Suburban Mobility Authority For Regional Transportation (SMART)

Mr. John C. Hertel,
General Manager
535 Griswold Street., Ste. 600
Detroit, MI 48226
Phone: 313-223-2100
Information: 866-962-5515
Customer Service: M-F 6:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sat 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.



map showing provider location 
System Profile 
The Suburban Mobility Authority for Regional Transportation (SMART) is the suburban bus system operating in 76 communities of Macomb, Oakland and Wayne Counties covering more than 1,100 square miles. The authority operates over 230 fixed route buses and 350 paratransit vehicles. SMART is responsible for the planning, construction and operation of the public transportation facilities and services within four counties of southeastern Michigan (Wayne, Oakland, Macomb, and Monroe); excluding the City of Detroit in which this responsibility belongs to the Detroit Department of Transportation. SMART is also the fiduciary for state and federal grant funds passed on to communities in Wayne, Oakland, Macomb and Monroe counties, including areas that do not contribute financially to SMART services and operation.


System Characteristics 

Days/Hours of Operations: M-SUN 22 Hours A Day
Employees: 780 (763 FT and 17 PT)