Muskegon Area Transit System





map showing provider location 
System Profile 
The Muskegon Area Transit System (MATS) was originally formed in 1969 as the Muskegon County Metropolitan Transportation System (MCMTS). In 1972, MCMTS absorbed the operation of another public transit organization, the Muskegon Area Transit Authority (MTA), and became the Muskegon Area Transit System. MATS is a Department of Muskegon County and is authorized to provide public mass transportation services within Muskegon County. MATS currently operates service on 12 fixed-routes with a 100 percent accessible fleet, utilizing 16 buses during maximum peak service and serving urbanized and regional areas consisting of the cities of Muskegon, Muskegon Heights, Roosevelt Park, Norton Shores, Muskegon Township, Whitehall and Montague. MATS also provides paratransit services throughout Muskegon County to meet public demand.