# Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

In Person Meeting with Virtual Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <a href="http://www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>

## Thursday, February 22, 2024 Second Ebenezer Church Address Detroit, MI 10:10am – 8:05pm

### **MINUTES**

PRESENT	Elaine Andrade (remotely from Imlay Township, Michigan) Donna Callaghan (remotely from Mexico) Anthony Eid Brittni Kellom Steven Lett (remotely from Lee County, Florida) Marcus Muldoon Cynthia Orton Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne County, Michigan) Janice Vallette Richard Weiss
Township, Michigan)	Erin Wagner (joined at 10:18 a.m., remotely from Meridian
ABSENT	Commissioners: Curry, Lange,
OTHERS PRESENT	Edward Woods III, Executive Director Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") Staff Nate Fink, Fink Bressack John Morgan, EDS

#### CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC) to order at 10:10 a.m.

**ROLL CALL** MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met.

### **ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA**

**MOTION:** Approve the agenda. Moved by **Commissioner Lett.** Supported by **Commissioner Muldoon. Commissioner Orton, Chair,** held a vote by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

### PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

**Commissioner Vallette, Vice Chair,** put forward a motion "To begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" which was adopted. Seventy-two individuals provided in person public comment. Eighteen individuals provided virtual public comment: Claudia Aboud, Adam, James Gallant, Kyle Stefanski, Anthony Scannell, Delaney McDermott, Haneen Eldiri, Lama Ahamad, Zana, Christian Grant, Alex King, Naureen Almahameed, Courtney Hall, Rima Meroueh, Adel Mozip, Moe Hussein, Nagi, Samra Luqman.

A complete inventory of live and written public comments is available at: <u>www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</u>.

MAPPING PROCESS - Sarah Reinhardt, MDOS presented.

MOTION: Move to adopt the proposed Mapping Procedure presented by Sarah Reinhardt – MDOS. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Eid. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a vote by roll call. By a vote of 9-0, MOTION APPROVED.

<b>Commissioner</b>	Present/Absent
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Brittni Kellom	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Marcus Muldoon	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Janice Vallette	Yes
<b>Richard Weiss</b>	Yes

### **REPORTS** Executive Director Report. Executive Director Woods – no report.

Legal Liaison Report. Commissioner Lett – no report.

MDOS Report. MDOS – no report.

## ADJOURNMENT

No motion made, there was not a quorum present.

The meeting was ended at 8:05 p.m.