Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Program Policy Division PO Box 30809
Lansing MI 48909

M&DHHS

Michigan Department or Health & Human Services

<Provider Name>

<Provider Address 1>

<Provider Address 2>

<City> <State> zipcode5-zipcode4

Dear Provider:

RE: Direct Care Worker Wage Increase

September 27, 2023

Pursuant to Public Act 119 of 2023, the Michigan Department of Health and Human
Services (MDHHS) will implement a wage increase for direct care workers, to be included
on an ongoing basis. This applies to the MDHHS programs and service codes listed

below:
Program Services Related HCPCS Codes
Name
MI Choice Community Living Supports, Respite, | H2015, H2016, S5150, S5151,
Waiver Adult Day Health S5100, S5101, S5102

MI Health Link Expanded Community Living
Supports, Personal Care, Respite,
Adult Day Program

H2015, S5150, T1019, S5100,
S5101, S5102

Behavioral Community Living Supports
Health Overnight Health and Safety
Supports

Personal Care

Prevocational Services

Respite

Skill Building

ABA Adaptive Behavior Treatment
ABA Group Adaptive Behavior
Treatment

ABA Exposure Adaptive Treatment
Crisis Residential Services
Residential Services -SUD
Residential Services — Co-occurring
SUD/MH

Withdrawal Management — SUD
Supported Employment

97153, 97154, 0373T, H2025,
HO0019, HO010, HO012,
HO0014, HO018, H2014,
H2015, H2016, T2027, T1020,
12015, S5151, T1005, H2023
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General Wage Increase Requirements

The wage increase applies for services provided October 1, 2023, forward and is
intended to cover an additional $0.85 per hour increase in direct care worker wages,
along with an additional $0.11 per hour for agencies to cover their costs associated
with implementing this increase.

This amount supplements the $2.35 per hour increase (plus an additional $0.29 for
agencies) previously appropriated for direct care worker wage increases, bringing the
total to $3.20 per hour for direct care workers and an additional $0.40 per hour for
agencies.

The $3.20 per hour should be a base wage increase paid in addition to the worker’s
regular wage but cannot be less than the wage being received by, or the starting wage
offered to, a qualifying direct care worker on March 1, 2020.

The $3.20 per hour payment must be applied entirely to direct care worker wages.

The $3.20 and $0.40 per hour amounts may be implemented by an equivalent as
divided per billing unit.

o Factoring in the prior year DCW wage increases, in addition to the FY24
increase, the payment would be $0.80 per 15-minute unit for the direct care
worker, and $0.10 per 15-minute unit for the additional agency cost, totaling
$0.90 per 15-minute unit attributed to the DCW wage increase and employer
costs.

Effective October 1, 2023, this wage increase, along with previously
appropriated direct care wage increases (totaling $3.20 per hour), should
also be applied to direct care worker’s indirect/administrative time
(necessary time for the worker to complete associated direct care
paperwork) and overtime.

o Overtime compensation for non-exempt employees is eligible for
reimbursement at a rate of $4.80 per hour for FY24.

o Agencies would receive an additional $0.60 per overtime hour to cover their
additional costs associated with implementing this increase, making the total
for overtime payments $5.40 per hour including the $4.80 per hour to the
direct care worker and $0.60 per hour to the employer.

o When overtime is billed in 15-minute units, the DCW would receive an
additional $1.20 per overtime 15-minute unit and the employer would
receive and addition $0.15 per overtime 15-minute unit, for a total of $1.35
per 15-minute overtime unit.
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Recordkeeping Requirements

o Providers must retain and be able to submit documentation upon request that
supports the distribution to direct care workers and that payments were made in
accordance with the requirements in this letter.

e A direct care worker may choose to not receive the wage increase. This choice
must be indicated in writing or electronically. This individual's employer must give
back to the entity paying for services, as described in the table above, any funds
allocated for this individual’s wage increase.

Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs), Adult Foster Care (AFC) Homes and Homes for the
Aged (HFAs)

SNFs, AFC homes and HFAs should follow guidance and reporting instructions provided
on the MDHHS Coronavirus webpage at: https://www.michigan.gov/coronavirus/0,9753,7-
406-98178 100722---,00.html under the Staffing tab and the “Direct Care Worker
Resources” heading.

If you have questions, you can call Provider Support at 1-800-979-4662 or e-mail them at
providersupport@michigan.gov.

An electronic version of this document is available at www.michigan.gov/medicaidproviders >>
Policy, Letters & Forms.

Sincerely,

(o)

Meghan E. Groen, Director
Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration
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