Skip to main content

Communities for a Lifetime

The Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration is proud to highlight communities across the state that have been recognized for engaging in an assessment and improvement planning process through the Community for a Lifetime (CFL) program to help make their community more "age-friendly."

As Michigan's population ages, communities that adapt to meet the needs of older adults, their families, and caregivers, will attract and retain more residents and be able to provide them with a better quality of life.

The CFL program was a part of a broader national aging-friendly communities movement and was developed by the Michigan Commission on Services to the Aging in 2007 with input from the State Advisory Council on Aging. While this program is no longer operational, similar opportunities are offered through organizations such as AARP through their Age-Friendly Communities. Additional information can be found at: An Introduction to the AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities.

The following communities have been recognized as a CFL:

Communities above conducted an "aging-friendly" community assessment, established priorities, and developed a community action plan to qualify for CFL recognition.

A variety of additional resources are available for communities that are interested in being "age-friendly."

National Assessment Models:

Other Community Assessment and Improvement Resources:

Walkability and Complete Streets: