Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at Michigan.gov/MICRC

Thursday, February 15, 2024 Townhall Meeting 9:02am-12:00pm, 1:00pm - 4:00pm, 5:00pm – 8:01pm

MINUTES

PRESENT:	Donn Juanit Antho Brittn <i>MI</i>) Rhone Steve Marce Cynth Rebeo Janice	Rhonda Lange (remotely from Lake Co, MI) Steven Terry Lett (remotely from Lee Co, FL) Marcus Muldoon (remotely from Carleton, MI) Cynthia Orton (remotely Battle Creek, MI) Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne Co, MI) fanice Vallette (remotely from Highland Twp, MI)	
OTHERS PRESI	Richa	Wagner (remotely from Eaton Twp, MI) rd Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Twp, Saginaw, MI) Edward Woods III, MICRC Executive Director Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff Fink Bressack	

ABSENT: None

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Orton, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 9:02am.

ROLL CALL MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met with 12 Commissioners present.

MOTION: Moved by **Commissioner Lett** to approve the meeting agenda. Supported by **Commissioner Vallette. Commissioner Orton, Chair** held a vote by verbal reply. **MOTION APPROVED.**

VIRTUAL TOWNHALL MEETING - PUBLIC COMMENT

MOTION: Commissioner Weiss to adjust public comment speaking times during Townhall's to no more than three times per hour at the standard 90 seconds; those that haven't spoken yet will speak first, then repeat commenters will be called to speak. Second by Commissioner Lett. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a vote by verbal reply. MOTION APPROVED.

REPORTS

Executive Director Report- Executive Director Woods provided a report.

Legal Liaison Report- Commissioner Lett provided an update regarding potential fees related to litigation. Atty Nate Fink shared additional information on this topic.

Commission 1-hour Lunch Recess – returned at 1:00pm.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, ask for an attendance Roll Call.

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Present/Absent</u>
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present

Juanita Curry	Present
Anthony Eid	Present (2 minutes late for roll call)
Brittini Kellom	Present (15 minutes late for roll call)
Rhonda Lange	Absent
Steve Lett	Present (2 minutes late for roll call)
Marcus Muldoon	Present (15 minutes late for roll call)
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Present (15 minutes late for roll call)
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Absent
Richard Weiss	Present

6 Commissioners present, at roll call - there is not a quorum. 2 minutes late Commissioners Lett and Eid bringing present Commissioners to 8.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, acknowledged Attorney Nate Fink, Commissioner Legal Counsel. Atty Nate Fink shared an additional Legal Liaison update. He just learned from the Baker-Hostetler Law Team that Judge Cavanaugh granted the extension application. The motion to file with the US Supreme court is now moved out to 60 days.

MOTION: Commission Orton, Chair, moved to give speakers 2 minutes to speak, 1 time per hour but the speaker/commenter topic must be germane to the Redistricting map topic; for today's Townhall meeting only. If the Commissioner engages with the speaker/commenter, then the 2 minutes dissolves until the conversation completes. Second by **Commissioner Eid.**

Commissioner Lett moved to amend the motion to expand the speaker/commenter time to 5 minutes 1 time per hour. **Second by Commissioner Eid.**

Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a roll call vote, **8-0. MOTION FAILS;** threshold for quorum not met.

ROLL CALL to Amendment

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Juanita Curry	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Janice Vallette	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

RETURN at 3:00pm from recess – Roll Call

Commissioner Orton, Chair, ask for an attendance Roll Call.

<u>Commissioner</u>	Present/Absent
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Absent
Anthony Eid	Present
Brittini Kellom	Present
Rhonda Lange	Absent
Steve Lett	Present
Marcus Muldoon	Present
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Present

Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Absent
Richard Weiss	Present

10 Commissioners are present, there is a quorum.

MOTION: Commissioner Lett moved that each speaker have 5 minutes 1 time per hour with the subject matter being limited to mapping for Commission maps. Second by **Commissioner Eid. Commissioner Orton, Chair,** ask for a roll call vote. **9-1. MOTION APPROVED**

<u>Commissioner</u>	<u>Vote</u>
Elaine Andrade	Yes
Donna Callaghan	Yes
Anthony Eid	Yes
Brittini Kellom	Yes
Steve Lett	Yes
Marcus Muldoon	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	No
Janice Vallette	Yes
Richard Weiss	Yes

RETURN at 5:00pm from scheduled dinner break – Roll Call Commissioner Orton, Chair, ask for an attendance Roll Call.

<u>Commissioner</u>	Present/Absent
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Absent

Anthony Eid	Absent
Brittini Kellom	Present
Rhonda Lange	Absent
Steve Lett	Present
Marcus Muldoon	Absent
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Absent
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Absent
Richard Weiss	Present

7 Commissioners are present, there is not a quorum at roll call.

Commissioner Orton, Chair, thanked the speaker/commenters for their participation.

Due to no quorum, a motion was not made to adjourn. The meeting ended at 8:01pm.