# APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED COPY— MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

PART 1 – APPLICANT INFORMATION (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM)

Applicant's First Name	Middle		_ Last		
Mailing					
Address					
Daytime Phone w/ area code *Required		Email _			
PART 2 – DIVORCE INFORMATION (TO LOCATE RECORD ON FILE)					
The names of <u>both</u> spouses and <u>year</u> of divorce are required in order to complete the search. Do not leave these areas blank. If the month and day of divorce are unknown, we will search the entire year you provide. If you need additional years searched, please see <b>Part 5</b> for fee information.					
DATE OF DIVORCE M	onth:	Day:	Year:		
SPOUSE A) Male  Female  Full Name at time of application for Divorce or Annulment  SPOUSE B) Male  Full Name at time of application for Divorce or Annulment					
First Middle	Last	First	Middle	Last	
PARENT/MOTHER'S NAME		PARENT/MOTH	PARENT/MOTHER'S NAME		
First Middle	Last	First	Middle	Last	
PARENT/FATHER'S NAME		PARENT/FATH	PARENT/FATHER'S NAME		
First Middle	Last	First	Middle	Last	
COUNTY where Divorce or Annulment w	as granted				
DART 2 PURPOSE OF REQUEST					
PART 3 – PURPOSE OF REQUEST					
PART 4 – APPLICANT SIGNATURE (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM)					
By signing, I understand I am agreeing a record will be found. Falsifying an apcriminal penalties. Per MCL 333.2894	plication for a vital re				
Your Signature:					
(Must be original in ink, by hand)			Date:		
PART 5 – PAYMENT Ap	polication Fee includ	les one Certified C	opy or a No-Find Letter		
Base Fee (Includes one year search)			\$34.00	\$	
Additional Years to Search (If exact divorce year is unknown)	Specify Years		\$12.00 per year	\$	
Additional Certified Copies	Specify Quantity		\$16.00 each	\$	
Expedited "Rush" Processing	Reduces in-office to (Does not affect ma	me. ail time to/from our o	ffice) \$12.00 additional	\$	
CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to the "State of Michigan" (Request will not be processed if payment is not included in envelope)			Total Amount Enclosed	\$	

## **REQUESTING A MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD**

The Michigan Vital Records Office has records of divorces that occurred in Michigan and were **filed** with the state since **1897**. Some records were not filed with the state. Divorce records are not restricted documents in Michigan. Anyone can request that a search be conducted if the application is completed, signed, and submitted with the required fee paid. **NOTE:** The State of Michigan will only have the record of divorce. If you need the actual judgement, contact the county where divorce occurred.

# PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAILED REQUESTS

#### **REGULAR SEARCH**

Approximately 4 to 6 weeks of in-office processing time, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.

## **EXPEDITED "RUSH" SEARCH**

Approximately 2 to 3 weeks of in-office processing time, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Results are sent USPS First Class Mail, Pre-Paid envelopes will NOT be accepted If you find that the above processing times do not meet your needs, please visit www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call our Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666 to speak with a customer service representative about available options.

### MAIL APPLICATION (WITH CHECK OR MONEY ORDER)

**REGULAR MAIL TO:** 

Vital Records Requests P.O. Box 30721 Lansing MI 48909 RUSH MAIL TO: Vital Records RUSH P.O. Box 30721 Lansing MI 48909

### **ALTERNATIVE ORDERING OPTIONS**

#### **ONLINE or PHONE**

To place an order through our authorized service provider, VitalChek, visit **www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords** or call **866-443-9897**. Michigan Vital Records orders placed through VitalChek have Regular, Expedited, Will-Call pickup and Expedited + UPS delivery options available. Pricing will vary when ordering online or by phone and will include VitalChek's processing fee. A credit or debit card is required for payment at the time of ordering.

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political belief, or disability.

DCH-0569-DIV (Rev. 02/2025) By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(a)(b) and MCL 333.2891(1-4) (8)