
Follow-up Testing Follow-up Actions

BLL < 3.5 
μg/dL

As required by universal lead 
testing law.

•	 Provide education about nutrition with a focus on iron and 
calcium intake.

•	 Discuss common sources of lead exposure and lead exposure 
prevention.

BLL  3.5 – 
9 μg/dL 

Re-test every 3 months until BLL 
has declined for 2 – 4 tests.

Once BLL is declining, venous 
sample every 6 – 9 months.

•	 Follow above guidance.
•	 Obtain an exposure history to identify potential sources of lead.
•	 Assess for iron deficiency with laboratory testing. 
•	 Perform developmental screening.
•	 For children < 3 years, refer to Early On. 
•	 Consider other children who may be exposed.
•	 Encourage family to:

•	 Accept nursing case management services offered by the 
local health department.

•	 Apply to the Lead Safe Home Program  
(URL: bit.ly/ApplyLeadServices) to determine eligibility for 
environmental investigation and abatement.

BLL 10 – 
19 μg/dL

Re-test every 1 – 3 months until BLL 
has declined for 2 – 4 tests.

Once BLL is declining, venous 
sample every 3 – 6 months.

BLL 20 – 
44 μg/dL 

Re-test every 2 – 4-weeks until BLL 
has declined for 2 – 4 tests.

Once BLL is declining, venous 
sample every 1 – 3 months.

•	 Follow above guidance.
•	 Perform a complete history and physical exam, assessing the 

child for signs and symptoms related to lead exposure.
•	 Consider abdominal x-ray if ingested lead is suspected.
•	 Contact Michigan Poison Control (800-222-1222) for guidance.

BLL > 45 
μg/dL Obtain confirmatory venous sample 

urgently, within 48 hours.

•	 Follow above guidance.
•	 Contact local health department or the Michigan Department 

of Health and Human Services’ Childhood Lead Poisoning 
Prevention Program with result.

•	 Perform a complete history and physical exam including a 
detailed neurological exam.

•	 Family should NOT return to lead-contaminated home.
•	 Contact Michigan Poison Control (800-222-1222) for guidance 

regarding chelation treatment.

Management of Blood Lead Test Results  
Guidance for Health Care Providers

Michigan law requires blood lead testing of all young children at 12 months and 24 months and at other ages 
depending on certain risk factors. See reverse side for more information on the requirements.

Providers may use a capillary or venous sample for initial blood lead screening. False positive results may occur with 
capillary sample contamination. If capillary test results are equal to or greater than 3.5 micrograms per deciliter, a 
venous sample must be used to confirm the result without delay. If unable to obtain a timely venous sample, proceed 
with follow-up actions and continue attempts to confirm.

QUESTIONS? 
Contact us at 517-335-8885  
Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe

http://bit.ly/ApplyLeadServices
http://Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe


Blood Lead Risk Assessment

 

Michigan’s New Blood Lead Testing Requirements

Children must be tested at 12 months and 24 months of age or by 72 
months of age (age 6) if there is no record of a previous test.

Children must also be tested:
•	 At age 4 if they live in one of the 82 cities and townships designated by 

MDHHS as high risk. The list of high risk jurisdictions can be viewed at 
bit.ly/LeadHighRisk.

•	 At least once between their most recent test and age 72 months if they 
are at high risk because they live in a home: 
•	 Built before 1978.  
•	 Where other children with elevated blood lead levels live.

•	 Within three months of when a physician or parent determines that 
they are at high risk. 

The law states:
•	 It is the physician’s responsibility 

to test or order the test.
•	 All elevated blood lead tests  

(≥ 3.5 µg/dL) from capillary 
blood must be confirmed with a 
venous test.

•	 Testing requirements do not 
apply if the parent/guardian 
objects to the test. 

The following is a guide to identifying risk factors of lead exposure.

Does the child live in or regularly 
visit a home built before 1978? 
(Note: renovations can greatly 
increase risk of lead exposure in 
homes built before 1978.)

Does the child live in or regularly 
visit a home that had a water 
test with high lead levels?

Does the child have a sibling 
or friend who has an elevated 
blood lead level?

Does the child come in contact 
with an adult whose job or hobby 
involves exposure to lead (battery 
manufacturing/recycling, brass/bronze 
foundries, abrasive blasting outdoor 
metal structures, renovation of pre-1978 
buildings, regular use of firing ranges, 
bullet reloading or casting, stained glass)?

Does the child’s caregiver  
use home remedies (e.g.,  
ba-baw-san, daw tway, greta, 
azarcon, balguti kesaria, ghasard) 
or imported spices that may 
contain lead?

Does the child have behaviors 
suggesting high risk for lead 
exposure, including pica and 
developmental delays?

To learn more about lead poisoning prevention and blood lead testing, contact the 
Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program: 517-335-8885 or Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe.

http://Michigan.gov/MiLeadSafe
https://www.michigan.gov/mileadsafe/learn/policieslaws/lead-testing-jurisdictions



