
 

 

 

Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission 

Travel Regulations 
 

The MICRC follows the State of Michigan Standardized Travel Regulations, which provide in part: 
 

Travel by Vehicle 
 

Using your personal vehicle: 

• Mileage reimbursed at $.56 per mile with a Google or similar map 

• Parking and tolls reimbursed with the receipt 

• No reimbursement for fuel, repairs, antifreeze, towing, etc. 

• No reimbursement for parking tickets, moving violations or associated fines 
 

Using a rental vehicle: 

• A rental vehicle may be used; reservations are encouraged to be made through the state travel 
agency, because some insurance is covered 

• No mileage reimbursement 

• Fuel reimbursed with receipts 

• Parking and tolls reimbursed with receipts 

• No reimbursement for parking tickets, moving violations or associated fines 

• Please document on the receipt destination and why you chose to rent the vehicle 
 

Using a commercial flight: 

• Book at the lowest fare; upgrades not reimbursed 

• Reimbursement for one piece of personal luggage; overweight or additional bags not 
reimbursed 

• Reimbursement for transportation to and from the airports with receipt.  Please check on hotel 
shuttles prior to taking an airport shuttle or a taxi. 

• Reimbursement for parking your personal vehicle at the departing airport with receipt. 

• Please document on the airline ticket receipt why you chose to fly 
 

Meals 

• Reimbursement for breakfast if travel begins by 6 a.m. and extends past 8:30 a.m.; for lunch if 

travel begins by 11:30 a.m. and extends past 2 p.m.; and for dinner if travel begins by 5:30 p.m. 

and extends past 8 p.m. 

• Maximum reimbursement for breakfast or lunch is $8.50, and dinner is $19.00 including taxes 

and tips, OR up to $36 total per day if away from your home office for the full day.  Receipts 

required. 

• Exceptions for reimbursement rates are: Ann Arbor, Auburn Hills, Detroit, Grand Rapids, 

Holland, Leland, Mackinac Island, Petoskey, Pontiac, South Haven, and Traverse City, as well 

as all of Grand Traverse, Oakland, and Wayne Counties.  Maximum reimbursement at these 

locations are $10.25 for breakfast or lunch, and $24.25 for dinner, including taxes and tips, OR 

$44.95 total per day if away from your home office for the full day.  Receipts required. 

 


