Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Program Policy Division PO Box 30809

Lansing Ml 48909

<Provider Name>

<Provider Address 1>
<Provider Address 2>

M&DHHS
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Dear Provider:

RE: Direct Care Worker Wage Increase

September 26, 2024

This letter replaces Numbered Letter L 24-29, that was sent on May 9, 2024. Pursuant to Public
Act 121 of 2024, the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) will
implement a wage increase for direct care workers, to be included on an ongoing basis. This
applies to the MDHHS programs and service codes listed below:

Program Name

Services

Related HCPCS
Codes

Supports

Personal Care

Prevocational Services

Respite

Skill Building

ABA Adaptive Behavior Treatment
ABA Group Adaptive Behavior
Treatment

ABA Exposure Adaptive Treatment
Crisis Residential Services
Residential Services -SUD
Residential Services — Co-occurring
SUD/MH

\Withdrawal Management — SUD
Supported Employment

MI Choice Community Living H2015, H2016,

Waiver Supports, Respite, Adult S5150, S5151,
Day Health, Residential S5100, S5101,
Services S5102, T2032,

T2033

MI Health Expanded Community H2015, S5150,

Link Living Supports, Personal T1019, S5100,
Care, Respite, Adult Day S5101, S5102
Program

Behavioral Community Living Supports 97153, 97154,

Health Overnight Health and Safety 0373T, H2025,

H0019, H0010,
HO0012, H0014,
H0018, H2014,
H2015, H2016,
12027, T1020,
12015, S5151,
11005, H2023,
H0043, T2026
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General Wage Increase Requirements

e The wage increase applies for services provided October 1, 2024, forward and is
intended to cover an additional $0.20 per hour increase in direct care worker wages,
along with an additional $0.04 per hour for agencies to cover their costs associated with
implementing this increase.

e This amount supplements the $3.20 per hour increase (plus an additional $0.40 for
agencies) previously appropriated for direct care worker wage increases, bringing the
total to $3.40 per hour for direct care workers and an additional $0.44 per hour for
agencies.

e The wage increase cannot cover costs associated with minimum wage increases.

e Consistent with L-22-10, the $2.35 per hour base wage increase should be paid in
addition to the worker’s regular wage but cannot be less than the wage being received by,
or the starting wage offered to, a qualifying direct care worker on March 1, 2020. If the
agency was not in business in March 2020, the direct care work must be paid at least
minimum wage plus the $2.35 wage increase amount.

e Consistent with L-24-29, the FY24 additional $0.85 per hour should be a base wage
increase paid in addition to the worker’s regular wage but cannot be less than the wage
being received by, or the starting wage offered to, a qualifying direct care worker on
September 30, 2023.

e The FY25 additional $0.20 per hour should be a base wage increase paid in addition to a
worker’s regular wage but cannot be less than the wage being received by, or the starting
wage offered to, a qualifying direct care worker on September 30, 2024.

e The entirety of the base wage increase, totaling $3.40 per hour, must be applied entirely
to direct care worker wages. The $3.40 and $0.44 per hour amounts may be implemented
by an equivalent as divided per billing unit.

o Factoring in the prior year DCW wage increases, in addition to the FY25 increase, the
payment would be $0.85 per 15-minute unit for the direct care worker, and $0.11 per
15-minute unit for the additional agency cost, totaling $0.96 per 15-minute unit
attributed to the DCW wage increase and employer costs.

e Consistent with L-24-29, this wage increase, along with previously appropriated direct
care wage increases (totaling $3.40 per hour), should also be applied to direct care
worker’s indirect/administrative time (necessary time for the worker to complete
associated direct care paperwork) and overtime.
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o Overtime compensation for non-exempt employees is eligible for reimbursement at a
rate of $5.12 per hour for FY25.

o Agencies would receive an additional $0.64 per overtime hour to cover their additional
costs associated with implementing this increase, making the total for overtime
payments $5.76 per hour including the $5.12 per hour to the direct care worker and
$0.64 per hour to the employer.

o When overtime is billed in 15-minute units, the DCW would receive an additional $1.28
per overtime 15-minute unit and the employer would receive and addition $0.16 per
overtime 15-minute unit, for a total of $1.44 per 15- minute overtime unit.

Recordkeeping requirements

e Direct care worker agencies that are a network provider under a Medicaid managed care
entity and/or their subcontractor must retain and be able to submit documentation upon
request, either by the Department or their contracted managed care entities, that supports
the distribution to direct care workers and that payments were made in accordance with
the requirements in this letter.

e A direct care worker may choose to not receive the wage increase. This choice must be
indicated in writing or electronically. This individual’'s employer must give back to the
entity paying for services, as described in the table above, any funds allocated for this
individual's wage increase.

Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs), Adult Foster Care (AFC) Homes and Homes for the Aged (HFAS)

SNFs, AFC homes and HFAs should follow guidance and reporting instructions currently
provided on the MDHHS Coronavirus webpage at: Long Term Care COVID-19 Plan
(michigan.gov) under the Staffing tab and the “Direct Care Worker Resources” heading.

If you have questions, you may call Provider Support at 1-800-979-4662 or e-mail them at
providersupport@michigan.gov.

An electronic version of this document is available at www.michigan.gov/medicaidproviders >>
Policy, Letters & Forms.

Sincerely,

(o)

Meghan E. Groen, Director
Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration


https://www.michigan.gov/coronavirus/resources/long-term-care-plan
https://www.michigan.gov/coronavirus/resources/long-term-care-plan
mailto:providersupport@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/medicaidproviders



