# **Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission**

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <a href="https://www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>

# Wednesday, May 15, 2024 10:02 a.m.- 3:07 p.m.

## **MINUTES**

**PRESENT** Elaine Andrade (remotely from Imlay Township, MI)

Donna Callaghan (remotely from Mexico)

Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, MI)

Anthony Eid (remotely from Detroit, MI)

Brittni Kellom (remotely from Detroit, MI)

Rhonda Lange (remotely from Osceola County, MI)

Steven Lett (joined at 11:25 a.m., remotely from Grand Traverse County, MI)

Marcus Muldoon (remotely from Carlton, MI)

Cynthia Orton (remotely from Battle Creek, MI)

Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne County, MI,)

Janice Vallette (remotely from Highland Township, MI)

Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw, MI)

**ABSENT** Commissioner Erin Wagner

OTHERS PRESENT Edward Woods III, Executive Director

Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") Staff

Nate Fink, Fink Bressack

John Morgan, Election Data Services ("EDS")

Kim Brace, EDS

#### CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Eid, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC) to order at 10:02 a.m.

## **ROLL CALL**

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met.

## ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

**MOTION:** Approve the agenda. Moved by Commissioner Weiss. Supported by Commissioner Muldoon. Commissioner Eid, Chair, held a vote on the motion to approve the agenda, by show of hands. MOTION APPROVED.

# PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Eid, Chair, put a motion "to begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" forward without objection, which was adopted.

Three individuals provided public remote comment: James Gallant, Johanna Wittbracht, and Anthony Scannell.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at: www.Michigan.gov/MICRC.

#### **MAPPING**

Collaborative mapping by the Commission.

Commission recessed at 12:25 p.m. Commission returned from recess at 1:30 p.m.

#### **ROLL CALL**

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met.

<b>Commissioner</b>	Roll Call
Elaine Andrade	Present
Donna Callaghan	Present
Juanita Curry	Present
Anthony Eid	Present
Brittni Kellom	Present
Rhonda Lange	Present
Steve Lett	Present
Marcus Muldoon	Present
Cynthia Orton	Present
Rebecca Szetela	Present
Janice Vallette	Present
Erin Wagner	Not Present

## **Richard Weiss** Present

#### **MAPPING**

Collaborative mapping by the Commission.

# **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT**

None.

#### **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS/ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Executive Director Woods indicated that all collaborative maps should be completed by 3:00 p.m. today, May 16<sup>th</sup>, will be uploaded to the mapping portal and sent forward for VRA and partisan fairness analyses. Additionally, all alternate maps (also known as individual maps) submitted by 3:00 p.m. today, May 16<sup>th</sup>, will be uploaded to the mapping portal and sent forward for VRA and partisan fairness analyses.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

**MOTION:** Adjourn the Meeting. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Andrade. Commissioner Eid, Chair, held a vote by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

The meeting was adjourned at 3:07 p.m.