Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <u>www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</u>

Thursday, February 15, 2024 Townhall Meeting 9:00am-12:00pm, 1:00pm - 4:00pm, 5:00pm – 8:00pm

MINUTES

PRESENT:	 Elaine Andrade (remotely from Imlay Twp, MI) Donna Callaghan (remotely from Mexico) Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, MI) Anthony Eid (remotely from Detroit, MI) Brittni Kellom (joined at 9:15 am, remotely from Wayne Complexity) Rhonda Lange (remotely from Lake Co, MI) Steven Terry Lett (remotely from Lee Co, FL) Marcus Muldoon (remotely from Carleton, MI) Cynthia Orton (remotely from Wayne Complexity) Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne Co, MI) Janice Vallette (remotely from Highland Twp, MI) Erin Wagner (remotely from Eaton Twp, MI) Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Twp, Saginaw, MI) 	
OTHERS PRESI	ENT:	Edward Woods III, MICRC Executive Director Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff Fink Bressack

ABSENT: None

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 9:02 a.m.

ROLL CALL

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met with 12 Commissioners present.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: Moved by **Commissioner Lett** to approve the meeting agenda. Supported by **Commissioner Vallette. Commissioner Orton, Chair,** held a vote by verbal reply. **MOTION APPROVED.**

VIRTUAL TOWNHALL MEETING - PUBLIC COMMENT

MOTION: Commissioner Weiss moved to adjust public comment speaking times during Townhalls to no more than three times per hour at the standard 90 seconds; those that haven't spoken yet will speak first, then repeat commenters will be called to speak. Seconded by Commissioner Lett. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a vote by verbal reply. MOTION APPROVED.

Fifty individuals provided public comment: Aleander Haider, Anastasey Manolatos, Andre Bryant, Anthony Scannell, Bridget, Cassy, Chris Habiby, Christina D, Christine Holmes, Craig Farrand, David Allen, David Bell, Delaney McDermott, Dennis Shaw, Dina Sharabian Stuber, Dr. Muthamaki, Dylan Linklater, George Higgins, Graeme Hewson, Gwendolyn Jones, James Gallant, Jasmine, Kathleen, Kenya Willard, Kevin Hardges, Kimberly, Kyle Stefanski, Lisa Louise Lewis, Lulu Annous, Mari Rymar, Mikala Cox, Miss Maia, Mohammad Shamma, Mona Mawari, Nagi, Oscar Castaneda, Pamela Whitaker, Percy, Pierce Ward, Regina Smith, Richard Michalski, Robert Dindoffer, Rory McGillen, Ruth Johnson, Salah Ali, Samraa Luqman, Samy Othman, Tracy Pees, Trenton Wormley, Yvette McElroy Anderson.

REPORTS

Executive Director Report- Executive Director Woods provided a report.

Legal Liaison Report- Commissioner Lett provided an update regarding potential fees related to litigation. Atty Nate Fink shared additional information on this topic.

Commission took an one hour lunch recess and returned at 1:00pm.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, asked for an attendance Roll Call.

<u>Commissioner</u>	Present/Absent
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Present
Anthony Eid	Present (2 minutes late for roll call)
Brittni Kellom	Present (15 minutes late for roll call)
Rhonda Lange	Absent
Steve Lett	Present (2 minutes late for roll call)
Marcus Muldoon	Present (15 minutes late for roll call)
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Present (15 minutes late for roll call)
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Absent
Richard Weiss	Present

6 Commissioners present, at roll call - there was not a quorum. Commissioners Lett and Eid joined 2 minutes after roll call was taken- there was still not a quorum.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, acknowledged Attorney Nate Fink, Commission's Legal Counsel. Atty Nate Fink shared an additional Legal Liaison update. He just learned from the Baker Hostetler Law Team that Justice Kavanaugh granted the

extension application. The jurisdictional statement deadline to file with the U.S. Supreme court is now moved out to 60 days.

MOTION: Commission Orton, Chair, moved to give speakers 2 minutes to speak, 1 time per hour but the speaker/commenter topic must be germane to the Redistricting map topic, for today's Townhall meeting only. If the Commissioner engages with the speaker/commenter, then the 2 minutes dissolves until the conversation completes. Seconded by **Commissioner Eid.**

Commissioner Lett moved to amend the motion to expand the speaker/commenter time to 5 minutes 1 time per hour. **Seconded by Commissioner Eid.**

Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a roll call vote, **8-0. MOTION FAILS;** threshold for quorum was not met.

ROLL CALL to Amendment

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Juanita Curry	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Janice Vallette	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

RETURN at 3:00pm from recess – Roll Call

Commissioner Orton, Chair, asked for an attendance Roll Call.

<u>Commissioner</u> <u>Present/Absent</u>

Elaine Andrade Present

Present
Absent
Present
Present
Absent
Present
Absent
Present

10 Commissioners were present, there was a quorum.

MOTION: Commissioner Lett moved that each speaker have five minutes, one, time per hour, with the subject matter being limited to mapping for Commission maps. Seconded by **Commissioner Eid. Commissioner Orton, Chair,** asked for a roll call vote, **9-1. MOTION APPROVED**

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Brittni Kellom	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Marcus Muldoon	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	No

Janice Vallette	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

RETURNED at 5:00 p.mm from scheduled dinner break – Roll Call Commissioner Orton, Chair, asked for an attendance Roll Call.

Commissioner	Present/Absent
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Absent
Anthony Eid	Absent
Brittni Kellom	Present
Rhonda Lange	Absent
Steve Lett	Present
Marcus Muldoon	Absent
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Absent
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Absent
Richard Weiss	Present

7 Commissioners were present, there was not a quorum at roll call.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, thanked the speaker/commenters for their participation.

Due to no quorum, a motion was not made to adjourn. The meeting ended at 8:01p.m.