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12.1. GENERALLY

Decisions of judges and referees are subject to review by higher authority.
Judicial officers, like the rest of us, have limits on their discretion. They must
follow the law and make decisions reasonably based on the facts of a case as
presented to the court. It is often difficult to interpret the law correctly and to
apply a correct judgment to a set of facts. Errors will be made -- yes, even by the
judiciary. Review by a higher authority sets limits on judges and referees and
make them accountable for their actions. Mistakes in judgment or action can be
remedied by higher authority.

An appeal, or a review of referee findings, should not be seen as a personal
affront to the individual judge or referee. It is part of the job of judicial officers to
face appellate review. Reasonable persons may differ on these cases. The judge
calls it like he or she sees it and the resulting court orders must be honored. If,
however, you strongly disagree with the court's actions, there are remedies that
you should feel free to pursue. Michigan law provides for review of Juvenile
Court actions through: review of referee recommendations (in Juvenile Court),
rehearings (in Juvenile Court), and appeals to the Court of Appeals. Each of these
is discussed below.

12.2. REVIEW OF REFEREE RECOMMENDATIONS
12.2.1. Generally

If a matter is heard by a referee, the referee does not enter orders, but
rather makes recommendations to a judge who has the authority to enter
orders. A party unhappy with the referee's recommendations may appeal
an adverse finding to the judge.! The judge is required to review a
referee's recommended findings and conclusion if requested by a party.

12.2.2. Making the Request

The request for review of either a referee recommendation or an order
based on a referee recommendation must2:

1. be inwriting,

2. state the grounds for review, and

1 In re AMB, 248 Mich.App. 144 (2001)
2, MCR 3.991(B)
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3. be filed with the court within 7 days after the conclusion of the
inquiry or hearing or within 7 days after the issuance of the
referee’'s written recommendations, whichever is later, and

4. be served on the interested parties by the person requesting
review at the time of filing the request for review with the
court. A proof of service must be filed.

If the judge signs the order before the petition for review is filed, the parties
cannot file for a review of the referee's decision. The judge can sign the order
whenever desired and is not required to wait 7 days to see if a petition for review

is filed.

A party may file a written response to the request for review within 7

days after the filing.3

12.2.3.

12.2.4.

12.2.5.

Prompt Review Required

Absent good cause for delay, the judge shall consider the request within
21 days after it is filed if the minor is in placement or detention. The
Michigan Court Rules do not spell out what constitutes "good cause™ for
delay. The judge need not schedule a hearing to rule on a request for
review of a referee's recommendations.4

Review Standard

The review is de novo, meaning that, unlike the appeals to the Court of
Appeals, the referee's decision is not given any presumption that it will be
upheld. The judge may grant the review simply if he or she would have
reached a different result. The court rule provides a judge shall deny the
request for review unlesss:
(1) the judge would have reached a different result had he or she
heard the case; or
(2) the referee committed a clear error of law, which
a. likely would have affected the outcome, or
b. cannot otherwise be considered harmless.

Remedy

The judge may adopt, modify, or deny the recommendation of the referee
in whole or in part, on the basis of the record and memoranda prepared, or
may conduct a hearing, whichever the court in its discretion finds
appropriate for the case.6 The court may also stay any order pending its
decision on review of the referee's recommendation.”

3. MCR 3.991(C)
4. MCR 3.991(D)
5. MCR 3.991(E)
6. MCR 3.991(F)
7. MCR 3.991(G)
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12.3. REHEARINGS

12.3.1.

12.3.2.

12.3.3.

Time and Grounds

A party may seek a rehearing or new trial by filing a written motion
stating the basis for the relief sought within 21 days after the date of the
order resulting from the hearing or trial. The court may entertain an
untimely motion for good cause shown. A motion will not be considered
unless it presents a matter not previously presented to the court, or
presented, but not previously considered by the court, which, if true,
would cause the court to reconsider the case.®

Making the Request

All parties must be given notice of the motion in accordance with MCR
3.920, and any response by parties must be in writing and filed with the
court and opposing parties within 7 days after notice of the motion.®

Procedure on Motion for Rehearing

The judge may affirm, modify, or vacate the decision previously made in
whole or in part, on the basis of the record, the memoranda prepared, or a
hearing on the motion, whichever the court in its discretion finds
appropriate for the case.10

The court need not hold a hearing before ruling on a motion for rehearing.
If the court holds a hearing, it is to be conducted in accordance with the
rules for dispositional hearings -- meaning in part that hearsay statements
are admissible. At the discretion of the court, the motion hearing may be
assigned to the person who conducted the original hearing. The court
shall state the reasons for its decision on the motion on the record or in
writing.1! The court may stay any order pending a ruling on a motion for
rehearing.12

Non-lawyers frequently have difficulty distinguishing between the motion
for the rehearing and the rehearing itself. If the motion for rehearing is
denied, the original order stands. If the motion for rehearing is granted,
the way is clear for a new hearing on the previous issues which may
require a separate court appearance.

8 MCR 3.992(A)

9 MCR 3.992(B)&(C)
10 MCR 3.992(D)
11 MCR 3.992(E)
12 MCR 3.992(F)
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12.4. APPEALS TO THE COURT OF APPEALS
12.4.1. Appeal as a Matter of Right

A party to a proceeding may appeal as a matter of right to the Court of
Appeals an order of disposition placing a child under the supervision of
the court or removing the child from his or her home or an order
terminating parental rights.13 Therefore parents or a child may appeal
directly to the Court of Appeals if the court adjudicates their child a
temporary ward of the court or places the child in out of home care. A
party may also appeal “any final order.” For instance, an order following
trial finding that the court has no jurisdiction over a child is a final order
that could be appealed by the petitioner or child’s legal representative.

12.4.2. Appeal by Leave to Court of Appeals

All orders not listed in MCR 3.993(A) are appealable to the Court of
Appeals by leave.14 For example, upon denial of a petition to terminate
parental rights, a petitioner or child’s legal representative may apply for an
appeal by leave or file a subsequent petition seeking termination of
parental rights after gathering new evidence.1®

12.4.3. Notice of Right to Appeal

Immediately after entry of an order terminating parental rights, the court is
required to advise the respondent parent orally or in writing that he or she
is entitled to appellate review of the order and that if unable to afford an
attorney to perfect an appeal, the court will appoint an attorney and
furnish the attorney with the portions of the transcript and record the
attorney requires to appeal.16 The request for assistance of an attorney
must be made within 14 days after notice of the order is given or an order
is entered denying a timely filed post judgment motion.17

In addition, the court must give the respondent parent a form with the
instructions that if the respondent desires the appointment of an attorney,
the form must be returned to the court within the required period.18

12.4.4. Time for Appeal

13 MCR 3.993(A)(1)&(2)
14, MCR 3.992(B)

15, Santoskey v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745, 764 (1982); Miller, Child Protective Proceedings Benchbook,
Michigan Judicial Institute, 1999, page 12-2

16, MCR 3.977(1)(2)&(b)

17, MCR 3.977(1)(c)

18 |q. Also, instructions with the process and time limit to request the appointment of an appellate counsel
must be repeated on the form.
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12.45.

12.4.6.

12.4.7.

12.4.8.

The time limit for an appeal of right is jurisdictional.1® An appeal of right
must be filed within 14 days of the entry of the order or request for the
appointment of an attorney must be made within 14 days after entry of the
termination order or the decision on a timely postjudgment motion.20

An application for a delayed appeal from an order of the family division
must be filed with 6 months after entry of the order, except that the Court
of Appeals may not grant an application for leave to appeal an order of the
family division terminating parental rights if filed more than 63 days after
entry of an order or judgment on the merits, or if filed more than 63 days
after entry of an order denying reconsideration or rehearing.2!

Standard of Review

In reviewing the findings of the Family Court on appeal from an order
terminating parental rights, the court must use the "clearly erroneous™
standard on review.22 That is, the Court of Appeals will affirm the trial
court's decision unless it is found to be clearly erroneous.

Review on the Record; Not de novo

All appeals from the trial court shall be based on a written transcript of the
record made in the court or on a record settled and agreed to by the parties
and approved by the court. An appeal shall not be tried de novo.23

Orders Appealed from Presumed to Remain in Full Force and Effect

The pendency of an appeal from the Family Division of the Circuit Court
shall not suspend the order unless the Court of Appeals specifically orders
the suspension.2* Parties cannot finalize orders of adoption, however,
until the appellate process is complete.

Collateral Attack

A party may attack subject matter jurisdiction at any time.25 In Hatcher,
the Michigan Supreme Court held that the court's jurisdiction is
established by the contents of the petition after the judge or referee has
found probable cause to believe that the allegations contained within the
petition is true. If the court properly invokes its jurisdiction at the

19
20

21
22
23
24

25

. MCR 7.203(A)

. MCR 7.204(A)(1)(c)

. MCL 600.867(2); MCR 3.993(C)(2)

. MCR 3.977(3); In re Miller, 433 Mich. 331 (1989)
. MCL 600.866(1)

. MCL 600.867(2)

. In re Hatcher, 443 Mich. 426, 437 (1993)
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preliminary hearing, subsequent procedural errors do not affect the court's
subject matter jurisdiction.

Although a party may attack subject matter jurisdiction at any time, "Here,
however, the respondent confuses the distinction between whether the
court has subject matter jurisdiction and whether the court properly
exercised its discretion in applying that jurisdiction.” *** “Generally, lack
of subject matter jurisdiction can be collaterally attacked and the exercise
of that jurisdiction can be challenged only on direct appeal.” The Court
established the rule that "the probate [now family division of circuit]
court’s subject matter jurisdiction is established when the action is of a
class that the court is authorized to adjudicate, and the claim stated in the
complaint is not clearly frivolous." Therefore, the court properly assumed
jurisdiction and the parents’ collateral attack on the court’s subject matter
jurisdiction was invalid.
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