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PURPOSE: 
 
The purpose of this policy is to describe the basis for which non-compliance exists and the 
enforcement actions that are applicable as it pertains to Emergency Medical Services 
(EMS) Personnel. 
 
POLICY: 
 
The guidelines set forth in this policy are intended ONLY as a guide for imposing 
enforcement action against EMS personnel and should not be construed as all inclusive for 
every circumstance or criminal conviction history.  The department will review each case on 
an individual basis and make its determination based on all facts presented in relation to 
the case.  If the department deviates from this policy as adopted, we shall state the reason 
for the deviation. 
 
 
According to § 20958, 1978 PA 368, the department may deny, revoke, or suspend an 
emergency medical services personnel license upon finding that an applicant or licensee 
meets one or more of the following: 
 

a) Is guilty of fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure licensure.  This 
includes, but is not limited to the following: 

 
• Failure to provide proof of obtaining the required minimum continuing 

education credits for renewal upon request by the department (§ 22325 
Michigan Administrative Code);  

 
b) Has illegally obtained, possessed, used, or distributed drugs; 
 
c) Has practiced after his or her license has expired or has been suspended; 
 
d) Has knowingly violated, or aided or abetted others in the violation of, this part or 

rules promulgated under this part; 
 
e) Is not performing in a manner consistent with his or her education, licensure, or 

approved medical control authority protocols; 
 

f) Is physically or mentally incapable of performing his or her prescribed duties; 
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g) Has been convicted of a criminal offense under §520a to 520l of the Michigan Penal 

Code, 1931 PA 328; 
 
h) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony reasonably related to and adversely 

affecting the ability to practice in a safe and competent manner.  
 
Notice of Intent to Suspend (NOIS) 
 
A NOIS may be issued to EMS personnel that meet one or more of the following (as 
adopted in part from section 20173(a)(1)(f), (g), (h), and (i) of the Public Health Code): 
 

• Is the subject of an order or disposition under section 16b of chapter IX of the code 
of criminal procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 769.16b. 

 
• Has been the subject of a substantiated finding of neglect, abuse, or 

misappropriation of property by a state or federal agency pursuant to an 
investigation conducted in accordance with 42 USC 1395i-3 or 1396r. 

 
A NOIS will be issued for EMS personnel that have not obtained the required 
ongoing/continuing education credits for renewal, but have at least obtained the following 
minimum number of credits: 
 

EMS Personnel Total Required 
Credits 

Minimum 
Number of 
Credits 

Medical First Responder 15 12 
Emergency Medical Technician 30 24 
Emergency Medical Technician - Specialist 36 29 
Paramedic 45 36 
Instructor-Coordinator 30 24 
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Failure to meet continuing education requirements for licensure renewal: 
 

EMS Personnel Credits 
Earned 

Minimum Suspension Period 

Medical First Responder 14 3 days 
 12-13 5 days 
   
Emergency Medical Technician 29 3 days 
 26-28 5 days 
 24-25 10 days 
   
Emergency Medical Technician - 
Specialist 

35 3 days 

 32-34 5 days 
 29-31 10 days 
   
Paramedic 44 3 days 
 40-43 5 days 
 36-39 10 days 
   
Instructor-Coordinator 29 3 days 
 26-28 5 days 
 24-25 10 days 

 
No documentation of the required Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation – Minimum of three (3) 
day suspension. 
 
An automatic suspension (NOIS) will be issued when the department receives a court 
order to suspend a license due to failure to pay child support pursuant to MCL 552.633.  
The suspension will only be lifted upon receipt by the department of an Order from the 
issuing court. 
 
A Notice of Intent to Suspend (NOIS) may be generated when one or more of the violations 
described in § 20958 are found as determined by the Department. 
 
 
 
 



 
 

 

Bureau of EMS, Trauma, & Preparedness 
EMS SECTION 

Policies And Procedures 

NUMBER: 
 
 

EMS- 500 Subject: 
Emergency Medical Services Personnel  
Non-Compliance Policy 
Supercedes #: 
New 

Previous Date: 
NA 

Page 4 of 
10 

 
 

Date:  
6/1/07 
Revised: 
6/7/12 

 
Notice of Intent to Revoke (NOIR) & Notice of Intent to Deny (NOID) 
 
A NOIR or NOID may be issued to EMS personnel that meet one or more of the following 
(as adopted in part from section 20173(a)(1)(c), (d), and (e) of the Public Health Code): 
 

• Has been convicted of a felony, or an attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony, or a 
state or federal crime that is substantially similar, other than what is provided in this 
policy, within 10 years; 
 

• Has been convicted of any of the following misdemeanors, or an attempt or 
conspiracy to commit a misdemeanor, or a state or federal crime that is substantially 
similar to the misdemeanors described in this subdivision, within 10 years: 

 
o A misdemeanor involving the use of a firearm or dangerous weapon with the 

intent to injure, the use of a firearm or dangerous weapon that results in a 
personal injury or a misdemeanor involving the use of force or violence or the 
threat of the use of force or violence (includes domestic violence); 

o A misdemeanor under chapter XXA of the Michigan Penal Code, 1931 PA 
328, MCL 750.145m to 750.145r; 

o A misdemeanor involving cruelty or torture; 
o A misdemeanor involving abuse or neglect; 
o A misdemeanor involving home invasion; 
o A misdemeanor involving embezzlement; 
o A misdemeanor involving negligent homicide; 
o A misdemeanor involving larceny, 
o A misdemeanor of retail fraud in the second degree 
o Any other misdemeanor involving assault, fraud, theft, or the possession, use, 

manufacture, or delivery of a controlled substance unless otherwise provided 
under this policy. 

 
• Has been convicted of any of the following misdemeanors, or an attempt or 

conspiracy to commit a misdemeanor, or a state or federal crime that is substantially 
similar to the misdemeanors described in this subdivision, within 5 years: 

o A misdemeanor of retail fraud in the third degree; 
• A misdemeanor involving brandishing a firearm; 
• A misdemeanor involving indecent exposure; 
• A misdemeanor involving cruelty if committed by an individual who is less 

than 16 years of age; 
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• Has been found in violation of §20958(1)(a) (Minimum 2 year Revocation) 
 

• A misdemeanor for any driving and/or alcohol related offenses will be reviewed on a 
case by case basis, with multiple offenses carrying greater weight in the review 
process 
 

A NOIR will be issued for EMS personnel that have not obtained the required 
ongoing/continuing education credits for renewal and have not obtained the following 
minimum number of credits:  
 

EMS Personnel Total Required 
Credits 

Minimum 
Number of 
Credits 

Medical First Responder 15 12 
Emergency Medical Technician 30 24 
Emergency Medical Technician - Specialist 36 29 
Paramedic 45 36 
Instructor-Coordinator 30 24 

 
A NOIR or NOID will be issued for the following violations of § 20958: 
 

• Has been convicted of any of the following misdemeanors or felonies, or an attempt 
or conspiracy to commit a misdemeanor or felony, or a state or federal crime that is 
substantially similar to the misdemeanors or felonies described in this subdivision 
within 15 years: 
 

• Criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree; misdemeanor 
• Assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct; felony 
• A felony that involves the intent to cause death or serious impairment of a 

body function, that involves the use of force or violence, or that involves the 
threat of the use of force or violence; 

• A felony involving cruelty or torture; 
• A felony involving abuse or neglect; 
• A felony involving the use of a firearm or dangerous weapon; 
• A felony involving the diversion or adulteration of a prescription drug or other 

medications 



 
 

 

Bureau of EMS, Trauma, & Preparedness 
EMS SECTION 

Policies And Procedures 

NUMBER: 
 
 

EMS- 500 Subject: 
Emergency Medical Services Personnel  
Non-Compliance Policy 
Supercedes #: 
New 

Previous Date: 
NA 

Page 6 of 
10 

 
 

Date:  
6/1/07 
Revised: 
6/7/12 

 
• Misdemeanor involving abuse, neglect, assault, battery, or involving fraud or 

theft against a vulnerable adult (as that term is defined in §145m of the 
Michigan Penal Code) (1931 PA 328) within 15 years (§ 20173(1)(b), 1978 
PA 368); 

 
A Permanent Revocation will be issued for the following offenses:  

 
o Criminal sexual conduct in the first degree; felony (§ 750.520b Michigan 

Penal Code) 
o Criminal sexual conduct in the second degree; felony (§ 750.520c Michigan 

Penal Code) 
o Criminal sexual conduct in the third degree; felony (§ 750.520d Michigan 

Penal Code) 
o Accosting, enticing, or soliciting child for immoral purposes; felony (§ 

750.145a Michigan Penal Code) 
o Child sexual abusive activity; felony (§ 750.145c Michigan Penal Code) 
o First degree murder (§ 750.316 Michigan Penal Code 
o Second degree murder (§ 750.317 Michigan Penal Code 
 

• If a licensee or applicant is convicted of a second or subsequent offense of the same 
nature under § 20958(g) or § 20958(h) of the Public Health Code, the EMS 
personnel application/license may be denied/revoked permanently. 

 
• Failure to meet the requirements of a  license suspension within  6 months of the 

effective date is grounds for revocation. 
 

A NOIR or NOID may be generated when one or more of the violations described in 
§20958 are found, regardless if the conviction is specifically delineated within this policy. 
 
Deferred Criminal Convictions 
 
The judgment of guilt in a criminal case may be deferred under the following Acts within the 
Michigan Compiled Laws: 
 

o Controlled Substance (MCL 333.7411) 
o Parental Kidnapping Act (MCL 750.350a) 
o Spousal Abuse Act (MCL769.4a) 
o Youthful Trainee Status (MCL 762.14) 
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The Department shall not take licensure action in these cases until such time as the 
presiding judge has entered a conviction on record. Note: An exception would be if another 
violation of §20958 has occurred. 
 
Voluntary Surrender of License 
 
If a licensee would like to voluntarily surrender their license in lieu of disciplinary action 
relating to continuing education, the department will honor the request; however the same 
stipulations that were included in the disciplinary action letter shall also apply.  For 
example: A NOIR was issued with a minimum revocation of 3 years.  If licensee voluntarily 
surrenders their license, they will not be eligible to apply for 3 years from the effective date 
of the surrender. 
 
Consent Order 
 
A Consent Order may be issued with certain conditions that the licensee/applicant must 
meet before being eligible for licensure and/or during licensure.  The licensee/applicant has 
the opportunity to agree to the Consent Order or proceed with the appeal process and 
request an administrative hearing.   
 
Emergency Order  
 
An Emergency Order is issued according to § 20168, 1978 PA 368 and § 92(2) of the 
Administrative Procedures Act of 1969.  If the department finds that a violation of the Public 
Health Code or Administrative Rules seriously affects the health, safety, and welfare of any 
individual receiving care, the department may issue an emergency order suspending or 
revoking the license.  The soonest effective date is the date of service upon the 
respondent. 
 
Compliance Conference 
 
A Compliance Conference is offered pursuant to § 92 of the Administrative Procedures Act 
of 1969 and § 22347(3) of the Michigan Administrative Code upon appeal by the 
licensee/applicant and PRIOR to a formal administrative hearing in all cases with the 
exception of those of an emergency nature and falling under §20168, 1978 PA 368.   
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Formal Administrative Hearing 
 
A formal Administrative Hearing will be conducted in accordance with § 71 and § 92 of the 
Administrative Procedures Act of 1969 and § 20958(2), PA 368 of 1978 upon appeal by the 
licensee/applicant and AFTER a compliance conference is completed. In the case of an 
Emergency Order, the administrative hearing will be held within 5 working days of the 
service date in accordance with §20168, 1978 PA 368. 
 
 
Reinstatement of License 
 
An individual whose license was revoked or denied under § 20958 may apply to the 
department for reinstatement in accordance with the following stipulations: 
 
An applicant shall not apply for reinstatement before the expiration of 3 years after the 
effective date of the revocation, unless otherwise noted in this policy or in their Notice of 
Intent.   
 
 
The department shall return an application for reinstatement received prior to the expiration 
of the applicable time period as stated in this policy. 
 
The department shall provide an opportunity for a hearing before final rejection of an 
eligible application for reinstatement. 
 
The department has established specific criteria that must be met by an applicant for 
reinstatement under this policy.  The criteria may include corrective measures or remedial 
education as a condition of reinstatement at the applicant’s expense.  If the department, in 
reinstating a license deviates from the guidelines adopted, they shall state the reason for 
the deviation. 
 
An individual who seeks reinstatement shall pay all applicable  initial licensure fees. 
 
The department may reinstate a license to an individual whose license has been revoked 
under this part if after a review of new material the department is satisfied by clear and 
convincing evidence that the applicant is of good moral character, is able to practice the 
profession with reasonable skill and safety to patients, has met the criteria in the rules 
promulgated under this policy, and should be permitted in the public interest to practice. 
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(Current policies for reinstatement were derived from the reinstatement requirements that 
are provided under § 16245 through § 16248, PA 368 of 1978) 
 
Criteria for Reinstatement 
 

1. Reinstatement applications will not be accepted prior to the expiration of the 
applicable time period as described in the reinstatement policy above. 

 
2. Application for reinstatement must be made using department approved forms and 

must be submitted with the initial licensure fee. 
 

3. The applicant must complete the appropriate Michigan approved course for their 
level of licensure, i.e. Medical First Responder, Emergency Medical Technician, 
Specialist/AEMT, Paramedic, and/or Instructor-Coordinator. 

 
4. Complete all corrective measures as stated in the Notice of Intent at the licensee’s 

expense. 
 
Renewals 
 
If an applicant for renewal fails to provide the department with a change of address, the 
applicant shall pay a $20.00 fee in addition to the renewal and late fees required under 
§20954, 1978 PA 368. 
 
Published List of Disciplined Personnel 
 
The department shall maintain a list of disciplined personnel and  distribute on the 
Department’s website. 
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REFERENCES: 
 
Administrative Procedures (Act 306 of 1969), Chapter 4 Procedures in Contested Cases 
and Chapter 5 Licenses.  
 
Michigan Administrative Code (2004), Emergency Medical Services Personnel Licensing, 
R325.22301 to R325.22363. 
 
Michigan Penal Code (Act 328 of 1931), Chapter XX Children, Sections 135 to 145d, 
Chapter LXXVI Rape, Sections 520a to 520l, Chapter XLV Homicide, Sections 316 to 329, 
and Chapter XXA Vulnerable Adults, Section 145m to 145r. 
 
Michigan Vehicle Code (Act 300 of 1949), Section 257.625. 
 
Public Health Code (Act 368 of 1978), Part 74 Offenses & Penalties, Part 161 Occupations, 
Part 201 General Provisions, and Part 209 Emergency Medical Services. 
 
Support and Parenting Time Enforcement Act (Act 295 of 1982), Section 633. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


