The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Informed Consent for Abortion - Patients
Under a current Michigan statute, you must complete and print the Informed Consent Confirmation Form (Arabic | Spanish) at least 24 hours prior to the abortion procedure. Please be sure to present this form to your physician or a qualified person assisting your physician. This is the only way to legally verify you have reviewed the required information online.
The statute currently requires that MDHHS make specific information available to abortion providers and their patients. MDHHS does not necessarily endorse all the information it is required to make available under this statute. You may review the following information by selecting the links below. When you are ready to move on, click "Finish."
Prescreening Summary on Prevention of Coercion to Abort
A Michigan statute currently makes it illegal to coerce a woman to have an abortion.
Other Michigan statutes currently require all abortion providers to ask any woman seeking an abortion if she has been coerced to have the abortion against her will. You will be asked whether you are being coerced to have an abortion at your first visit to the doctor’s office or clinic for an abortion.
Help is available if you are being threatened or intimidated; are being physically, emotionally, or sexually harmed; or feel afraid for any reason.
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233)
Michigan Sexual Assault Hotline: 1-855-VOICES4 (864-2374)
National Sexual Assault Hotline: 1-800-656-HOPE (4673)
Written Standardized Summaries of Abortion Procedures
A Michigan statute currently requires MDHHS to provide written summaries of the various medical procedures that may safely end a pregnancy.
Suction Curettage (D&C) or Vacuum Aspiration Abortion
Second Trimester Labor Induced Abortion
Fetal Development Index (illustrations from 4-28 weeks)
A Michigan statute currently requires MDHHS to provide a description of these specific stages of gestational development. Note that fetuses may develop at different rates. The descriptions of fetal development are not intended to be complete.
Fetal development descriptions and illustrations (Arabic | Spanish)
A Michigan statute requires MDHHS to include a list of entities that provide free ultrasounds. MDHHS does not necessarily endorse the viewpoints of any particular provider, facility, or clinic included in this list (Arabic | Spanish) or the information and services they might provide. Some entities listed may not be licensed health care facilities and/or capable of providing care consistent with accepted clinical standards and evidence-based medicine.
Prenatal Care and Parenting Information
Michigan statutory law requires MDHHS to make available a prenatal care and parenting information pamphlet. (Arabic | Spanish)