ISTEA broadened the scope of eligibility for funding and required wider participation in the project selection process. As part of this process, transit providers and cities/villages under 5,000 population became full partners and, therefore, part of the project selection process. Rural Task Force membership, therefore, will include ONE representative per county from:
  • The county road commission
  • The rural transit operator(s) within the county
  • The cities/villages under 5,000 population
  • MDOT (voting on TEDF-D projects only)

TEA-21 continues the requirement that the transportation concerns of Indian tribal governments having jurisdiction over lands within county boundaries be considered during the process. Therefore, it is necessary that they be included at the county level meetings, prior to the rural task force meeting.