

Universal Blood Lead Testing: Questions and Answers for Local Health Departments

In October 2023, Michigan passed a law that requires all children to be tested for lead in blood at 12 months and 24 months of age and at other ages depending on certain risk factors. This agebased approach to blood lead testing requirements for all children is commonly called "universal testing." The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) was required by law to develop administrative rules for implementation of the law. These rules went into effect April 30, 2025.

The following questions and answers provide information about the laws.

What is required under Michigan's new universal blood lead testing laws?

- It is the physician's responsibility to test or order the blood lead test.
- Children must be tested at 12 months and 24 months of age or by 72 months of age (age 6) if there is no record of a previous test.
- Children must also be tested as follows:
 - Between 48 months and 60 months of age (age 4) if they live in one of the 82 cities and townships designated by MDHHS as high risk. Visit <u>Additional Blood Lead</u> <u>Testing for High-Risk Jurisdictions</u> to view the list of cities and townships.
 - At least once between their most recent test and age 72 months if they are at high risk because they live in a home:
 - Built before 1978.
 - Where other children with elevated blood lead levels live.
 - Within three months of when a physician or parent determines that they are at high risk. Risk factors to consider are described in the <u>MDHHS Quick Reference Guide</u> for Providers.
- Testing requirements do not apply if the parent/guardian objects to the test. MDHHS recommends that the objection to the test be documented in the child's medical record.

The law specifies the required ages for testing in months of age. Does testing have to take place at exactly these months to comply with the law?

• While the law specifies exact months for testing, given the constraints of real-life clinical practice MDHHS believes that a reasonable interpretation of the age requirement is *around* specified months.

What is the anticipated impact of these new testing mandates on local health department staff who are delivering services to children with lead exposure?

- MDHHS anticipates local health departments will experience a gradual increase in the number of children tested and identified with elevated blood lead levels.
- Case management services will continue to be covered by MDHHS at \$221.74 per home visit by a nurse and \$110 per visit by a community health worker.
- Local health departments that are handling increased numbers who need assistance with capacity should contact the MDHHS Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program (CLPPP) at 517-335-8885 or MDHHS-CLPPP@michigan.gov.

Will there be any significant changes in protocols or procedures for elevated blood lead level case management?

• No. Training and guidance documents will be edited where needed with updates on the testing requirements, but these edits will not result in significant changes to protocols or procedures.

Will MDHHS be providing informational materials on the new testing requirements for local health department staff to use when engaging with healthcare providers and the public?

- Yes. MDHHS's CLPPP will continue communication with local health department program managers and nurse case managers for any forthcoming updates. Meetings and presentations with local health departments will occur on a continuous basis, both generally and specifically regarding the universal blood lead testing requirements.
- Written materials will be distributed via GovDelivery. GovDelivery is an email subscription management system that provides subscribers with news and information updates from MDHHS via email. Staff can sign up for GovDelivery messages by contacting the MDHHS CLPPP at 517-335-8885 or MDHHS-CLPPP@michigan.gov to be added to the email recipient list.
- Materials are available on <u>MiCLPPP.org</u> and <u>Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe</u>.

Where can the full text of the laws and rules be found?

- Public Act 146 of 2023 amends Part 54A of the Public Health Code by adding a new subsection, MCL 333.5474d, that requires a physician to test or order a blood lead test at age 12 months and 24 months and under several other circumstances and to make an entry of the testing on the minor's certificate of immunization.
- Public Act 145 of 2023 amends MCL 333.9206 by adding a requirement for the entry of the blood lead test on a minor's certificate of immunization in subsection 9206(1).
- Administrative rules are posted at <u>R 330-301-304</u>.

For more information about the universal blood lead testing requirements, contact the MDHHS Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 517-335-8885 or <u>MDHHS-CLPPP@michigan.gov</u>.

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group on the basis of race, national origin, color, sex, disability, religion, age, height, weight, familial status, partisan considerations, or genetic information. Sex-based discrimination includes, but is not limited to, discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, sex characteristics, and pregnancy.