# **Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission**

Hybrid meeting held in-person and Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <a href="https://www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>.

Wednesday, January 24, 2024 10:17 a.m.- 5:22 p.m.

> Cadillac Place 3044 W. Grand Blvd Detroit, MI 48202

# **MINUTES**

**PRESENT:** Elaine Andrade

Donna Callaghan

Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, MI)

Anthony Eid Brittni Kellom

Rhonda Lange (remotely from Reed City, MI)

Steven Terry Lett Marcus Muldoon Cynthia Orton

Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne Co, MI)

Janice Vallette

Erin Wagner (remotely from Charlotte, MI)

Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Twp, Saginaw, MI)

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Edward Woods III, MICRC Executive Director

Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff

Fink Bressack

John Morgan, Election Data Services Kim Brace, Election Data Services

**ABSENT:** None

#### CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 10:17 a m.

# **ROLL CALL**

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met with 13 Commissioners present.

# ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

**MOTION:** Moved by **Commissioner Lett** to approve the meeting agenda. Supported by **Commissioner Wagner**. **Commissioner Orton**, **Chair** held a vote by verbal reply. **MOTION APPROVED**.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Vallete, Vice Chair, put forward a motion "To begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" which was adopted. Eight individuals provided in-person public comment. Twelve individuals provided remote public comment: Ryan Reece, Charles Hodgeman, Mia Robertson, Asraa Bazzi, Rylee McDermott, Rory McGillen, Mikala Cox, Alex McGuire, Kyle Setfanski, Chris Gilmer-Hill, Caitlin Neiling, Robert Dindoffer.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at: <a href="https://www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>.

**MOTION:** Commissioner Szetela moved that the Commission drop the appeal to the U.S. Supreme Court. Seconded by Commissioner Lange. Commissioner Orton, Chair, ruled the motion out of order at this time, and to be placed on tomorrow's agenda.

MOTION: Commissioner Eid moved to vote on the budget presented by Executive Director Woods which includes the litigation budget. Second by Commissioner Lett. Seconded by Commissioner Lett. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a roll call vote. 9-3. MOTION APPROVED.

**Commissioner Vote** 

**Elaine Andrade** Yes

**Donna Callaghan** Yes

Juanita Curry Yes

**Anthony Eid** Yes

**Rhonda Lange** No

Steve Lett Yes

Marcus Muldoon Yes

**Cynthia Orton** Yes

Rebecca Szetela No

Janice Vallette Yes

Erin Wagner No

**Richard Weiss** Yes

# **MAPPING**

Collaborative mapping by the Commission.

MOTION: Commissioner Orton, moved to break for lunch and return at 1:00 p.m. Seconded by Commissioner Weiss. Commissioner Orton, Chair held a verbal aye/nay vote. MOTION APPROVED.

**COMMISSION** returned from lunch at 1:11pm

Commissioner Orton, Chair asked for attendance roll call.

Meeting called back to order at 1:11pm. Roll Call:

**Commissioner Vote** 

**Elaine Andrade** Present

**Donna Callaghan** Present

Juanita Curry Absent

**Anthony Eid** Present

**Brittni Kellom** Absent

**Rhonda Lange** Present (remotely attending from Reed City, Michigan)

**Steve Lett** Present

Marcus Muldoon Present

**Cynthia Orton** Present

**Rebecca Szetela** Present (remotely from Wayne County, Michigan)

Janice Vallette Present

Erin Wagner Absent

Richard Weiss Present (remotely from Saginaw Twp, Saginaw, MI)

11 Commissioners present after lunch recess; quorum met.

# **MAPPING**

Collaborative mapping by the Commission.

# **REPORTS**

Executive Director Woods reminded the Commission and Mr. Brace that he had already provided the mapping information showing similarities and differences in districts.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

MOTION: Moved by Commissioner Lett, to Adjourn, Seconded by Commissioner Weiss. Commission Orton, Chair, held a verbal vote. MOTION APPROVED.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:22 p.m.