

Michigan Law Updates

Beginning April 30, 2025, Michigan law requires blood lead testing for young children.

All children must be tested at ages **12 months** and **24 months**.

Children must be tested between **24 months and 72 months**, if their record does not show they were tested previously.

Children must also be tested at age 4 if they live in geographic areas identified by MDHHS as high-risk for lead poisoning.



Scan the QR code or visit <u>Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe</u> for a complete list of high-risk areas, questions and answers, and to view the law and rules.

Children under 72 months should be tested an **additional time** if they live in a home built before 1978 or in a home where other children with elevated blood lead levels live. If a child is determined by a parent or physician to be at high risk for lead poisoning, the child must receive a test within three months of that determination.

By law, parents can choose not to have their child's blood tested for lead.

For questions about blood lead testing, call the MDHHS Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 517-335-8885 or email them at MDHHS-CLPPP@michigan.gov.



Lead exposure can harm anyone, and is particularly harmful to younger children. Exposure to lead can cause problems with:



Learning.



Growth rates.



Behavior.



Development of the nervous system.



Speech.



Hearing.



The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group on the basis of race, national origin, color, sex, disability, religion, age, height, weight, familial status, partisan considerations, or genetic information. Sex-based discrimination includes, but is not limited to, discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, sex characteristics, and pregnancy.