Michigan Department of Health and Human Services Program Policy Division PO Box 30809 Lansing MI 48909



November 22, 2021

- <Provider Name>
- <Pre><Pre>rovider Address 1>
- <Pre><Pre>rovider Address 2>
- <City> <State> zipcode5-zipcode4

Dear Home Help Agency Provider:

RE: Fiscal Year (FY) 2022 Home Help Agency Caregiver Wage Increase

Pursuant to Public Act 87 of 2021, the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) will pay agency providers an additional \$2.63 per hour for Home Help services provided from October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022. This pay increase replaces the COVID-19 Premium Pay of \$2.52 per hour that ended on September 30, 2021.

Agency providers must use the pay increase to provide a \$2.35 per hour increase in agency caregiver wages, using the following MDHHS guidance: The \$2.35 per hour should be paid in addition to the worker's regular wage but cannot be less than the wage being received by, or the starting wage offered to, a qualifying direct care worker on March 1, 2020. (Please note that agency caregivers who provide Home Help services are qualifying direct care workers.) The wage increase must be recorded separately from base pay on the agency provider's payroll documents and should be labelled "FY22 Provider Pay Increase". The remaining \$0.28 per hour is intended to cover the agency provider's costs associated with implementing this wage increase.

Effective with October 2021 services, agency providers can bill MDHHS an additional \$2.52 per hour, for a total of \$18.71 per hour. Adult services workers will accept an MSA-1904 Home Help Agency Invoice for October 2021 services with either \$18.71 or the previous amount of \$18.60 recorded in the Hourly Rate field and will base payments on the new \$18.71 hourly rate. Effective with November 2021 services, agency providers must record \$18.71 in the Hourly Rate field.

The FY22 Provider Pay Increase is subject to audit and potential recoupment. Agency providers should retain documentation that supports the distribution of the \$2.35 hourly wage increase to agency caregivers and demonstrates that payments were made in accordance with the requirements in this letter. Section 231 of Public Act 87 of 2021 requires additional wage reporting. MDHHS is currently working on the legislatively mandated reporting requirements and will provide additional guidance once they are finalized.

Agency caregivers should continue to follow the guidance issued in March 2020 titled "Actions for Caregivers of Older Adults During COVID-19" along with the document "Actions for Caregivers for Older Adults Addendum Frequently Asked Questions". These documents describe recommendations for in-home direct care workers and methods to assure a face-to-face visit is needed. Links to the documents can be found at www.michigan.gov/homehelp under "URGENT".

If you have questions, contact Provider Support at 1-800-979-4662 or via email at providersupport@michigan.gov.

An electronic version of this document is available at www.michigan.gov/medicaidproviders >> Policy, Letters & Forms.

Sincerely,

Kate Massey, Director

Medical Services Administration