Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <u>www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</u>.

Monday, January 29, 2024 9:00 a.m. – 5:02 p.m.

MINUTES

PRESENT:	Elaine Andrade (remotely from Imlay Twp, MI)
	Donna Callaghan (remotely from Mexico)
	Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, MI)
	Anthony Eid (remotely from Detroit, MI)
	Rhonda Lange (remotely from Reed City, MI)
	Steven Terry Lett (remotely from Lee County, FL)
	Marcus Muldoon (remotely from Carleton, MI)
	Cynthia Orton (remotely from Battle Creek, MI)
	Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne Co, MI)
	Janice Vallette (remotely Highland Twp, MI)
	Erin Wagner (remotely from Charlotte, MI)
	Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Twp, Saginaw, MI)

OTHERS PRESENT:	Edward Woods III, MICRC Executive Director
	Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff
	Fink Bressack
	John Morgan, Election Data Services
	Kim Brace, Election Data Services
	Mark Braden, VRA Counsel
	Taylor Thompson, VRA Associate

ABSENT: Commissioner Kellom

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent

Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 9:00 a.m.

ROLL CALL

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met with 12 Commissioners present.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: Moved by **Commissioner Lett**, to approve the meeting agenda. Supported by **Commissioner Weiss. Commissioner Orton**, **Chair** held a vote by verbal reply. **MOTION APPROVED.**

PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Vallette, Vice Chair, put forward a motion "To begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" which was adopted. Four individuals provided remote public comment: Lori Lacey, Ryan Reese, Steven Walker, Robert Dindoffer.

A full inventory of live and written public comment is available at: www.Michigan.gov/MICRC.

Presentation by MDOS Sarah Reinhardt, "Deliberations of Draft Proposed Maps for Public Hearing" policy. Policy has been updated to "2024 Proposed MICRC Deliberations Process".

Commissioner Orton, Chair, yielded the floor to Executive Director Woods to make a tribute to Retired Commissioner Doug Clark who passed.

Presentation by Attorney Nate Fink regarding recommended deliberations procedures document.

MOTION: Commissioner Lett. Moved to recess until 1:00pm. Seconded by **Commissioner Wagner. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a verbal vote. MOTION APPROVED.**

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting back to order to 1:00 p.m. and requested a roll call.

Commissioner	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Present
Anthony Eid	Present
Rhonda Lange	Present
Steve Lett	Present
Marcus Muldoon	Present
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Present (late in at 1:33pm)
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Present
Richard Weiss	Present

11 Commissioners present at the time of roll call, there is a quorum.

MAPPING

Collaborative mapping by the Commission.

REPORTS

Executive Director Woods discussed the portals that are available to submit public feedback/comments.

Executive Director Woods, through Commissioner Orton, Chair, yielded the meeting to Voting Rights Act Counsel Mark Braden and Taylor Thompson.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Moved by **Commissioner Weiss**, to Adjourn, Seconded by **Commissioner Muldoon**. **Commission Orton, Chair,** held a verbal vote. **MOTION APPROVED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 p.m.