
Helping 
Clients 
Handle 
Eviction
MICHAEL R. DERBY
MANAGING ATTORNEY
LEGAL SERVICES OF
SOUTH CENTRAL MICHIGAN
JUNE 9, 2022



Why this 
mattersTHE RATE OF EVICTION 

IS HIGH IN MICHIGAN

17% IN 2018*
1 IN 6 RENTAL UNITS

ANNUALLY

EVICTION IS MOST 
COMMON IN 

LOCATIONS WITH 
HIGH RATES OF 

POVERTY

TEMPORARY COVID-19 
PANDEMIC EVICTION 

ASSISTANCE AND 
PROTECTION IS 

ENDING

*Michigan Evictions: Trends, Data Sources, and Neighborhood Determinants (Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Poverty Solutions, May 2020), https://poverty.umich.edu/files/2020/06/Michigan- Eviction-Project-working-paper.pdf; 



Michigan Supreme Court Administrative Office, 2022





Michigan 
Eviction 
Procedure



Self-help eviction is illegal

Landlord may not lock out tenants

Landlord may not consider an occupant a 
“squatter” in most circumstances

Landlord may not shut off electricity, water, or 
other utilities – or let them be shut off for 
nonpayment if paid by landlord

Landlord may not hold private property 
hostage

Landlord must provide written notice in all 
cases

Landlords may only evict with a court order

Police may only evict with a court order

Landlords who do lock-out, shut off utilities, or 
otherwise illegally evict can owe tenant $



Two common types of rental eviction:

Nonpayment of Rent Termination of Tenancy



Nonpayment of 
Rent 
Eviction

7 days notice – “Demand for Possession”

Landlord must state a specific amount of rent 
owed

May only be based on rent owed – not other $

Tenant has the right to cure by paying the rent

Landlord cannot evict if tenant pays the rent in 
the time required by law



Nonpayment of 
Rent

Example

Demand for Possession



Nonpayment of 
Rent

Example

Complaint for Nonpayment of Rent



Termination of 
Tenancy 
Eviction

30 days notice - “Notice to Quit”
7 days notice – Criminal or drug activity, Health Hazard 
(uncommon)

Purpose is to end the tenancy and evict the tenant 

No specific reason is needed if the tenancy is 
“month-to-month” (expired lease, no lease, etc.)

Must have just cause if:
- Eviction during a lease for a term (e.g. 12 months)
- Criminal activity, drugs, health hazard (special rules apply)
- Eviction from most subsidized housing
- Eviction of a mobile home owner in a mobile home park

Tenant must move unless they win or landlord 
agrees to continue the tenancy



Termination of 
Tenancy

Example

Notice to Quit



Termination of 
Tenancy

Example

Complaint to Recover Possession



Special Problem: Subsidized Housing
Many different kinds of subsidized housing
◦ Section 8, public housing, LIHTC, USDA, others

Rules are complicated and unfamiliar

Federal law can override State law

May have extra notice requirements and 
restrictions on when Landlord can evict

May be entitled to protection of “just cause” 
requirement even if month-to-month tenancy

Michigan law requires Landlord to declare 
whether the tenancy being ended is subsidized

Examples: 

◦ LIHTC and USDA apartments guarantee tenant 
cannot be evicted without “just cause”

◦ Section 8 Voucher Tenants must follow special 
requirements when moving with their voucher 
or risk losing their Section 8 entirely

◦ Public Housing Tenants are entitled to meet with 
Landlord and cure problem before any eviction is 
filed at court



Special Problem: Homeowner Eviction

Land contract forfeiture

“Rent to Own”
Mortgage Foreclosure

Property Tax Foreclosure

Some ownership situations are disguised as 
rental eviction and filed at court like a rental 
eviction

Each purchase or ownership situation is 
complex and has its own rules and procedures

Homeowners usually have more legal 
protections than renters

Tenants facing a ‘rental’ eviction that claim 
they own or are purchasing the home should 
seek legal counsel immediately



What happens at Court?
Pretrial Conference – preliminary hearing

May include (depends on the County):
◦ Consultation with CAA, DHHS, other services
◦ Consultation with a Legal Services attorney
◦ Mediation with a neutral mediator
◦ Parties can try to negotiate a settlement
◦ Schedule next hearing

Temporary COVID-19 rules have required court to 
give extra time for CERA application process

Bench Trial – case decided by the Judge

Landlord presents evidence and testifies

Tenant presents evidence and testifies

Judge decides whether Landlord has right to 
evict the Tenant

If Judge agrees with Landlord enters a 
Judgment providing 10 final days for Tenant to 
move from home (with rare exceptions)



How can Tenants avoid eviction?
Before a court case is filed:
◦ Talk to the Landlord, find out if situation can be 

resolved or agreement can be reached
◦ If Nonpayment of Rent: pay the rent or make 

arrangements to get it paid if no dispute over 
amount

◦ Seek assistance early
◦ Understand timelines to avoid crisis mode
◦ Avoiding a court filing is always preferred 

because there is no “eviction” case to be found 
by a future Landlord.

After a court case is filed:
◦ Seek legal advice
◦ Talk to the Landlord and see if settlement can be 

reached to dismiss case with payment of rent or 
correction of the “problem”

◦ If no defenses consider an agreement for a 
Conditional Dismissal that ends court case if 
Tenant pays or moves as agreed

◦ A Conditional Dismissal has the same legal 
function as a “Judgment” for purposes of 
qualifying for financial assistance.



Judgment versus 
Conditional 
Dismissal

Example Judgment for 

Nonpayment of Rent Eviction

Appears on Tenant court record as an 
“eviction”. 

Future Landlords may hold this against 
a Tenant.



Judgment versus 
Conditional 
Dismissal

Example Conditional Dismissal for

Nonpayment of Rent

If Tenant complies with terms of 
settlement the court case is fully 
Dismissed and no “eviction” can be 
found by a future Landlord.



What happens after eviction?
Lawful eviction happens after a Judgment is entered by the Court

Judgment usually provides 10 final days to vacate premises

Landlord may not disturb Tenant during the final 10 days

If Tenant remains after the 10 days the Landlord must file for an Order of Eviction

Order of Eviction can only be executed by a court officer – Sheriff, process server, etc.

After execution of Order of Eviction the Tenant cannot return to premises without permission

If Tenant returns to premises they are a Trespasser and can be arrested

If Tenant has not removed personal property Landlord can throw away property unless Tenant 
makes arrangements to retrieve and Landlord agrees



Additional Resources

www.michiganlegalhelp.org

Information about eviction
Self-help tools
Guide to Legal Help connects clients with 
legal services attorneys in their area

Counsel & Advocacy Law Line (CALL)

888-783-8190

Statewide legal services hotline
Clients can consult with an attorney

http://www.michiganlegalhelp.org/


Contact Information

Michael R. Derby
Legal Services of South Central Michigan
mrderby@lsscm.org
517-787-6111
540 N. Jackson Street, Jackson, MI 49201

mailto:mrderby@lsscm.org
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