Changes Started in January 2020

Due to a new state law, some Healthy Michigan Plan (HMP) changes began in January 2020. The new changes are likely to affect many HMP beneficiaries. 

 

What are the changes?

Some HMP beneficiaries must report at least 80 hours of work or activities each month to maintain their health care coverage. If this requirement is not met, beneficiaries could lose their health care coverage.

Click here for more information on work requirements.

 

Who has to do this?

Anyone who is 19-62 years old and enrolled in the Healthy Michigan Plan is required to report work or activities unless they are exempt (excused). Beneficiaries have been sent letters about the changes. 

B 19-36 (September 2019) - sent to beneficiaries who have Healthy Michigan Plan coverage as of September 1, 2019 and who do not currently meet an exemption based on MDHHS records. This includes beneficiaries in Fee-for-Service (FFS) and health plans.

B 19-37 (October 2019) - sent to beneficiaries who have Healthy Michigan Plan coverage as of September 1, 2019 and who meet an exemption based on MDHHS records. 

B 19-43 (October 2019 and January 2020) - sent to beneficiaries who have Healthy Michigan Plan coverage and  are exempt because they are age 62 or over. 

B 19-48 (December 2019) - sent to beneficiaries who have Healthy Michigan Plan coverage as of November 1, 2019 and who do not currently meet an exception based on MDHHS records. This includes beneficiaries in Fee-for-Service (FFS) and health plans.

B 19-49 (December 2019) - sent to beneficiaries who have Healthy Michigan Plan coverage as of November 1, 2019 and who are exempt becasue they were assigned to the Research Group Exemption. 

B 19-37B 19-46 and B 19-47 (January 2020) - sent to beneficiaries who have Healthy Michigan Plan coverage as of November 2019 and who meet an exemption based on MDHHS records.

(letter numbers are in the lower left corner of the letter)

 

How can beneficiaries get an exemption?

Some HMP beneficiaries are exempt (excused) from the work requirements because they have a medical condition or are disabled, pregnant, or have another reason.  Beneficiaries can tell MDHHS about their reason to be excused in one of three ways:

  • Online- If a beneficiary has a MI Bridges account, they can use the MI Bridges Portal by visiting michigan.gov/mibridges
  • By phone- Beneficiaries can call the HMP Work Requirements and Exemption Reporting Line at 1-833-895-4355 (TTY 1-866-501-5656).
  • In person-Beneficiaries can get help telling us about exemptions at their local MDHHS office.

 

How can beneficiaries report work or other activities each month?

Unless they are exempt, HMP beneficiaries must complete 80 hours of work or other activities, like job search, each month.  Beneficiaries must also report these work activities to MDHHS each month in one of three ways:

  • Online- If a beneficiary has a MI Bridges account, they can use the MI Bridges Portal by visiting michigan.gov/mibridges
  • By phone- Beneficiaries can call the HMP Work Requirements and Exemption Reporting Line at 1-833-895-4355 (TTY 1-866-501-5656).
  • In person-Beneficiaries can get help telling us about work activities at their local MDHHS office.

 

How can someone get health care coverage if they lose Healthy Michigan Plan coverage because they did not meet the work requirements? 

If Healthy Michigan Plan coverage ends because an individual didn't meet the work requirements and they do not have an exemption (reason to be excused), they will need to serve a penalty month and meet requirements before they can get Healthy Michigan Plan coverage again.

Once someone meets requirements, they can reapply for Healthy Michigan Plan coverage at www.michigan.gov/mybridges or call 855-276-4627 (TTY. 866-501-5656). If they think they should be exempt (excused), they can report an exemption as part of the reapplication process.

To get health care coverage when an individual does not meet the work requirements: 

  • If income or who lives in an individual’s household changes, or they become pregnant or disabled, they can reapply. They may be eligible for other health care coverage programs. Go to www.michigan.gov/mibridges or call 855-276-4627 (TTY: 866-501-5656).
     
  • If no household circumstances have changed, an individual can apply for health care coverage through the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. They can go to www.healthcare.gov to see if they are eligible.
     
  • For information on other free or low cost health care services, go to www.michigan.gov/mibridges and click on “Explore Resources”.

As a reminder, the mihealth card does not contain eligibility information and does not guarantee eligibility. The provider should use the mihealth card to verify a beneficiary's eligibility information prior to rendering services though the Community Health Automated Medicaid Processing System (CHAMPS) Eligibility Inquiry and/or a vendor that receives eligibility data from CHAMPS.

                                                                                                                         

HMP Toolkit Header

Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Cheat Sheet (N/A)

Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Check Off List (N/A)

Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Poster (10)
Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Poster w/Tear Off (N/A)
Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Rack Card (500)
Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Table Tent (10)
Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Reporting Information Magnet (250)

Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Summary (MSA-1913) (N/A)
Healthy Michigan Plan Work Requirements Booklet (MSA-1912) (250)

These items are available for order in limited quantities. Order limits are indicated in parentheses (*). Providers who would like printed copies may email MSA-Forms@michigan.gov with the shipping address and requested quantity.

 

HMP Informational Webinars

 

Additional Changes Coming in 2020

Some HMP health plan members who have had HMP health care coverage for at least 48 months will be required to make new premium payments on time and complete an annual Health Risk Assessment (HRA) to maintain health care coverage.

Click here for more information on the premium increase and healthy behavior requirements.

More information about this requirement will be released later in 2020.