - If curfew changes are necessary after normal business hours, the Juvenile Officer or designee will call or email MDOC with curfew information at 1-800-877-5664 or <u>CORREMC@michigan.gov</u>.
 - The Home Detention Worker will check the device daily for signs of tampering and report any signs of tampering to the court. If equipment trouble develops or a tamper alert occurs, call MDOC at 1 (800) 877-5664 for assistance and troubleshooting. If they are unable to resolve the issue, the Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS must call RDSS to request the assistance of the tether technician.
 - To obtain access to the monitoring system to view GPS maps, the Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker must provide the following information to RDSS:
 - \circ $\:$ Is this a NEW ACCESS or a PASSWORD RESET.
 - o Full name.
 - Email address.
 - \circ $\;$ Login ID (two to three initials and last four digits of SSN).

Temporary passwords must be used within three days, or the password will no longer be valid and require a password reset.

Juvenile Court Officers or MDHHS workers will receive automated email notification of any tether problems or tampering via email. At the end of the WMTD monitoring period, the Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker must call RDSS to have a tether technician remove the tether equipment. RDSS will contact the tether technician to remove and pick up the device.

Note: The contractor MUST arrange for removal of the electronic monitoring unit from youth before the youth is sent to a detention facility.

E. Case Specific Documentation for Payment

Since this component is in conjunction with Home Detention, the same case specific documents are required, in addition to language in the court order specific to electronic monitoring.

SECTION X – FLEXIBLE SCHEDULE FOR PRE-DISPOSITIONAL HOME DETENTION VISITS IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE ELECTRONIC MONITORING COMPONENT

The existing pre-dispositional WMTD component may be modified to allow court/MDHHS workers to determine whether to include daily home detention visits. Court/MDHHS workers may determine if a youth is to be seen:

- Daily.
- On a more flexible schedule between the preliminary hearing and dispositional hearing as outlined in Section XI.
- For the first seven days only as required with the Dispositional WMTD Component.

Note: If a flexible schedule of visits is elected, the plan must include the provision to see the youth for the first seven consecutive days as required in the existing Dispositional WMTD Component (Section VIII).

Court/MDHHS workers must provide to RDSS staff at the time of tether enrollment, which type of Home Detention will be utilized, or if the visits will be restricted to the first seven days only.

If a court/MDHHS worker elects to implement the flexible schedule visits plan, the weekly \$10.00 expenditure for consumable items/activities may NOT be utilized.

All cases specific documentation requirements remain in place. All existing rules and requirements of Home Detention are applicable.

SECTION XI - DISPOSITIONAL USE OF ELECTRONIC MONITORING (EM) COMPONENT

A. Eligible Jurisdictions

Eligible jurisdictions include the 61 rural counties in Michigan without a secure juvenile detention center and Native American tribal jurisdictions.

B. Eligible Youth

The following criteria must be met to place a youth on probation with a WMTD component on a post-dispositional basis:

- The youth must have been adjudicated for a law violation or a probation violation.
- The youth must either have been placed on home detention with (EM) for at least one week prior to the dispositional hearing or the youth must be placed on WMTD at this dispositional hearing with a RDSS worker for the first week to:
 - Ensure the WMTD device is working properly.
 - To determine the youth can benefit from EM.
 - To determine that the family will comply with the EM conditions.
- The youth must be targeted for jail or detention on a dispositional basis, or targeted for a foster home, group home or other public or private residential placement.

C. Duration

Court ordered probation combined with EM can be utilized for up to 90 days. This period can be extended following a court-ordered review hearing with documentation of rationale sent to RDSS.

D. EM Procedures

- All youth ordered on probation and EM must have a dispositional hearing and the COURT ORDER MUST DOCUMENT THE YOUTH IS TARGETED FOR JAIL, DETENTION, A FOSTER HOME, GROUP HOME OR OTHER PUBLIC OR PRIVATE RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT PROGRAM and state probation combined with EM is an alternative to that placement. The court order should also specify the expected length of time for EM and, if possible, a projected review date of the order.
- To clarify the conditions of EM, the following should be signed by the youth, parents (guardians), and the court at the disposition hearing (see Appendix for sample of these forms):
 - An EM agreement for parents (guardians).
 - An EM rules and regulations for youth.
- The court Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker will call RDSS at 517-335-6144 with the request for the use of WMTD, giving the following information:

- The youth's name, Social Security number, birth date, sex, race, offense, home telephone number and county, home address, curfew schedule and the date and time requested for EM to commence.
- The name and daytime telephone number, email for tether alerts, fax number and the after-hours telephone number of the court Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker authorized to make curfew changes and to be contacted in the event of equipment failure or violations.
- RDSS will contact the appropriate RDSS technician indicating which county has requested EM and verify the availability of the technician.
- RDSS will contact the Juvenile Court Officer/MDHHS worker to verify that a technician will be available to meet with him/her on the date and time requested for installation.
- The RDSS technician will meet with the Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker and proceed to meet with the youth and family, hook up the WMTD device, explain the rules and procedures and answer any questions.
- If curfew changes are necessary after normal business hours, the Juvenile Officer or designee will call or email DOC with curfew information at 800-877-5664 or <u>CORREMC@michigan.gov</u>.
- The Home Detention Worker will check the device daily for signs of tampering and report any signs of tampering to the court.
 - If equipment trouble develops or a tamper alert occurs, workers must call DOC at 1-800-877-5664 for assistance and troubleshooting.
 - If they are unable to resolve the issue, the Juvenile Court Officer must call RDSS to request the assistance of the tether technician.
- Juvenile Court Officers, or MDHHS workers will receive automated email notification of any tether problems or tampering via email.
- At the end of EM period, the Juvenile Court Officer or MDHHS worker must call RDSS to have a tether technician remove the tether equipment.
- RDSS will contact the tether technician to remove and pick up the device.
- The family and court will then evaluate the use of EM, supplying RDSS with a copy of the evaluations. (See Appendix for samples of these forms).

Note: The contractor MUST arrange for removal of the electronic monitoring unit from youth before the youth is sent to a detention facility.

SECTION XII - USE OF ELECTRONIC MONITORING ON RETURN FROM LONG TERM RESIDENTIAL PLACEMENT

LIMITED TO THE FIRST 30 DAYS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING RETURN FROM PLACEMENT

A. Eligible Jurisdictions

Eligible jurisdictions include the 61 rural counties in Michigan and Native American tribal jurisdictions currently eligible for the RDSS program.

B. Eligible Youth

To be eligible youth must have been adjudicated for a law violation or a probation violation and be returning from long term (minimum of 60 days) residential placement.

C. Electronic Monitoring Operating Procedures

All youth receiving this service are required to have a dispositional hearing and a court order authorizing Electronic Monitoring (EM).

All guidelines and requirements for post-dispositional use of EM (See RDSS Guidelines, Section VIII) are to be followed including, but not limited to:

- Contracts for both the youth and parents must be signed.
- The name and phone number of a 24-hour contact person who can respond to youth tether violations must be on file with RDSS.
- The assignment of a RDSS trained volunteer to monitor the tether unit for the first seven days only to ensure the equipment is working properly and the youth and family are adjusting to the EM system.

The duration of EM for youth returning from residential placement is limited to the first 30 days immediately following their return to the community.

IN NO CASE WILL RDSS PAY A YOUTH TO BE ON TETHER FOR MORE THAN HE ALLOTTED 30 DAY PERIOD. NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE GRANTED.

D. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment

In addition to the RDSS Voucher that is used for payment, the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur:

- Copy of the petition.
- Court order for Electronic Monitoring.

SECTION XIII - REGIONAL DETENTION SUPPORT SERVICES - PERSONAL SAFETY DURING HOME DETENTION VISITS

A. Information the Court Should Provide

- Specific directions to the home.
- Phone number.
- Youth's offense/history with the court.
- Names of those living in the home.
- Whether substance use may be occurring in the home or known excessive alcohol or drug abuse in the home.
- Behaviors of youth and family toward court.
- Whether animals are in the home, and if they present safety concerns.

B. General Safety Issues

- Lock valuables in the trunk.
- Provide supervisor/other with your schedule especially if going to a remote area.
- Keep car doors locked when traveling.
- Carry a cell phone, if you have one.
- Avoid parking in the driveway, whenever possible.

C. Your Personal Checklist

- Remember your goal is to remain safe and to ensure for the safety of the youth.
- Remain respectful of the home and its residents.
- Dress neat and appropriate, but comfortable and functional.
- Minimize what you take into the home. For example, leave large and/or unnecessary items in the vehicle.

D. Arrival at Home

- Be thoughtful about where you park, avoid driveways when possible, and try to park so that your vehicle faces the street. Carefully decide where to park car, lock your vehicle.
- Evaluate your surroundings and remain aware of animals, number of cars, people hanging around, neighbors in their yard, and signs of heavy drinking.
- Stay confident, introduce yourself politely and show ID. If a youth answers the door, ask for an adult. Assess the attitude and demeanor of adult.
- Ask to meet with the juvenile.

E. Inside the Home

- Remain aware.
- Identify the number of people in the home, and assess their attitude and interactions (for example, does anyone appear agitated, or under the influence of drugs, or alcohol).
- Always be aware of the location of the exits.
- Observe and avoid any safety concerns that may be present in the home.

- Ask if there are any weapons in the home (be observant if anything you see could be used as a weapon)
- If you become uncomfortable with the location of your meeting, ask to move to a different area of the home (for example, an outside porch), where you may feel more at ease.
- Continually assess the atmosphere –if in doubt-leave.

F. Departure

- Have vehicle keys handy.
- Assess your vehicle's condition and/or if anyone is near it.
- Be sure nothing is blocking the vehicle's exit.
- Report anything unusual to your worker.

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGIONAL DETENTION SUPPORT SERVICES ELECTRONIC MONITORING (EM) FACT SHEET

The youth must always STAY INSIDE THE INCLUSION ZONE, except during approved time out.

• The inclusion zone is a geographic area like home, work, school where the offender is confined during a set schedule. The inclusion zones are determined by the Juvenile Court worker or the MDHHS worker and can only be modified by the MDOC or the RDSS program office with their approval.

<u>Please be sure to provide and review the following information with the youth who will be</u> <u>wearing the EM device.</u>

The device that is attached to the ankle is part of a computerized electronic monitoring system that uses Global Positioning Systems (GPS). *It sends out signals.*

The EM device is not waterproof. Showers are fine, but do not immerse in bath.

Responding to Vibrations/LEDs Flashing

- 1. You will feel three consecutive vibrations to inform you of an alarm. Look to see what LED is flashing to alert you of what you need to do:
 - A. RED PWR flashing Charge the device. Once fully charged it will vibrate once and the PWR LED will be solid green. Remove the charger.
 - B. RED GPS flashing Walk outside with the device uncovered to an area with a clear view of the sky. Do not stand under trees, building awnings, etc. When the alarm has cleared, the GPS LED will be off.
 - C. RED ZONE Either leave the location where you are not permitted to be or go to the location where you are scheduled to be. When the alarm has cleared, the Zone LED will be off.
 - D. RED PWR, GPS, ZONE The officer has sent an alert for you to contact them. Press the Acknowledge button to acknowledge the alert. The GPS and ZONE LEDs will stop flashing and be off. The PWR LED will be flashing green. Call 866-936-8477 and advise the operator that you are wearing a device, and someone sent you an alert.

The computer is monitored 24 hours a day. It will provide the staff on duty updates on the location of the youth, including when a leave from home or a return home occurs. Youth will be provided specific times when they can leave and specific times they must return. Anytime a

person returns late or leaves early, the computer will notify the staff on duty. Monitoring staff will also be notified of any attempts to remove the tether, or any attempts to tamper with the transmitter or the band in any way.

If staff are alerted that the youth has left home before curfew, returned late, or attempted to tamper with the transmitter or any of the equipment in the house, it will be considered in violation of the rules of the program.

APPENDIX – FORMS

_____COUNTY PROBATE COURT AGREEMENT FOR RDSS QUASI-VOLUNTEERS

This agreement by and between the Probate Court of the County of ______and _____and _____manifests the following understanding and agreements.

The Probate Court for the County of ______and the Regional Detention Support Services (RDSS) has entered into agreement for non-secure holdover, home detention, transportation, and electronic monitoring services. The intent of the program being to maintain the low number of youths placed in jail pending a preliminary hearing or other hearings and to provide alternatives to secure detention for youth.

The Court hereby retains ______to provide services as a RDSS quasi-volunteer consistent with the written policies of RDSS and the Court.

The volunteer acknowledges that he/she is not an employee of the County or the State of Michigan and that no income tax or social security will be withheld from payments made to the volunteer. Further, the volunteer is considered, and individual contractor and no fringe benefits will be provided. The volunteer is not responsible for being available at any given time nor shall the court be responsible for providing any work at all for the volunteer.

The court shall, following submission of the appropriate forms and documentation, forward the documentation to the Supervisor, Regional Detention Support Services, for payment of the current rate per hour for the hours of services rendered as a holdover attendant and transporter and \$12.00 per day plus appropriate expenses as a home detention/electronic monitoring worker. Mileage at current state approved RDSS rates will be paid for transportation and travel for home detention visits.

The terms of this Agreement are from ______to _____. This can be submitted 'terminated without cause' upon fifteen days prior written notice by either party or upon termination of the RDSS program.

This agreement may not be assigned or otherwise modified except by written amendment by the parties.

 Attendant	
 Juvenile Officer	Date
 Judge of Probate	Date

HOME DETENTION CONTRACT FOR YOUTH AND PARENTS

I, ______, will obey the rules of this Home Detention contract, which are checked below. I further agree to obey the laws of this community, keep appointments on time, and cooperate with my parent(s), Home Detention Worker and Probation Officer or Social Worker as part of this contract. I understand that breaking any of these rules could cause me to be placed in the Regional Detention Center.

<u>Residence</u>

	_1.	I will remain at my place of residence at all times of the day and night.
	_2.	I will leave my residence only during school hours,
	_3.	I will leave my residence only during work hours,
	_4.	I will leave my residence only when my parent(s) or In-Home Detention Worker is with me.
	_5.	I will leave my residence only on weekends and only with the permission of my parent(s) and In-Home Detention Worker.
	_6.	I will leave my place of residence only with the permission of my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker.
<u>Hours</u>		
	_7.	I will obey the hours set for me daily by my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker.
	_8.	If given the permission of my parent(s) and In-Home Detention Worker to leave my residence, I will return to my residence no later than the following curfew:
		Sunday through Thursday Friday and Saturday

School Work

- 9. I will attend school and all my classes every day; I will do my work and not cause behavior problems while there or interfere with the education of others. I will attend school every day unless my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker gives me permission to remain at home, for reasons of illness.
- _____10. I will be at work every day and not cause behavioral problems, or interfere with

other workers or customers, while there. I will be at work every day unless my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker give me permission to remain at home, for reasons of illness.

Driving

11.	I will not drive a car or other motorized vehicle.
12.	I will drive a car or other motorized vehicle only when my parent(s) or Home Detention Worker is with me.
13.	I will drive a car or other motorized vehicle only when given permission by my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker.
<u>Associates</u>	
14.	I will participate in activities with other persons only if given prior permission by my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker.
15.	I will not associate with persons whom my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker prohibit me from seeing.
16.	Specifically, I will not associate with the following persons:

Activities

_____17. I will participate in the following activities as a part of this agreement:

_____18. I will not participate in the following activities as part of this agreement:

<u>Other</u>

19. This Ag	reement will be in effect from	through	·
Place of Residence: _			•

Signature of Juvenile

Date

Signature of Juvenile Court Officer

Signature of Parent(s)

Signature of Home Detention Worker

Signature of Judge/Referee

ELECTRONIC MONITORING FOR PARENTS

We understand that for our son/daughter to participate in the Electronic Monitoring Program we must agree to do the following:

- 1. To allow our son/daughter to remain at home under the close supervision of the EM equipment.
- 2. To not to tamper with or destroy any of the EM equipment.

7 Othor

- 3. To not to remove any of the EM equipment from the youth or the home.
- 4. To not to remove the youth from the home without first obtaining approval from the juvenile court officer (this includes, but is not limited to, shopping trips, visit with relatives and other family outings). If an emergency arises, such as a medical emergency, whereby the youth must be removed from the home, we will notify the juvenile court officer as soon as possible.
- 5. To notify the juvenile court officer immediately if the youth is absent from the home during unapproved periods of time.
- 6. To notify the juvenile court officer immediately if the youth engages in any illegal activities, violates any federal or state law or violates any municipal ordinance.

7. Other		
	Signature of Parent	Date
	Signature of Parent	Date
	Signature of Guardian	Date
	Signature of JCO	Date

ELECTRONIC MONITORING PROGRAM RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR YOUTH

As a participant of the Electronic Monitoring Program, you will be required to follow these rules and regulations, in addition to the other terms of your community case specific plan.

- 1. You will always wear the EM tether transmitter until removed by the technician. You are not to damage, tamper with or remove the transmitter.
- 2. You will stay at your approved residence except during those hours as designated by your juvenile court officer.
- 3. You will leave home and go places for which only you have received prior approval by your juvenile court officer or MDHHS worker. Adjustments of curfew must be completed in advance by you and your juvenile court officer or MDHHS worker.
- 4. You or your parent/guardian will immediately call your juvenile court officer or MDHHS worker to report equipment malfunction.
- 5. You are financially responsible for any intentional damage to the WMTD equipment and you are subject to criminal prosecution if you intentionally damage the equipment. If you run away and the equipment is not returned, you may be subject to criminal prosecution for the theft of state property upon apprehension and be held financially responsible for the lost equipment. The cost of a tether device is determined after evaluation of damages and estimated repair or replacement.
- 6. If you submerge the WMTD equipment in water (i.e., by going swimming) you will be financially responsible for the damage.
- 7. You will permit the juvenile court officer, MDHHS worker and/or tether technician to inspect the electronic monitoring transmitter for tampering.

I have read or have had read to me the above rules and regulations and have received a copy. I fully understand these terms or instructions and agree to abide by them. Violation of these terms or instruction may result in my immediate detention and violation of probation.

 Signature	Date
 Witness	Date

JUVENILE OFFICER OR JUVENILE COURT CASEWORER EVALUATION ELECTRONIC MONITORING SUMMARY

Youth's Name	County
Dates of Electronic Monitoring	
Evaluation by Family:	
Evaluation by Court:	
Comments:	
Electronic Monitoring SuccessfulElectronic	Monitoring Unsuccessful
Did youth attend the scheduled adjudication/dis	position hearing?
At completion was youth jailed	
At completion was youth placed in Detention	

Signed_____Date____

CURRENT RDSS RATES (January 1, 2023)

RDSS

- Hourly rate for holdover \$12.00 per hour (no mileage paid).
- Hourly rate for transporters \$12.00 per hour plus mileage.
- Home Detention visits (60 minutes) \$12.00 per day plus mileage.
 \$10.00 per week may be spent on social activities and consumable items only.
- Hourly rate for tether technicians \$12.00 per hour plus mileage.
- Mileage Rate Current State Approved Rate or County Rate, whichever is less.
- Meals for youth and RDSS volunteers (please see table below)
 - \$9.75 after four consecutive hours for breakfast and lunch.
 - \$22.00 after four consecutive hours for dinner

Reimbursable Meal	Travel begins before	And travel extends past
Breakfast	6:00 a.m.	8:30 a.m.
Lunch	11:30 a.m.	2:00 p.m.
Dinner	5:30 p.m.	8:00 p.m.

• Training -- \$12.00 per DAY.

MEALS DURING TRAINING (OVERNIGHT)

Breakfast \$9.75 Lunch \$9.75 Dinner \$22.00

TAX INFORMATION

You are responsible for reporting RDSS income for tax purposes. Unless you earn over \$600.00 the Michigan Treasury Department does not send out a statement of earnings. In addition, there are no deductions taken out of the RDSS checks. Therefore, we recommend you retain a copy of all your check stubs as well as your vouchers.

Taxes are the sole responsibility of the RDSS Contract provider. Neither the State of Michigan nor the County Offices are responsible for the taxes of the RDSS contractors.