Skip to main content

Michigan Historical Commission

The Michigan Historical Commission advises the director of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources and approves Michigan Historical Markers. The governor appoints seven commission members to four-year terms, the speaker of the House of representatives and the Senate majority leader each appoint one member to a two-year term.

Michigan Historical Commission Members

  • Laura Rose Ashlee, Okemos
  • Joseph Calvaruso, Galesburg
  • Timothy Chester, Vice President, Grand Rapids
  • Brian James Egen, President, Monroe
  • Delia Fernández-Jones, Lansing
  • Eric P. Hemenway, Harbor Springs
  • Larry J. Wagenaar, Ada
  • Sandra S. Clark, Ex Officio, Director, Michigan History Center

Programs and Initiatives

Unless noted, all meetings are held at the Michigan Library and Historical Center in 5th Floor Board Room. Meetings begin at 10 a.m. and are open to the public; agendas will be posted here in PDF format as they become available. The Michigan Library and Historical Center is located at 702 West Kalamazoo Street, Lansing. The building and visitor parking are on the north side of Kalamazoo Street, two blocks east of M. L. King Jr. Boulevard.

For Zoom access to these meetings, please contact Michelle Davis.

Accessibility Notice: To request an accommodation or other assistance for effective participation, please contact the person listed below as far in advance as possible to the scheduled event. All reasonable efforts will be made to arrange requested accommodations. Please contact: Michelle Davis, Michigan Historical Marker Program Coordinator, at 517-331-7374 or

2024 Michigan Historical Commission Meeting Schedule

  • Feb. 8, Agenda
  • April 11, Agenda
  • June 13, Agenda
  • Aug. 22 at 9:30 a.m., Mackinac Historic State Parks, Mackinac Island
  • Nov. 7

Commission Documents

Meeting minutes

For minutes of meetings held before 2021, please send an email request to