# **Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission**

In Person Public Hearing with Virtual Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at <a href="www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>

Thursday, June 13, 2024 Renaissance High School 6565 W. Outer Dr. Detroit, MI 48235 10:04 a.m.- 7:00 p.m.

## **MINUTES**

**PRESENT** Elaine Andrade

Donna Callaghan

Juanita Curry (remotely from Detroit, MI, left at 12:30 p.m., rejoined at

4:00 p.m.)
Anthony Eid

Rhonda Lange (remotely from Reed City, MI)

Steven Lett

Marcus Muldoon Cynthia Orton

Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne County, MI)

Janice Vallette Richard Weiss

**ABSENT** Commissioners Brittni Kellom and Erin Wagner

OTHERS PRESENT Edward Woods III, Executive Director

Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") Staff John Morgan, Election Data Services (EDS)

Ryan Taylor, EDS

## CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Eid, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC) to order at 10:04 a.m.

## **ROLL CALL**

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met.

### ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

**MOTION:** Approve the agenda. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Curry. Commissioner Eid, Chair, held a vote on the motion to approve the agenda, by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

### **PURPOSE**

Commissioner Eid, Chair, requested that Executive Director Woods facilitate this topic. Executive Director Woods provided an overview of the redistricting process in Michigan, including the seven redistricting criteria. Executive Director Woods also explained why the Commission is here today seeking feedback from the public on the draft proposed senate remedial maps.

### PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Eid, Chair, put a motion "to begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" forward without objection, which was adopted.

Thirty-three individuals provided in person public comment: Dallas Oliver, Makiya Aaron, Wayne Chambers, Beulah Walker, Jose Flores, Jon Brown, Alex King, Jakarta Nakum, Dana Hill, Michael Tab, Ray Wilson, Shayla Lyscik, Jirmera Moses, Marvin Johnson, Anthony Evans, Reginoal Buchanan, Leon Johnson Jr., Angelo Weaver, Kenya Willard, Reggie Caran, Antoine Bell, Cathy Ferman, David Lauar, Alice Mason, Bob O'Brien, Lauren Lisi, Doriscine Wesley, Emery Pence, Crystal Bailey, Virgil Smith, Maia Anthony, Veronica Adams, and Stacy J.

Sixteen individuals provided public remote comment: Ani Manolatos, Autumn Butler, Chris Herweyer, Lori Boyce, Anthony Scannell, William Wilson, Nour Almahameed, Dylan Linklater, Renee Rapley, Kyle Stefanski, Violet Anderson, Jeff Padden, James Gallant, Mary Ann Fontana, Yousif Yousif, and Mari Rymar.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at: www.Michigan.gov/MICRC.

**MOTION:** Recess for lunch until 1:30 p.m. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Weiss. Commissioner Eid, Chair, held a vote by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

Commission recessed at 12:30 p.m. Commissioner Eid, Chair, called the meeting back to order at 1:32 p.m. and requested a roll call.

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met.

**Commissioner Roll Call Elaine Andrade**Present

**Donna Callaghan** Present

Juanita Curry Not Present

**Anthony Eid** Present

**Brittni Kellom** Not Present

**Rhonda Lange** Present (remotely from Mecosta County, MI)

Steve LettPresentMarcus MuldoonPresentCynthia OrtonPresentRebecca SzetelaPresentJanice VallettePresent

**Erin Wagner** Not Present

**Richard Weiss** Present

# PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Eid, Chair, put a motion "to begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" forward without objection, which was adopted.

Four individuals provided in person public comment: Mercedes Douglass, Jamie Leyetle, Kurtis Fernandez, and Darwin Griffin.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at: <a href="https://www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>.

**MOTION:** Recess until 4:00 p.m. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Muldoon. Commissioner Eid, Chair, held a vote on the motion by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

Commission recessed at 3:00 p.m. Commissioner Eid, Chair, called the meeting back to order at 4:02 p.m. and requested a roll call.

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met.

CommissionerRoll CallElaine AndradePresentDonna CallaghanPresentJuanita CurryPresent

**Anthony Eid** Present

**Brittni Kellom** Not Present

**Rhonda Lange** Present

Steve Lett Present

Marcus Muldoon Present

**Cynthia Orton** Present

Rebecca Szetela Present

Janice Vallette Present

**Erin Wagner** Not Present

**Richard Weiss** Present

### PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Eid, Chair, put a motion "to begin public comment pertaining to agenda topics portion of the agenda" forward without objection, which was adopted.

Eleven individuals provided in person public comment: Gilda Jacobs, Nina Abrams, Lucinda Keils, Greg Duenow, Delaney McDermitt, Hanean Eldri, Fredia Butler, Kris McLonis, Sherry Gay-Dagnogo, Winona Roberts-Gray, and Gary Moorehead.

Eight individuals provided public remote comment: Amal Mohamud, Kristen Buchler, Josephine Benguche, Yacoub, Mohamad Jafar, Zaynah Jadallah, Ruby Muehlenz, and Robert Pawlowski.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at: <a href="https://www.Michigan.gov/MICRC">www.Michigan.gov/MICRC</a>.

## **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT**

None.

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

None.

### **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

None.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

**MOTION:** Adjourn the Meeting. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Callaghan. Commissioner Eid, Chair, held a vote by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

The meeting was adjourned at 7:00 p.m.