MDCH Designates, Recognizes Trauma Centers in Michigan

Contact: Jennifer Smith 517-241-2112

For Immediate Release: December 15, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Traumatic injuries are the leading cause of death for people younger than age 45. The Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH), in collaboration with partners in the healthcare community, has developed and operationalized a statewide trauma system to better serve residents with severe injuries. Today, in an important step in the continued trauma system development, MDCH recognized 20 specialized hospitals in Michigan as Levels I, II or III trauma facilities.

“Today, I am proud to recognize these hospitals and our healthcare professionals for their commitment to ensuring Michigan residents get the best possible care at the times they need it most,” said Nick Lyon, director of the MDCH. “This event and the designation of trauma centers is an essential component of our comprehensive trauma system and promoting health and safety within our communities.”

Since the creation of the trauma commission 14 years ago, Michigan has been dedicated to the concept of a regionalized, coordinated and accountable trauma system. The vision for and implementation of these plans are the culmination of successful partnerships between MDCH, the Michigan Health & Hospital Association, the Michigan Trauma Coalition, the Michigan Chapter of the American College of Surgeons, the Statewide Trauma Advisory Committee, and countless professionals dedicated to the care of the injured.

A major component of trauma system development is the verification and designation of trauma facilities. Verification is the process where a recognized entity provides an objective, external review of institutional capability and performance. The American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ACS-COT) provides verification for Level I, Level II, and Level III trauma facilities in Michigan and across the country.

MDCH can provide verification of Level III or Level IV facilities who request this in-state process. Designation is a status that is conferred by the MDCH on trauma facilities that have been verified by either the ACS-COT or by the State of Michigan. The hospitals recognized today are the first in Michigan to be designated by MDCH. The following hospitals received their trauma center designation:

  • Beaumont Hospital – Grosse Pointe, Level III Trauma Facility
  • Beaumont Hospital – Royal Oak, Level I Trauma Facility and Level II Pediatric Trauma Facility
  • Borgess Medical Center, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Botsford Hospital, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Covenant Healthcare, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Genesys Regional Medical Center, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital, Level I Pediatric Trauma Facility
  • Henry Ford Hospital, Level I Trauma Facility
  • Henry Ford Macomb Hospital, Level II Trauma Facility
  • McLaren Flint, Level III Trauma Facility
  • McLaren Macomb Hospital, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Mercy Health Saint Mary’s, Level II Trauma Facility
  • MidMichigan Medical Center, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Munson Medical Center, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Oakwood Hospital Southshore, Level II Trauma Facility
  • Sparrow Hospital, Level I Trauma Facility
  • Spectrum Health Butterworth, Level I Trauma Facility
  • St. John Hospital and Medical Center, Level II Trauma Facility and Level II Pediatric Trauma Facility
  • St. Joseph Mercy Oakland, Level II Trauma Facility
  • UP Health System – Marquette, Level II Trauma Facility

MDCH expects many more hospitals will be recognized in the coming months and year for their commitment to providing quality care by becoming designated trauma facilities. Previously, the American College of Surgeons has verified trauma centers in Michigan, but this is the first time the state of Michigan has designated trauma facilities. For a list of verified trauma centers in the state, visit

To receive the trauma center designation, a hospital is required to have 24-hour availability of a team consisting of specially trained healthcare providers who have expertise in the care of severely injured patients. A trauma is defined as bodily injury caused by the application of external forces.

Nationally, the conversation about regionalization, making the most efficient use of resources, enhancing communication, categorizing facilities to facilitate decision making, continues to be integral to the healthcare discussion. The Michigan trauma system embodies the commitment to ensuring the right patient receive the right resource at the right time with a goal of reducing delays to definitive care and ensuring the best possible outcomes.

For more information about Michigan’s trauma system, visit For national information, visit the American College of Surgeons website at