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Emergency Service Provider (ESP) Toolkit

Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

Emergency Service Provider (ESP) ToolKkit:

For the purposes of this Toolkit and the Safe Delivery of Newborn law, an ESP is defined
as a uniformed or otherwise identified employee or contractor of a fire department,
hospital, or police station when that individual is inside the premises and on duty. An
ESP also includes a paramedic or an emergency medical technician (EMT) when either of
those individuals is responding to a 9-1-1 emergency
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Safe Delivery of Newborn Law

What is the Safe Delivery of Newborns law?

In 2000, infant abandonment was identified as an increasing problem throughout Michigan.
Stories of newborn babies abandoned in public places were being reported by the media.

Responding to this increase in infant abandonment, Michigan lawmakers enacted the Safe
Delivery of Newborns law (effective January 1, 2001 and amended the law in 2002, 2003,
2006, and 2010) which:

* Creates a legal way for the parent(s) to surrender a newborn to an
emergency service provider (ESP) within 72 hours of birth anonymously or
with assurances of confidentiality.

* Defines an emergency service provider (ESP) as a uniformed or otherwise
identified employee or contractor of a fire department, hospital, or police
station when that individual is inside the premises and on duty. An ESP
also includes a paramedic or an emergency medical technician (EMT) when
either of those individuals is responding to a 9-1-1 emergency call.

* Focuses on achieving permanency for the newborn by an immediate
placement with a prospective adoptive parent who has an approved
preplacement assessment.

All 50 states now have some version of the Safe Delivery law. For more information,
call 888-510-BABY (888-510-2229) or visit the National Safe Haven Alliance at

www.nationalsafehavenalliance.org.

SAFE DELIVERY IS NOT INTENDED TO BE A SUBSTITUTE FOR RELEASING A CHILD
FOR ADOPTION UNDER MICHIGAN’S ADOPTION CODE.



http://www.NationalSafeHavenAlliance.org
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Surrender Process For Parent(s)

What is the surrender process for the parent(s)?

Follow the flowchart to understand what happens when an infant is surrendered, under
Michigan's Safe Delivery of Newborns law.
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Surrender Procedure For Emergency Service Provider(s)

What is the surrender procedure for the emergency service
provider(s) (ESP)?

Parent(s) may bring a newborn, up to 72 hours old, to a fire department, police station

or hospital. They may also place a 9-1-1 emergency call from any location and surrender
the baby to paramedics or an EMT. (Note: To protect the parent(s)’s right to anonymity/
confidentiality, it is strongly suggested that the agency who responds prohibits the use of
vehicle sirens and flashing lights).

After newborn has been surrendered to a uniformed employee, the emergency service
provider (ESP):

Will place the infant into temporary protective custody.

* Ask the surrendering person(s) if they are the biological parent(s). If they are not, the
baby cannot be surrendered under the Safe Delivery of Newborns law.The ESP must
immediately accept the surrendered newborn, taking the newborn into temporary
protective custody.

The ESP must make reasonable effort to do the following:

e Protect the health and safety of the newborn.
Inform the parent that:
© The newborn will be placed for adoption.
~ They have 28 days to petition the court for custody.
~ After the 28 days, there will be a hearing to terminate parental rights.
~ There will be a public notice of the hearing, but the notice will not show your
name, even if it's known.
~ You will not receive personal notice of this hearing, even if you have provided
a name and address to the emergency service provider.
e Counseling and medical care are available for them if needed.
o They may sign a voluntary release of parental rights.
o Information shared will not be made public.
* Provide Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Safe Delivery
approved written information.
Encourage the parent(s) to provide family/medical background information.
* Ask parent to identify himself/herself.



https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/4820_647661_7.dot 
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Safe-Delivery-of-Newborns-Fact-Sheet_672250_7.pdf 
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Safe-Delivery-of-Newborns-Fact-Sheet_672250_7.pdf 
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/4819_647667_7.dot 

Surrender Procedure For Emergency Service Provider(s)

An ESP that is not a hospital must transfer the newborn to a hospital.

* The hospital will take the newborn into temporary protective custody.

* A physician will examine the newborn.

e If the newborn is unharmed and is determined to be 72 hours old or less, the hospital will
notify a child placing agency.

e If the child is not a newborn, or is the victim of abuse/neglect, the physician must
immediately make a report to Child Protective Services.

ESPs should provide the parent(s) with written materials approved or produced by the
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. The ESP is required to make a
reasonable effort to give the parent(s) the Safe Delivery Program FACT Sheet, DHS Pub-867.
A parent(s) may contact the Safe Delivery of Newborns hotline for more information.

The toll-free number is 866-733-7733.

Fire, Police, Paramedics and EMTs

Transport the newborn to a hospital, provide any forms completed by the parent(s)

and transfer temporary protective custody. (Note: Personnel are to transfer temporary
protective custody of the newborn to the hospital staff. The transporting of a surrendered
newborn to the hospital by fire and police personnel is not addressed in statute. Personnel
are encouraged to contact their respective areas for protocol and/or procedures).

Hospital Personnel

Hospital personnel are required to:

Admit the baby to hospital and register the patient per hospital policy, clearly identifying
him/her as a Safe Delivery newborn. Documentation should include:

How the newborn was surrendered

Where the newborn was surrendered

When the newborn was surrendered (This information is how the baby will be
identified, and will also be considered the birthdate of the baby, if the parent(s) did
not provide the actual date)

Hospital personnel involved

Information provided by the parent(s)



http://:https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Safe-Delivery-of-Newborns-Fact-Sheet_672250_7.pdf 

Surrender Procedure For Emergency Service Provider(s)

A physician must also conduct a clinical examination of the newborn. He/she will determine
if there are signs of abuse and/or neglect and attempt to determine the child’s age. Any
necessary treatment will be provided.

* If signs of abuse and/or neglect, the physician or hospital staff must immediately contact
Children’s Protective Services and file Report of Actual or Suspected Child Abuse or
Neglect. The Safe Delivery law no longer applies.

* If there are no signs of abuse and/or neglect, the hospital will:

o Contact an adoption agency that will assume temporary protective
o Complete the birth registration form within five days, following hospital
procedures.
~ The newborn’s name will be recorded as Baby Doe.*
~ The mother’s name will be recorded as Unknown.*
* The adoption agency will sign the birth certificate as the informant.

* The procedures for birth registration can be found in the State Registrar’s Instruction Letter Number 2.

If further assistance is needed, contact the Registration Unit, Office of Vital Records and Health
Statistics, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services at 517-335-6506.
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Training Your Team

How can I train my team?

Ready to get started? Emergency service providers can train team members by:

e Viewing the Michigan's Safe Delivery of Newborns Law: Roles & Responsibilities of the
Emergency Service Provider Online Training.

* Adjusting applicable policies and procedures, making sure the organization’s legal
department reviews them.

* Developing and implementing a training program for all personnel. The next page
contains a sample standard operating procedure.

The next page contains a sample standard operating procedure.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvM8Hbbc9DU&feature=youtu.be 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvM8Hbbc9DU&feature=youtu.be 

Training Your Team

Sample Operating Procedure

STANDARD OPERATING GUIDELINE FOR SAFE DELIVERY OF NEWBORNS

PURPOSE

To provide procedures for care and safety of surrendered newborns as established by
Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns Law. On June 26, 2000, Michigan enacted the Safe
Delivery of Newborns law with an effective date of January 1, 2001. The law was amended in
2002, 2003, 2006, and 2010

DEFINITIONS
Newborn: A child who a physician reasonably believes to be not more than 72 hours old.

Emergency Service Provider (ESP): a uniformed or otherwise identified employee or
contractor of a fire department, hospital, or police station when that individual is inside
the premises and on duty. Emergency service provider also includes a paramedic or an
emergency medical technician when either of those individuals is responding to a 9-1-1
emergency call. MCL 712.1(f).

Hospital: is a hospital that is licensed under article 17 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368,
MCL 333.20101 to 333.22260.

Fire department: is an organized fire department as that term is defined in Section 1 of the
fire prevention code 1941 PA 207, MCL 29.1.

Police station: is a police station as that term is defined in section 43 of the Michigan vehicle
code, 1949 PA 300 MCL 257.43.

Surrender: To leave a newborn with an emergency service provider, without expressing an
intent to return.

BACKGROUND

Safe Delivery of Newborns is a law which allows a parent or parents to safely and legally
surrender their newborn, no more than 3 days old. A newborn may be given to a uniformed
employee who is inside and on duty at any hospital, fire department, police station, or to an
emergency medical technician or paramedic by calling 9-1-1. The newborn will be placed for
adoption. This program is safe, legal and confidential.

The Michigan Legislature passed Acts 232, 233, 234 and 235 in June of 2000, with an
effective date of January 1, 2001. Public Act 488 of 2006 amended certain sections of the
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Training Your Team

Safe Delivery of Newborns law and became effective January 1, 2007. Public Act 348
and 349 amended additional sections in 2010 of the Safe Delivery of Newborns law and
become effective December 22, 2010.

PROCEDURE

A baby, up to three days old, can be taken to a fire department, hospital or police station
and surrendered to any staff person working inside the building. A baby, up to three
days old, can also be given up to a paramedic or Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
by calling 9-1-1. The ESP must immediately accept the surrendered newborn, taking the
newborn into temporary protective custody.

The ESP must make reasonable effort to do the following:

® Protect the health and safety of the newborn.
Inform the parent that the newborn will be placed for adoption.
They have 28 days to petition the court for custody.
o After the 28 days, there will be a hearing to terminate parental rights.
o There will be a public notice of the hearing, but the notice will not show your
name, even if it's known.
© You will not receive personal notice of this hearing, even if you have provided a
name and address to the emergency service provider.
Counseling and medical care are available for them if needed.
They may sign a voluntary release of parental rights.
Information shared will not be made public.
Provide Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Safe Delivery

approved written information.
Encourage the parent(s) to provide family/medical background information.

Ask parent to identify himself/herself.

An ESP that is not a hospital must transfer the newborn to a hospital.

* The hospital will take the newborn into temporary protective custody.
A physician will examine the newborn.
If the newborn is unharmed and is determined to be 72 hours old or less, the hospital
will notify a child placing agency.

e If the child is not a newborn, or is the victim of abuse/neglect, the physician must
immediately make a report to Child Protective Services.



https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Safe-Delivery-of-Newborns-Fact-Sheet_672250_7.pdf 
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Safe-Delivery-of-Newborns-Fact-Sheet_672250_7.pdf 
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/4819_647667_7.do 

Training Your Team

Hospital Personnel

PROCEDURE TITLE: Safe Delivery of Newborns Law
CROSS REFERENCE:

APPROVED BY:

EFFECTIVE DATE:

REVIEW DATE:

PURPOSE

To provide procedures for care and safety of surrendered newborns as established by
Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns Law. On June 26, 2000, Michigan enacted the Safe
Delivery of Newborns law with an effective date of January 1, 2001. The law was amended in
2002, 2003, 2006, and 2010.

DEFINITIONS
Newborn: A child who a physician reasonably believes to be not more than 72 hours old.

Emergency Service Provider (ESP): a uniformed or otherwise identified employee or
contractor of a fire department, hospital, or police station when that individual is inside
the premises and on duty. Emergency service provider also includes a paramedic or an
emergency medical technician when either of those individuals is responding to a 9-1-1
emergency call. MCL 712.1(f).

Hospital: is a hospital that is licensed under article 17 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368,
MCL 333.20101 to 333.22260.

Fire department: is an organized fire department as that term is defined in Section 1 of the
fire prevention code 1941 PA 207, MCL 29.1.

Police station: is a police station as that term is defined in section 43 of the Michigan vehicle
code, 1949 PA 300 MCL 257.43.

Surrender: To leave a newborn with an emergency service provider, without expressing an
intent to return.

PROCEDURE

Safe Delivery is a law which allows a parent or parents to safely and legally surrender their
newborn, no more than 3 days old. A newborn may be given to a uniformed employee who
is inside and on duty at any hospital, fire department, police station, or to an emergency
medical technician or paramedic by calling 9-1-1.
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Training Your Team

When a newborn is brought to the hospital by the parent(s) or surrendered by the
parent(s), following delivery in the hospital:

* Assume the child is a newborn and take him/her into temporary protective custody.
* Ask the surrendering person(s) if they are the biological parent(s). If they are not, the baby
cannot be surrendered under the Safe Delivery of Newborns law.

Offer medical assistance to the parent(s) and make a reasonable attempt to:

* Reassure the parent(s) that shared information will be kept confidential.
Provide the parent(s) with written materials approved or produced by the Michigan
Department of Health and Human Services. The ESP is required to make a reasonable
effort to give the parent(s) the Safe Delivery Program FACT Sheet, DHS Pub-867.

Inform the surrendering parent(s) that:

* To place the child for adoption, the state is required to make a reasonable attempt
to identify both parents. (Do not pressure the parent if the parent refuses to provide
name(s).)
* By surrendering the newborn, the parent(s) is releasing the infant to a child placing
agency to be placed for adoption.
He/she can receive counseling or medical attention.
He/she are encouraged to provide information about their family’s medical background.
He/she may sign a release for the newborn.
He/she has 28 days to petition the Circuit Court, Family Division to regain custody of the
newborn.
o There will be a public notice of this hearing and the notice will not contain the
parent(s) name.
© The parent(s) will not receive a personal notice of the hearing.
o Information the parent(s) provides will not be made public.

A parent(s) may contact the Safe Delivery of Newborns hotline for more information. The
tollfree number is 866-733-7733.



https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Safe-Delivery-of-Newborns-Fact-Sheet_672250_7.pdf 

Training Your Team

Next, to protect the newborn’s physical health and safety the Hospital staff should:

1. Admit to the hospital and register the newborn per hospital policy, clearly identifying him/
her as a Safe Delivery newborn. Documentation should include:

e How the newborn was surrendered
Where the newborn was surrendered
When the newborn was surrendered. (This information is how the baby will be identified,
and will also be considered the birthdate of the baby, if the parent(s) did not provide
the actual date).
* Hospital personnel involved
Information provided by the parent(s)

2. Have a physician conduct a clinical examination. He/she will determine if there are signs of
abuse and/or neglect and attempt to determine the child’s age. Any necessary treatment
will be given.

* If signs of abuse and/or neglect, the physician or hospital staff must immediately
contact Children’s Protective Services and file a Report of Actual or Suspected Child
Abuse or Neglect. The Safe Delivery law no longer applies. Consult the hospital’s social
services department. They will notify a child placing agency (private adoption agency)
of a safe delivery. The agency will assume temporary protective custody and place the
infant with a prospective adoptive family.

* If no signs of abuse and/or neglect the hospital will:

o Contact an adoption agency who will assume temporary protective custody and place
the infant with a prospective adoptive family.
o Complete the birth registration form within five days, following hospital procedures.
~ The newborn’s name will be recorded as Baby Doe.*
~ The mother’s name will be recorded as Unknown.*
* The adoption agency will sign the birth certificate as the informant.

3. Complete the birth registration form within five days, following hospital procedures:*
a. The newborn’s name will be recorded as Baby Doe.

b. The mother's name will be recorded as Unknown.
c. The adoption agency will sign the birth certificate as the informant.




Training Your Team

4. Apply for Medicaid coverage for the newborn. An application can be filed by any one
of the following:

The provider hospital

The child placing agency (adoption agency)
The lawyer Guardian ad litem

The prospective adoptive parent(s)

* The procedures for birth registration can be found in the State Registrar’s Instruction Letter Number 2.

If further assistance is needed, contact the Registration Unit, Office of Vital Records and Health Statistics,
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services at 517-335-6506.
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Safe Delivery Resources

Fact Sheet — ESP gives to parent(s)
(available in English, Spanish and Arabic)

Michigan’s Safe Delivery
of Newborns Fact Sheet

SAFE. LEGAL. CONFIDENTIAL.

Background:
Mi

eir baby. More than
surrendered through this p

Michigan’s Safe Delivery
of Newborns Fact Sheet
SAFE. LEGAL. CONFIDENTIAL.

Does the non-surrendering
parent need to know?

e attempt to identify
nt for the baby to be

Safe Delivery Window Decal
(identifies a Safe Delivery Site)

Order decals

Safe Delivery Site i
Surrendering your baby Safe ,

Summary of Safe Deliv
Ababy, up to 3 days old
hospital or police stai
working insde th

Safe. Legal. Confidential

is safe, legal & confidential. DELIVERY

Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
1-866-733-7733

Can the parent provide
background information?

9 Y
calling 9-1-1. You may give up your baby without giving any
information about yourself or the baby to the emergency
service provider("ESP").

What should you, as the
surrenderi rent, know?

jour newbor, they will be sent to
10 be placed with a pre-approved

tion the court to regain custody of the
days of surrender.

For more information call the 24/7
Safe Delivery Hotline:
1-866-733-7733

The Michigan Department of Health and Hum

* Youmayfile a consent to release identifying information
with the Adoption Central Registry.

Safe Delivery Poster
(available in English, Spanish and Arabic)

‘What happens to the baby?

+ The baby will be placed for adoption once parental
tights have been legally terminated.

‘--." ‘.'-,'

Safe Delivery Brochure — ESP gives to parent(s)
(available in English, Spanish and Arabic)

What is Safe Delivery
of Newborns?

Michigan’s Safe Delivery of
Newborns law is a safe, legal and
confidential way to surrender your
newborn. A baby, up to 3 days old,
may be given to anyone who is
inside and on duty at any

« Hospital Michigan’s Safe Delivery
S Eoctrmit of Newborns Law

* Police station
* By calling 9-1-1

The newborn will be placed
for adoption.

\J Surrendering your baby
is safe, legal & confidential.

Not ready? Call the Safe Delivery of Newborns Hotline
at 1-866-733-7733 or visit Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
to learn more about giving your baby the best life.

For more information, you can visit
Michigan.gov/Safe Delivery or by
calling the Safe Delivery Hotline

at 1-866-733-7733.

Surrendering your
baby is safe, legal
& confidential.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery
of Newborns Law

Safe Delivery Hotline:
1-866-733-7733

T
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https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200_7971---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200_7971---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200_7971---,00.html
http://www.hpclearinghouse.org/preframestart.html 

Safe Delivery Resources

Safe Delivery Metal Sign
(identifies a Safe Delivery Site)

E-mail to order Metal Sign

Safe Delivery Site
Surrendering your
baby is safe, legal

& confidential.

1-866-733-7733

Safe €
DELIVERY mDHHS

Safe. Legal. Confidential.  wegnoements

Safe Delivery Website

Safe"

DFLI\ ERY

ntial,

1-866-733-7733

Adoption Agency Directory

DELIVERY

Safe. Legal. Confidential.

Safe Delivery of Newborns Adoption Agency Directory

This is a list of Michigan private adoption agencies that will provide placement for a aurrsndsrsd
newborn in an approved adoptive home. The original list was compiled from a survey in

requesting information on agencies willing to place a newborn surrendered under Public Ad 232 of
2000, Safe Delivery of Newborns effective January 1, 2001.

This lst is organized alphabetically by Michigan counties where the private, nonprofitlicensed
adoption agencies are located and lists the name and phone number of the agencies. The agencies
that serve the entire state are alphabetically listed under “Serves Statewide".

Date Last Updated 8/12/2019

Adoption Agency Directory 1| P age

ESP Training — Roles & Responsibilities

M&DHHS

Michigan Department of Health & Human Services

Michigan’s Safe Delivery of
Newborns Law

Roles & Responsibilities of the Emergency Service Provider

MDHHS Clearinghouse

(to order information)

mD_HHS Health Promotions Clearinghouse

Welcome to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services Health Promotions Clearinghouse

On this site you will find materials produced by MDHHS that can better help you serve your
commmunity and improve your health and well-being. These materials are funded by MDHHS.

Materials are free of charge and intended for Michigan residents only.

If you have questions, want to place an order over the phone, or check on an order

Please call 1-800-353-8227

For iformaton o he Healty Mictigan Plan,
please vist their website a
Jorchigan Govheatymichgansian

For more information about the Michigan Department of
Health and Human Services, please visit their website at
hitp:f/www michigan. gov/mahhs.

Contact MDHHS
Michigan.gov Home
DA
Michigan News
Policies



https://www.michigan.gov/documents/dhs/Adoption_Directory_July_2012_final_400148_7.pdf
http://Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvM8Hbbc9DU&feature=youtu.be
http://www.healthymichigan.com/
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