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FILING DEADLINES
Victims now have five (5) years to file
their compensation application from

the date of crime as opposed to 
one (1) year. 

Michigan.gov/CrimeVictim
Learn more about benefits, eligibility, and how to apply at:
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Michigan's 2023 Program Changes

WHO QUALIFIES FOR COMPENSATION?
A person who was physically, emotionally, psychologically or mentally injured
as the direct result of a crime in Michigan. This includes a sexual assault victim,
a person injured while trying to help a crime victim, eligible individuals with
out-of-pocket expenses as a direct result of a crime, and a Michigan resident
injured in another state that doesn’t pay compensation for a non-resident. 

CURRENT BENEFITS NEWLY ADDED BENEFITS
Medical bills

Counseling

Lost wages

Replacement services

Funeral and burial expenses

Crime scene cleanup 

Sexual assault exam

AWARD LIMITS
The maximum award limit

was increased from
$25,000 to $45,000.

WHEN DO CHANGES TAKE PLACE?
New guidelines will apply to applications submitted on or after August 12, 2023. 
Applications submitted on or before August 11, 2023, will fall under previous guidelines.

ELIGIBILITY
In the revised law,

eligibility has expanded for
various types of victims

and claimants. 


