

Should I order a capillary or venous sample?

A capillary or venous sample may be used for initial blood lead level (BLL) screening.

If performed incorrectly, capillary samples may be contaminated with exogenous lead and can yield false-positive results. Potential sources of specimen contamination include inadequate use of gloves during collection of sample, use of alcohol wipes contaminated with lead-based ink, inadequate cleansing of the patient's finger and failure to wipe off the first drop of blood.

If capillary results are equal to or greater than the CDC's Blood Lead Reference Value (BLRV) of 3.5 μg/dL, a venous sample is needed to confirm. A venous sample provides a more accurate measure of a child's lead exposure.

If the initial screening test used a venous sample, the patient does not need a confirmatory venous draw.

If unable to obtain a confirmatory sample, proceed with management based on capillary results and continue attempts to confirm.



Will health insurers cover the costs of the blood lead tests under these new mandates?

Blood lead testing is a "preventive health service" under the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), meaning it must be covered without additional copayment or coinsurance charges. Most private insurers are covered by the ACA.

How do I manage elevated test results (BLL \geq 3.5 µg/dL)?

Scan the QR code to view "Management of Blood Lead Test Results" for information on follow-up testing and actions.



Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention

For more information, contact the MDHHS Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 517-335-8885 or MDHHS-CLPPP@michigan.gov.

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group on the basis of race, national origin, color, sex, disability, religion, age, height, weight, familial status, partisan considerations, or genetic information. Sex-based discrimination includes, but is not limited to, discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, sex characteristics, and pregnancy.

MDHHS-Pub-4142 (4-25)

Lead Testing in Michigan

A Guide for Providers Applying Universal Testing Laws to Practice



Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Michigan requires blood lead testing of all young children at specified ages and additional testing for those children with selected lead exposure risk factors.

It is the physician's responsibility to order the test.





Children must be tested at ages **12 months** and **24 months**.

Children must be tested between **24 months** and **72 months of age**, if their record does not show that they were tested previously.

Children must also be tested at **age 4** if they live in geographic areas identified by MDHHS as **high-risk** for lead poisoning.



Scan the QR code or visit <u>Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe</u> for a complete list of high-risk areas, Questions and Answers and to view the law and rules. Children under 72 months of age should be tested an **additional time** if they live in a home built before 1978 or where other children with elevated blood lead levels live.

If a child is determined by a parent or physician to be at high risk for lead poisoning, the child must receive a test **within three months** of that determination.

By law, parents can choose not to have their child's blood tested for lead.

For more information, contact the MDHHS Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 517-335-8885 or MDHHS-CLPPP@michigan.gov.