APPLICATION FOR A STATEMENT OF NO MARRIAGE IN MICHIGAN

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

PART 1 – APPLICANT INFORMATION	(PERSON FILLI	NG OUT THIS FORM)		
Applicant's First Name	Middle	La	st	
Mailing Address	Cit	у	State 2	Zip
Daytime Phone w/ area code *Required		Email		
PART 2 – INFORMATION NEEDED TO	CONDUCT SEA	RCH		
YOUR NAME				
First	Middle		Last	
ARE YOU THE				
PARENT/MOTHER'S NAME				
First	Middle		Last	
PARENT/FATHER'S NAME				
First	Middle		Last	
PART 3 – TIME PERIOD TO SEARCH	2 ADDLICABLE	FEES		
Statement of No Marriage will cover only all years that you need to prove single resided in Michigan, from the age of 18 the prospective bride and groom are www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords	y the years that yo status. Typically, or from the year o both residents o	ou have us search. Be so the search should be co f the latest divorce. Two	enducted for the entition separate application se use those application	re period the applicant ns must be submitted if
Specify the First Search Year (included i	n the Base Fee):			
Specify any Additional Search Years (fee	es listed below):			
Base Fee (one year of search for single status is included in the base fee)		\$34.00	\$34.00	
Additional fee applies for all years beyon	nd the first year	Number of Additional Years	\$12.00 per ye	ear \$
Additional Certified Copies		Specify Quantity	\$16.00 each	\$
Expedited "Rush" Processing	Reduces in-office (Does not affect	ce time. mail time to/from our off	sice) \$12.00 addition	onal \$
CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to the "State of Michigan" (Request will not be processed if payment is not included in envelope)			Total Amount Enclosed	\$
PART 4 – PURPOSE OF REQUEST				
PART 5 – APPLICANT SIGNATURE (P	PERSON FILLING	OUT THIS FORM)		
By signing, I understand I am agreeing to a record will be found. Falsifying an applic criminal penalties. Per MCL 333.2894(b)	cation for a vital re	_		_
Your Signature: (Must be original in ink, by hand)			Date	ə:

REQUESTING A STATEMENT OF NO MARRIAGE IN MICHIGAN

The Michigan Vital Records Office has records of marriages that occurred in Michigan and were filed with the state since 1867. Some records were not filed with the state. The inquiry conducted for a Statement of No Marriage includes a statewide search of both public and probate marriages filed during the years requested. Therefore, the prospective bride or groom must be listed as the applicant and identification is required.

APPLICANT IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS (SEND PHOTOCOPIES; ORIGINALS WILL NOT BE RETURNED)

TIER 1

One piece of documentation that establishes identity by itself.

- U.S. or Foreign Passport
- U.S. Passport Card
- U.S. or U.S. Territories Driver's License or Identification Card
- U.S. Military Identification Card with both picture and signature
- Other U.S. or U.S. Territories issued document that meets the following criteria: Document must be unexpired, contain a
 photograph and at least the following information: name, date of birth, date of expiration, signature, and address.

-OR-TIER 2

Must include all documentation listed in one of the following categories.

- Any of the documents in Tier 1 that expired within the past 5 years and any one document from Tier 3 issued within the past year
- Employment identification with photo, accompanied with a pay stub or W2 form issued within the past year
- Student identification with photo, accompanied by a current report card or other proof of current school enrollment. Both documents must be for the same institution.
- Department of Corrections photo identification card accompanied by probation or discharge papers issued within the past year
- If an inmate is currently incarcerated: a Department of Corrections photo identification card accompanied by a verification of incarceration on facility letterhead issued within the past year

-OR-TIER 3

Must include at least three (3) alternative documents from <u>different sources</u> from the list below; One must have been issued within the past year.

- Any of the documents in Tier 1 expired more than 5 years
- Social Security Card (must be signed)
- Doctor/hospital/dentist bill
- Health insurance card
- Utility bill
- Voter registration
- Paycheck stub
- Bank statement
- Marriage or Divorce certificate
- Your child's Birth certificate

- Motor vehicle registration
- IRS form W-2
- Baptismal certificate
- Military DD-214 discharge paper or equivalent
- School records
- Letter or benefit statement from a government agency
- Land or rental agreement
- Military ID with either a picture or signature.
- Other documents that establish identity to a degree equivalent to those listed in this tier

PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAILED REQUESTS

REGULAR SEARCH

Approximately 4 to 6 weeks of in-office processing, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.

EXPEDITED "RUSH" SEARCH

Approximately 2 to 3 weeks of in-office processing, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Results are sent USPS First Class Mail, Pre-Paid envelopes will NOT be accepted If you find that the above processing times do not meet your needs, please visit **www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords** or call our Eligibility Unit at **517-335-8666** to speak with a customer service representative about available options.

MAIL APPLICATION (WITH PAYMENT AND COPY OF VALID IDENTIFICATION)

REGULAR MAIL TO: Vital Records Requests P.O. Box 30721 Lansing MI 48909 RUSH MAIL TO: Vital Records RUSH P.O. Box 30721 Lansing MI 48909

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political belief, or disability.

DCH-0569-NO MX (Rev. 10-24) By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(a)(b) and MCL 333.2891(1-4) (8)