Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <u>www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</u>.

Thursday, December 28, 2023 1:03 a.m. – 4:17 p.m.

MINUTES

PRESENT:Douglas James Clark (remotely from Huntington Beach,
California)
Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, Michigan)
Anthony Eid (remotely from Detroit, Michigan)
Brittni Kellom (joined remotely at 1:31 p.m. from Detroit,
Michigan)
Rhonda Lange (remotely from Osceola County, Michigan)
Steven Terry Lett (remotely from Lee County, Florida)
Cynthia Orton (remotely from Battle Creek, Michigan)
Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Highland Township, Michigan)
Erin Wagner (remotely from Eaton Township, Michigan)
Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Township, Saginaw,
Michigan)

OTHERS PRESENT:	Edward Woods III, Executive Director	
	Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff	
	David Fink, Fink Bressack	
	Nate Fink, Fink Bressack	
	Kate McKnight, Baker Hostetler	
	Richard Raile, Baker Hostetler	

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 1:03 p.m..

ROLL CALL

MDOS staff called the roll. A quorum was met with 10 Commissioners present at Roll Call.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: Moved by **Commissioner Wagner** to strike the Executive Director contract from the agenda. Supported by Commissioner Lange. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a roll call vote. **MOTION APPROVED, 8-2.**

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Doug Clark	No
Juanita Curry	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Brittni Kellom	(Not present)
Rhonda Lange	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	Yes
Janice Vallette	No
Erin Wagner	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

MOTION: Moved by Commissioner Lange to add to the agenda a discussion on whether to continue to retain Bruce Adelson as the Commission's VRA counsel considering the Agee case. Supported by Commissioner Wagner. Motion withdrawn by Commissioner Lange.

MOTION: Moved by Commissioner Lett to adopt today's agenda. Supported by Commissioner Szetela. MOTION APPROVED.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

MOTION: Moved by Commissioner Orton, Chair, to begin public comment pertaining to the agenda topics portion of the agenda, which was adopted without

objection. Three individuals provided public comment: James Gallant, Dustin Witjes, and Robert Dindoffer.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at <u>www.michigan.gov/micrc</u>.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

a. Agee Case Update. Commissioner Orton, Chair, asked Commissioner Lett (legal liaison) to facilitate this discussion, along with Attorney David Fink. No objections from the Commission.

MOTION: Moved by Commission Lett to file a notice of appeal along with a motion for an immediate stay at the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Michigan and the U.S. Supreme Court. **Supported by Commissioner Weiss. NO VOTE taken; quorum lost.**

MOTION: Moved by Commissioner Eid to amend the appeals motion to move to closed session meeting, specifically to hear the legal opinion from litigation counsel regarding the Agee case (pending litigation), pursuant to Section 6.2.5 of the Commission's Rules of Procedure. **Supported by Commissioner Clark.** Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a roll call vote. **MOTION APPROVED 8-3**.

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Doug Clark	Yes
Juanita Curry	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Brittini Kellom	Yes
Rhonda Lange	No
Steve Lett	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	No
Janice Vallette	Yes
Erin Wagner	No

Richard Weiss Yes

Commission moved to closed session. Closed Session (specifically a connect with Legal Counsel regarding pending litigation) commenced at 1:47pm.

Return to Open Session

Executive Director Edward Woods, III shared that Commissioners were given a 10-minute grace period to return to the Regular Meeting. Regular meeting set to commence at 3:55 p.m.

At 3:55 p.m., **Commissioner Orton, Chair,** called the meeting back to order. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a roll call.

Commissioner	<u>Vote</u>
Doug Clark	Present
Juanita Curry	Present
Anthony Eid	Present
Brittni Kellom	Present
Rhonda Lange	Not present
Steve Lett	Present
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Not present
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Not present
Richard Weiss	Present

There were eight Commissioners present; as a result, a quorum was not met.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, asked that the special presentation tribute to departing Commissioners Clark, Rothhorn, and Witjes - be shared at this time. MICRC Executive Director Woods showed the video tribute.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Orton, Chair, ended the meeting at 4:17 p.m.