Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <u>www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</u>.

Wednesday, January 31, 2024 9:00 a.m. – 5:48 p.m.

MINUTES

PRESENT:	Elaine Andrade (remotely from Imlay Twp, MI)								
	Donna Callaghan (remotely from Mexico)								
	Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, MI)								
	Anthony Eid (remotely from Detroit, MI) Brittni Kellom (remotely from Wayne Co, MI) Rhonda Lange (remotely from Reed City, MI) Steven Terry Lett (remotely from Lee County, FL) Marcus Muldoon (remotely from Carleton, MI)								
						Cynthia Orton (remotely from Battle Creek, MI) Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne Co, MI)			
	Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Twp, Saginaw, MI)								
	OTHERS PRESENT		Edward Woods III, MICRC Executive Director						
			Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff						
			Fink Bressack						
		John Morgan, Election Data Services							
		Kim Brace, Election Data Services							
		Mark Braden, VRA Counsel							
		Taylor Thompson, VRA Associate							
ABSENT:		None							

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent

Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 9:00 a.m.

ROLL CALL

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met with 12 Commissioners present.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: Moved by **Commissioner Curry**, to approve the meeting agenda. Supported by **Commissioner Weiss. Commissioner Orton**, **Chair**, held a vote by verbal reply. **MOTION APPROVED.**

PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Vallette, Vice Chair, put forward a motion "To begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" which was adopted. Twelve Individuals provided public comment: Susan Miller, Alex McGuire, Sarah Howard, Elizabeth Gary, Sue Astler, Ryan Reese, Micheal Davis, George Higgins, Chris Gilmer-Hill, Anthony Scannell, Robert Dindoffer, Hamid.

A full inventory of live and written public comment is available at: <u>www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</u>.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, yielded the floor to Legal Counsel Nate Fink regarding line drawing as it relates to mapping, and individual maps from various organizations.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, yielded the floor to Mr. Braden and Dr. Palmer to speak about the Hickory map. After their presentation, Mr. Brace spoke concerning the ranked criteria.

MAPPING

Collaborative mapping by the Commission. Commission broke for lunch at1:00 p.m.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting back to order to 2:00 p.m. and requested a roll call.

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Absent
Anthony Eid	Present
Brittni Kellom	Absent
Rhonda Lange	Present
Steve Lett	Present
Marcus Muldoon	Present
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Present
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Present
Richard Weiss	Present

11 Commissioners present, there is a quorum.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, yielded the floor to Mr. Braden to answer Commissioner question.

MOTION: Commissioner Lange, move forward the original Spirit of Detroit forward for public comment. Second by **Commissioner Wagner**. **Commissioner Orton**, **Chair**, held a roll call vote. **11-0**. **MOTION APPROVED**.

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes

Brittini Kellom	Yes
Rhonda Lange	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Marcus Muldoon	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Janice Vallette	Yes
Erin Wagner	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

MOTION: Commissioner Weiss, moved to send the original map (Daisy2fc) forward to Public Comment. Seconded by **Commissioner Wagner. 9-2. MOTION APPROVED/CARRIES.**

Commissioner	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Anthony Eid	No
Brittni Kellom	No
Rhonda Lange	Yes
Marcus Muldoon	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	Yes
Janice Vallette	Yes
Erin Wagner	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

MOTION: Commissioner Eid moved to send the original Bergamot1, Bergamot2, Water Lily, and Tulip maps forward to Public Comment. Seconded by **Commissioner Lange. 11-0. MOTION APPROVED/CARRIES.**

Commissioner	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Brittini Kellom	Yes
Rhonda Lange	Yes
Marcus Muldoon	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	Yes
Janice Vallette	Yes
Erin Wagner	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

Commission on break from 3:50 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

REPORTS

Executive Director Woods shared meeting dates for February 2024.

MDOS, No report or update.

Legal Counsel, Atty Nate Fink wanted to know if earlier map was sent out from Mr. Brace.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Moved by Commissioner Eid, to Adjourn, Seconded by Commissioner Muldoon. Commission Orton, Chair, held a verbal vote. MOTION APPROVED.

Meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m.